Avella Specialty Pharmacy Reviews | Glassdoor

Avella Specialty Pharmacy Reviews

Updated Aug 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Avella Specialty Pharmacy CEO Rebecca M. Shanahan, Esq (no image)
Rebecca M. Shanahan, Esq
29 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 3 reviews)

  • "Good benefits package and a nice facility(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "No Sick Time, only 10 PTO days for the first few years(in 3 reviews)

  • "Bonus structure was lacking and quarterly payout was a downside(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Avella Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Laboratory Pharmacist 

    I have been working at Avella Specialty Pharmacy full-time

    Pros

    Strong training is a plus.

    Cons

    Downsizing in the Phoenix market is a drawback.

    Advice to Management

    Build stronger business in local area.

    Avella Specialty Pharmacy2019-05-15
  2. "Positive - Room for growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RCM Billing & Collections Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Avella Specialty Pharmacy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good Benefits Advancement opportunities Great pay

    Cons

    Several systems Too top heavy In need of policy and procedures Need to listen to staff more

    Advice to Management

    Be loyal to your loyal employees

    Avella Specialty Pharmacy2019-08-26
  3. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avella Specialty Pharmacy part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management, flexible hours, ok compensation

    Cons

    Limited opportunities to move up

    Avella Specialty Pharmacy2019-07-09
  4. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Quality Assurance Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Avella Specialty Pharmacy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Workplace is comfortable and nice, colleagues are helpful and nice

    Cons

    Company with not a lot of opportunities

    Avella Specialty Pharmacy2019-05-16
  5. "KEEP AWAY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avella Specialty Pharmacy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay was good, hours not to bad

    Cons

    Worked here over 2 years. No Sick Time, only 10 PTO days for the first few years. Company only interested in making money. Owed Caremark $$$$ for improper claims billed. Surprised UHC bought them, I am sure they will fold or current employees will be out replaced by new.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to people that know their job. Stop double billing Medicaid , and improperly billing Medicare

    Avella Specialty Pharmacy2019-06-12
  6. "This I know."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avella Specialty Pharmacy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, Location, I learned some new things and developed some good relationships with some positive working professionals.

    Cons

    The company's corporate office is dissolving, so there is no reason to apply. Lack of parking space, the bathrooms don't work, the phones sometimes work, the Internet connection doesn't work sometimes, the systems are archaic, the turnover is very high, my manager lied to me on my interview and said the position was advertised as long term when it was indicated later on that it was short term thus effecting any... future pay raises or salaries.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please treat your staff better.

    Avella Specialty Pharmacy2019-06-07
  7. "Great Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shipping Supervisor in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avella Specialty Pharmacy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Family oriented, Great environment, Fair pay

    Cons

    parking. parking, parking, parking, parking!

    Avella Specialty Pharmacy2019-04-25
  8. "Discombobulated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician CPhT in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avella Specialty Pharmacy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Monday through Friday schedule was nice

    Cons

    They said PharMedium was a bad place to work

    Advice to Management

    Involve the rank n file on making decisions

    Avella Specialty Pharmacy2019-05-08
  9. "Avella is Now Optum/UHC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avella Specialty Pharmacy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The HSA card is nice. It cover about $1,000 worth of medical expenses.

    Cons

    You have to be proactive if you don’t want the 401K plan or the HSA card because it will be taken out of your pay without warning. You only get 4 weeks of payed maternity leave. Management isn’t very understanding about sick time.

    Advice to Management

    Please inform your employees about their options when it comes to the benefits.

    Avella Specialty Pharmacy2019-03-21
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Account Manager in Deer Valley, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avella Specialty Pharmacy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Promotes good preforming employees that have demonstrated a good track record

    Cons

    Bonus structure was lacking and quarterly payout was a downside.

    Avella Specialty Pharmacy2019-01-19
Found 64 reviews