Averitt Express Dock Worker Reviews | Glassdoor

Averitt Express Dock Worker Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
93%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Averitt Express Chairman and CEO Gary D. Sasser (no image)
Gary D. Sasser
6 Ratings
  1. "Great Company and Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Dock Worker in Nashville, TN
    Recommends

    I worked at Averitt Express part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company and people to work with. The culture is great, even for a company its size.

    Cons

    Dock work can be hard work out in the elements, but that is expected.

    Averitt Express2019-08-14

    Averitt Express Response

    August 22, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thank you so much for this stellar review! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. "Work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Asheville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere, A great company to work for!

    Cons

    I don’t have any complaints or would change anything about averitt

    Averitt Express2019-08-10

    Averitt Express Response

    August 12, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    We appreciate your kind words! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your review. We are proud to have you as part of the Averitt family.

    Continue reading
  3. "Unknown"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Dock Worker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    Hours aren't very good for family life

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2018-06-04
  4. "Part-Time Dock Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Dock Worker 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express

    Pros

    Flexible with scheduling Not strict on coming in early (getting extra hours) or showing up a little late Good hourly wage starting out with 50 cent raises every 3 months

    Cons

    Driving a forklift can be tedious Can get stuck unloading trucks that are significantly more difficult than others Must work Saturday mornings as a part-time new hire

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2017-10-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Dock Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Dock Worker in Franklin Park, IL

    I worked at Averitt Express part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kept busy, clear cut rules

    Cons

    Need experienced managers to supervise dock employees.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2017-06-19
  6. "working for averitt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great place to work always advancement

    Cons

    have had no issue in may time here

    Averitt Express2015-07-07
  7. "Dock Worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Dock Worker in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends

    I worked at Averitt Express part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast pace and controlled. Very good team chemistry.

    Cons

    Have to travel thru tunnel and toll roads to get to work.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2015-07-13
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Not a company to career in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dock Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hours were great, and depending on what you did, there was a lot of downtime and rest. If you're fortunate enough to sign on part time, the pay for dock workers starts over 12 dollars, which is really good.

    Cons

    Better have your eggs all lined up when it comes to benefits, they are not afraid to not put you on, as they refused to put my wife on the insurance and she was pregnant. There is no overtime, even though i often worked 50 hours. Top out pay is only 19.50, which is very low in this line of work.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2015-06-02
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Dock Worker in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. New equipment.

    Cons

    Tends to be a good ol' boy system.

    Averitt Express2015-03-16
  10. "Dock Worker Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dock Worker in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is an outstanding company to work for. Weekly pay, M-F schedule, and awesome benefits for you and your family. Management is outstanding.

    Cons

    I have none. This is a really good place to work.

    Averitt Express2015-03-04
Found 13 reviews