Averitt Express Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Driver

Averitt Express Driver Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
81%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Averitt Express Chairman and CEO Gary D. Sasser (no image)
Gary D. Sasser
60 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Home everyday and good pay

    Cons

    None none none none none

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2020-03-24

    Averitt Express Response

    March 26, 2020

    Thanks so much for this glowing review! We are so glad to have you with us as part of the Averitt team.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Norcross, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is truly a family environment. Pay pay pay

    Cons

    Wish they had o/o opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2020-01-05

    Averitt Express Response

    January 7, 2020Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. We%E2%80%99re so glad you%E2%80%99re part of the Averitt Express team!

    Continue reading
  3. "Home weekends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Flatbed Driver in Mineral Wells, WV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Guarantee min pay. Home weekends.

    Cons

    Was hired to drive in the south but stayed in the north/northeast.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2019-12-25

    Averitt Express Response

    December 27, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We will share your comments with the team.

    Continue reading
  4. "Get experience and move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    driver experience, sign on bonus, referral bonus

    Cons

    Make sure to get things in writing, they worry more about people in office side than their drivers, their ads say they pay one thing then pay another, not clear on details and tell you what you wanna hear.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2020-01-04

    Averitt Express Response

    January 7, 2020Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The satisfaction of our associates is always our top priority, so we regret that you had a negative experience. We would be happy to discuss your specific situation offline. Feel free to contact us directly at feedback@averittexpress.com or 800-233-9944.

    Continue reading
  5. "Good Company CEO owns the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shuttle Driver in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    No layoffs Good equipment Nice co workers

    Cons

    no cons sometimes slow like everyone else at certain times

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2019-12-17

    Averitt Express Response

    December 18, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review! Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. ".."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like that they put safety first. As a female that is important. Every customer I went to did not waste time load compared to my previous employer

    Cons

    They say they family oriented but I guess that’s once you pass your probation period.

    Averitt Express2019-09-27

    Averitt Express Response

    October 1, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. We are committed to providing the best possible experience for our associates, so we regret that you felt we are not family oriented.. Please reach out to feedback@averittexpress.com or (877) 221-1942 if there is anything we could do to help.

    Continue reading
  7. "OTR Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Better opportunity and often more benefit and free accident working over the Road

    Cons

    Made a good job free accident

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2019-09-16

    Averitt Express Response

    September 27, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review! We are proud to have you as part of the Averitt Express team.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Compnay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linehaul Driver in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work with good pay and great benefits (health, life, disability, 401k with profit sharing). Trucks and trailers are well maintained. Management does not bother you if you do your job. Averitt has been around for decades, is privately owned, and is very well diversified with the transportation services it offers.

    Cons

    Pay is good and getting better but they are still one of the lowest paying LTL carriers. It is a "learn-as-you-go" job, and you are expected to handle it without supervision. To me, this is a pro, but for some people it might be a con.

    Averitt Express2019-08-26

    Averitt Express Response

    August 27, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thank you so much for taking a moment to leave us your review! Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate your input.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Leadership failure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Decent pay/benefits, stable schedule, fairly new equipment.

    Cons

    Orlando's leadership sit in their office watching YouTube videos, and playing angry birds on their phones ...while the trucks get loaded as late as possible, with as many stops as possible, and we get to come back as late as possible, with as many returns as possible....it's almost as though their job is to bully ppl out of their job, so Averitt Express gets to pay $2700 to recruit ppl bc of this kind of leadership.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2019-08-04

    Averitt Express Response

    August 8, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We’re sorry to hear of your frustrations with the leadership in your location. Please contact us at feedback@averittexpress.com or (877) 221-1942 so we can better understand the situation.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Favoritism."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Company Driver in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express for more than a year

    Pros

    Better pay than CR England and other larger carriers.

    Cons

    No matter how hard you try to be a good worker, always available, clean record etc dispatch plays favorites with some drivers, not even based on seniority just favorite. If you are not one of the favorites you might go without work for a while and when they do give you something is the crap nobody else wants.

    Averitt Express2019-04-20

    Averitt Express Response

    April 1, 2020

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Comments like these enable us to build stronger associate experiences in the future, so we thank you for sharing your input.

    Continue reading
Found 76 reviews