Averitt Express Truck Driver Reviews | Glassdoor

Averitt Express Truck Driver Reviews

Updated Jan 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Averitt Express Chairman and CEO Gary D. Sasser (no image)
Gary D. Sasser
25 Ratings
  1. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Norcross, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is truly a family environment. Pay pay pay

    Cons

    Wish they had o/o opportunities.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2020-01-05

    Averitt Express Response

    January 7, 2020Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback. We%E2%80%99re so glad you%E2%80%99re part of the Averitt Express team!

    Continue reading
  2. "Get experience and move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    driver experience, sign on bonus, referral bonus

    Cons

    Make sure to get things in writing, they worry more about people in office side than their drivers, their ads say they pay one thing then pay another, not clear on details and tell you what you wanna hear.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2020-01-04

    Averitt Express Response

    January 7, 2020Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. The satisfaction of our associates is always our top priority, so we regret that you had a negative experience. We would be happy to discuss your specific situation offline. Feel free to contact us directly at feedback@averittexpress.com or 800-233-9944.

    Continue reading
  3. "OTR Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Better opportunity and often more benefit and free accident working over the Road

    Cons

    Made a good job free accident

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2019-09-16

    Averitt Express Response

    September 27, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us your review! We are proud to have you as part of the Averitt Express team.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Honest Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AVERITT is a great company provided that it fits with what you are looking for from trucking. PROS. Good home time doing your 34 hour reset at home. The fleet managers and load planners do an outstanding job with this. Good equipment including trailers. Trailers and tractors are regularly pulled out of rotation when they get old. Good benefits. Currently AVERITT has BCBS with health incentives to lower your premiums, such as non smoker reduction and health screening reduction. Plenty of service centers in the running area to do a 10 or drop your trailer to bobtail for a quick bite. AVERITT is very driver responsive and actively seeks to find ways to build on strengths to keep drivers happy. Management is very proactive starting with fleet managers but supported by an active driver support specialist division.

    Cons

    Now notice I didn’t list pay as a pro. AVERITT has a competitive CPM for a regional company, but you won’t be banging out a lot of miles here. If you are getting home every 34, you won’t have a lot of running. You can drive weekends, but since the company is regional the load planners aren’t as active to find loads for weekends. Average checks can range from $600 to $850 a week for regional truckload. Sometimes more sometimes less. To be fair, management tries to help offering LTL running incentives, minimum mileage for runs and layover/detention pay but weekly take home pay is what it is. For truckload you will do your first six months to a year in an older tractor (5-6 years) until a newer one becomes available. Tractors get sold off around 650k miles. Freightliners and Volvos. AVERITT has a strong supply division, dedicated division and LTL division, often seen as the ‘bread and butter’. Truckload is often treated like red headed step children and many drivers push to get out of truckload as soon as possible. The service centers maintenance shops are hit and miss. Some are good some are horrible. You can however grab a hotel room for a long repair, don’t be surprised if your APU takes three separate trips to fix. Riders are limited to spouses. No pets.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2019-03-14

    Averitt Express Response

    March 29, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thank you for sharing such honest and thoughtful feedback with us. We appreciate your kind words and the recommendations for improvement. We will pass your comments on to our internal team as these are critical to improving the experience for our associates in the future. We’re always listening, so please reach out with any additional comments you may have!

    Continue reading
  5. "Pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is good for min work, not a hard job, work no weekends or holidays

    Cons

    Benefits are bad, managers have bad attitudes, no overtime pay

    Averitt Express2018-08-13
  6. "None"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver in Burbank, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to work at

    Cons

    None i can think of

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2018-06-30
  7. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Grand Prairie, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great place to work. Company really listens to your concerns

    Cons

    Non to speak of at this time

    Averitt Express2018-06-23
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Averitt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Truck Driver in Vance, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours, easy job, friendly co workers

    Cons

    Equipment not kept clean

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2018-02-23
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Rehire was unfairly determined"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - OTR Truck Driver in Asheville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of freight great fleet Managers awesome equipment second to none Service Centers

    Cons

    Slow to get a raise, worked first year with no raise.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2018-02-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Regional Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Averitt has good benefits and plenty of job positions to upgrade to.

    Cons

    The only con is being able to find local openings.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2018-02-13
Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews