Averitt Express "dispatch" Reviews | Glassdoor

Averitt Express Employee Reviews about "dispatch"

Updated Apr 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Averitt Express Chairman and CEO Gary D. Sasser (no image)
Gary D. Sasser
147 Ratings
Pros
  • "Averitt has good benefits and plenty of job positions to upgrade to(in 19 reviews)

  • "Easy work with good pay and great benefits (health, life, disability, 401k with profit sharing)(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes it's hard to get in touch with Dispatch(in 9 reviews)

  • "Dealing with some of the dispatchers other than your fleet manager(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "dispatch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Very good trucking company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver in Roanoke, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked for Averitt Express for over 2yrs. Good miles and good pay home every weekend if you want to be. Definitely recommend.

    Cons

    Dealing with some of the dispatchers other than your fleet manager. Driver needs to keep up with a layover pay making sure you get paid for it.

    Averitt Express2018-05-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Favoritism."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Company Driver in Huntsville, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express for more than a year

    Pros

    Better pay than CR England and other larger carriers.

    Cons

    No matter how hard you try to be a good worker, always available, clean record etc dispatch plays favorites with some drivers, not even based on seniority just favorite. If you are not one of the favorites you might go without work for a while and when they do give you something is the crap nobody else wants.

    Averitt Express2019-04-20
  3. "OTR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are very good

    Cons

    Sometimes it's hard to get in touch with Dispatch

    Averitt Express2017-08-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver (Truckload) 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice equipment well taken care of many yards do you park your truck at with nice driver lounge centers with ok dispatchers

    Cons

    Unsteady miles each week equals unsteady pay sometimes they try to turn your days upside down on you and make you drive all night Night dispatch don't leave notes for Day dispatch sometimes

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2017-02-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "good company with alot of percs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Truck Driver in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express

    Pros

    apu's, automatic trucks, paid hollidays , very cheap health ins

    Cons

    dispatch are not very smart, dont think they know how to read a map lol

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2016-12-14
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Averitt Express promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Truck Load Division in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express for less than a year

    Pros

    I really enjoy working for Averitt. It is like family and they will get you whatever it takes to get the job done safely & efficiently. I have had truck break downs but Averitt was on to of the game. My Fm is about the finest in my opinion that a driver could ever ask for. Trailers I have pulled are very well maintained and the dispatchers are awesome to deal with when you need assistance. One very special thing that to me stands out the most is I can be in a winter storm, delivering a 04:00 load that took all night to drive or just be driving an I will get a cal to see how I am NOW THAT IS SPECIAL TO ME. I feel as if my mother or father just checked on their son and for that I Love these calls it puts a smile on a tired face instantly !

    Cons

    No weekends home and that was a deal breaker for me as I have very strong family ties & obligations on weekends. I love my Church but never get to go cause I get home usually at 23:00 Saturday night & have a load to delive be 20:00 the next day Sunday. I have a pic I took of my Qualcomm that stated anyone want to work weekends call dispatch, If a driver wanted to earn extra pay, it concluded by saying if not you can be dispatched home on weekends because that is our policy to have you home on weekends and that will never change. I took the pic just to show my wife I did not misunderstand Averitt's policy. Sadly I have began a job search & feel extremely torn but my Church & Family will always be here for me & Averitt Express can always replace me I can never turn back time lost with Church and Family especially the grand babies they are only this age once. God Bless to all my Averitt Family

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2016-06-11
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Truck Load Driver (OTR)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Truck Driver (Truckload) in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good "Large" company. Honest and they do what they say. Trucks are okay and gets better after you have been there a while. They do promote from within.

    Cons

    Typical large company equipment, automatic and very slow. They dispatch at 50 MPH, 64 MPH trucks and they use Rand McNally miles which is up to 10 percent off. This means no time for breaks other then the required 30 min. Home weekends, Approx 500 mile runs and drivers will load and unload everyday. Trucks have electronic logs. Bottom line: You will get about 1800 to 2200 per week and only get 24 hours at home on weekends. Nice dispatchers but loads are their priority. Fuel only at company so drivers must run unpaid out of route miles. Most repairs will be done away from assigned terminal on drivers time. Overnight parking is a problem at most yards. Can not recommend TRUCKLOAD division but would recommend other divisions. There will be no time for showers!

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2015-07-15
  8. Helpful (6)

    "p and d driver chicago 12 years to long"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - City Driver in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    always seems to be enough work to stay employed. lose one customer gain another. equipment for the most part is satisfactory. other city drivers are a fun group to work with.

    Cons

    management absolutely sucks. no respect for senority or age. backstabbers , liers, unskilled morons running the place. dispatchers who never spent 5 minutes in a truck telling 10 to 40 year veterans what can and cant be done. wasnt bad in the beginning. but has rapidly gone to hell over the years. looking to get hell out. cant take much more

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2013-04-21
  9. "Averitt Air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Pilot in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Averitt Express

    Pros

    At the time I worked for Averitt Air (2000), they had a reasonable work schedule and paid extra to work on days off. For the most part they also backed pilots decisions to cancel flights due to discrepancies. Averitt Air also offered 401K to their pilots, which is not saying much, however it's more than the norm for most part 135 charter companies. Mantinence at Averitt Air was above average (for a 135 company), most of their maintenance personel were knowledgeable, particularly the management in maintenance. I have seen a variety of 135 charter companies and I believe that there are much worse 135 charter companies out there to work for (if that's saying anything).

    Cons

    Everyone was a "manager" in some capacity. And like many companies they felt the need to justify their existence. They had too many employees, for example I believe that at the time they had around 8 people working dispatch, a president, VP, director of flight ops, chief pilot, director of training etc.. And because of this overstaffing their expenses were too high for a startup 135 operator. They bought approx. 10 old Learjets (which they basically had to junk or take a big hit on later) and various other aircraft. A combination of the high management salaries, overstaffing and buying antiquated aircraft forced lower than industry standard for line pilots. Subsequently, they started downsizing and laying employees off (except for management of course). I believe that the only reason they are in business today is because they were riding on the coat tails of Averitt Express.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2008-08-21

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews