KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Averitt Express

Is this your company?

Averitt Express

Add a Review

Averitt Express Employee Reviews about "fleet"

Updated Jan 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 278 reviews

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Averitt Express Chairman and CEO Gary D. Sasser (no image)
Gary D. Sasser
177 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits for the most part(in 20 reviews)

  • "Easy work with good pay and great benefits (health, life, disability, 401k with profit sharing)(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes it's hard to get in touch with Dispatch(in 9 reviews)

  • "Dealing with some of the dispatchers other than your fleet manager(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

    Ratings by Race Ethnicity

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Averitt Express and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "fleet"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Rocky start, still growing on me but keeping my options open with other companies.

      Jan 19, 2021 - Current Employee in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Home on weekends, uniforms are nice and red

      Cons

      From jump recruiters will tell you what you want to hear, just to get you behind the wheel, you will be out on loads in areas you hate and voice to management that you hate , forced dispatched to the fullest, no load options, rare drop and hooks, lots and lots of live loads . Drivers are punching bags and fleet managers take heat for terrible planning from driver’s, planners and operation are the real problems. You have to wait 90 days for insurance while doing the most dangerous job in America, hope you’re in good health while most companies offer 30/60 days.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Averitt Express Response

      Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We strive to be the best we can be for our associates, so we regret that we didn’t meet that expectation. We would be happy to discuss your specific situation offline. Feel free to contact us directly at feedback@averittexpress.com or 1-800-233-9944.

    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Underpaid over worked

      Jan 29, 2016 - Regional Driver in Roanoke, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benifits are good but good luck getting home to use them. Home time is nice but you don't get 2k miles if you want to be home.

      Cons

      Trucks are typical disposable fleet truck. Home on weekends is a complete lie, just like every other trucking company Averitt defines weekends as 34 hour reset. Mechanical services are slow you'll spend 8 hours for a simple pm service. Below average pay for experienced drivers. Regional drivers are low priority, they make the least amount of all Averitt drivers. Basically Averitt is just another crap job...they just try to smooth it over with smoke up your back side.

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Home Time

      Oct 12, 2013 - Regional Driver in Cookeville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This company appears to be sound.

      Cons

      You are told you will have week-ends off, but do NOT plan anything. they might get you home on Friday, but more often it's been SAT afternoon and sometimes SUN morning.A week- end should be Fri night untill 4 or 5 AM Monday morning. The fleet mgr has very little to do with loads. A load planner is kept at a distance so you can NOT deal with him. The more I've tried to do a good job, the more they take advantage of me.NOT THE COMPANY I EXPECTED !!!!!

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      The Good, the Bad & the Ugly

      Jul 6, 2017 - Regional Driver in Jackson, MS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good Hire from within Home time is there My starting miles in the beginning where up to 2700 weekly Down time pay Detention pay Fleet Mgr. was professional with me There is always someone to talk to concerning a issue a driver has. Averitt is Professional and expect it's Drivers to be as well. This is a great company for beginning drivers to learn and when I say learn you will learn to back up into anything! Averitt is a Great company to work for.

      Cons

      Benefits got to be home to use them. Home time; never know which day unless you request in advance with your Fleet Mgr. which is 50/50 on the pro/con. Miles when I started was great but went from 2400 down to 1500 and lower a week. This is what caused me to leave even after talking to retention whom got me 2900 miles that week but then dropped well below 1800 afterwards. Started bringing home $500, $400, $300, $450 weekly checks; not worth being gone for 5 to 6 days a week. Detention pay; one time I had 12 hours @ $20hr of detention pay due to a shipper placing two additional pallets in my trailer that didn't belong. I would drive 24 miles to CAT get scaled come back; I did this 4 or 5 times until someone at the shipper decided to pull everything off and do a inventory of what was put on the trailer. I was only paid $100 but only after I threw a fit about running back and forth weighting the shippers mess-up all day for 14hrs. Word to the wise, if you go to work for Averitt and input you are loaded then there is no detention pay even after getting scaled at a CAT and having to do what I did. Regional drivers are low priority, they make the least amount of all Averitt drivers even when you end up pulling LTL loads as a Regional Driver. One of the things I should have paid attention to was orientation, when there was over 80 drivers there. Averitt has orientation every week from anywhere of 50 to 80 new drivers being hired every week. First Red Flag Hiring from within; good luck with that. Averitt's NEW minimum mileage pay: 400 mile minimum for short-haul loads picked up and delivered by driver is not what you might think; it only pays 400 miles if you pick up a live load under 400 miles and make the delivery yourself to the consignee; not picking up a load at one of the Service Centers then delivering it, which is what may drivers were having to do. Most of the loads are LTL loads which mean low miles, no 400 mile minimum; which is why I had to leave even at 0.42 CPM Shop worked on my tractor four times and claimed to have fix the APU each time and I would always get a call about idling the truck all the time which I told them I was not roasting in the cab waiting on a load or while I was sleeping. One time I brought my tractor in to have the windshield resealed due to a leak and they had the whole tractor tore down, they never fixed the leak. I didn't want to leave Averitt, I liked Averitt very much but my cons out weight my pros with Averitt. Hopefully your pros will out weight your cons if you go with Averitt. Everyone has totally different experiences in life and maybe yours will be totally different than mine were with Averitt.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Truck Driver

      Jan 10, 2015 - Truck Driver in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Solid company . Good Benefits . Training was great . All the people I have worked with are helpful and understanding.

      Cons

      Fleet manager left me sitting to much . Everything that came out of his mouth I needed to divide by 20 and then subtract 50 . Poor miles . Need to work 6 days to get 2000 miles

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Very good trucking company.

      May 23, 2018 - Driver in Roanoke, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked for Averitt Express for over 2yrs. Good miles and good pay home every weekend if you want to be. Definitely recommend.

      Cons

      Dealing with some of the dispatchers other than your fleet manager. Driver needs to keep up with a layover pay making sure you get paid for it.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good company, new pay package

      Aug 7, 2014 - Truck Driver in Birmingham, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good equipment, Nice clean terminals, good home time

      Cons

      Some fleet management attitudes, better treatment at some shops.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      BAD,terrible, waste of time.

      Feb 24, 2015 - Truck Driver in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good equipment, mostly good freight. Home most weekends even though I didn't want to. I'm single, want to run. Go.

      Cons

      Management and fleet managers don't want truck drivers,but trained monkeys,mindless robots to do what you're told,regardless. If you think for yourself,you're screwed. I drove here for 2 years. The older drivers here are total SELLOUTS.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

    Popular Careers with Averitt Express Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Averitt Express? Share Your Experiences

    or