KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Averitt Express

Is this your company?

Averitt Express

Add a Review

Averitt Express Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Aug 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 278 reviews

4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Averitt Express Chairman and CEO Gary D. Sasser (no image)
Gary D. Sasser
177 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits for the most part(in 20 reviews)

  • "Easy work with good pay and great benefits (health, life, disability, 401k with profit sharing)(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Sometimes it's hard to get in touch with Dispatch(in 9 reviews)

  • "Dealing with some of the dispatchers other than your fleet manager(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Race Ethnicity

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Averitt Express and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "good benefits"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Good Place Great People

      Nov 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and community atmosphere. Solid company. Reasonable work-load. Made some life-long friends. Good benefits.

      Cons

      Not many. Employees pay to join Fitness Center. Difficult to make a lot of money, but trade-off is having a stable job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good company overall

      Aug 14, 2020 - In Town Driver in Fort Smith, AR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits for the most part.

      Cons

      They expect way more than they pay for

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Averitt Express Response

      We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback. Reviews like yours are essential to building better experiences for our associates in the future, and we take comments like these to heart when looking for ways to improve our company and culture.

    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Honest Review

      Mar 14, 2019 - Regional Truck Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      AVERITT is a great company provided that it fits with what you are looking for from trucking. PROS. Good home time doing your 34 hour reset at home. The fleet managers and load planners do an outstanding job with this. Good equipment including trailers. Trailers and tractors are regularly pulled out of rotation when they get old. Good benefits. Currently AVERITT has BCBS with health incentives to lower your premiums, such as non smoker reduction and health screening reduction. Plenty of service centers in the running area to do a 10 or drop your trailer to bobtail for a quick bite. AVERITT is very driver responsive and actively seeks to find ways to build on strengths to keep drivers happy. Management is very proactive starting with fleet managers but supported by an active driver support specialist division.

      Cons

      Now notice I didn’t list pay as a pro. AVERITT has a competitive CPM for a regional company, but you won’t be banging out a lot of miles here. If you are getting home every 34, you won’t have a lot of running. You can drive weekends, but since the company is regional the load planners aren’t as active to find loads for weekends. Average checks can range from $600 to $850 a week for regional truckload. Sometimes more sometimes less. To be fair, management tries to help offering LTL running incentives, minimum mileage for runs and layover/detention pay but weekly take home pay is what it is. For truckload you will do your first six months to a year in an older tractor (5-6 years) until a newer one becomes available. Tractors get sold off around 650k miles. Freightliners and Volvos. AVERITT has a strong supply division, dedicated division and LTL division, often seen as the ‘bread and butter’. Truckload is often treated like red headed step children and many drivers push to get out of truckload as soon as possible. The service centers maintenance shops are hit and miss. Some are good some are horrible. You can however grab a hotel room for a long repair, don’t be surprised if your APU takes three separate trips to fix. Riders are limited to spouses. No pets.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Averitt Express Response

      Social Media Marketing Manager

      Thank you for sharing such honest and thoughtful feedback with us. We appreciate your kind words and the recommendations for improvement. We will pass your comments on to our internal team as these are critical to improving the experience for our associates in the future. We’re always listening, so please reach out with any additional comments you may have!

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Averitt in the rear view.

      Nov 27, 2008 - Driver in London, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Averitt has a fairly good reputation in the trucking industry. They have decent marketing strategies and are privately owned and operated. The training processes are pretty good as a whole. The equipment that Averitt provides it's employees do due their jobs is for the most part well maintained, and safe. Averitt offers a pretty good benefits package and the pay is descent. The company as a whole does reward employees with small recognitions for safe driving and non-preventable accidents. The owner of the company, Gary Sasser does make himself available to speak to employees about concerns if they are important enough.

      Cons

      The leadership at the service center in London, Ky is terrible. Unfortunately the terminal manager was tossed into a job that requires more skills and dedication that he possesses. None of the other employees at this service center have an ounce of respect for this man and due to this, there is no chain of command and no one is held accountable for their actions. A leader is supposed to be in control of his employees but our manager is scared to discipline any one. We were just introduced to a new district manager so hopefully he will realize that our service center director is a coward and a liar to his employees and customers.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Jan 6, 2015 - Truck Driver in Birmingham, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      All around good company. Good benefits. I don't sit waiting on loads very often. Miles per week are ok. You have good weeks and bad weeks but that's the nature of the beast. Home time is good but again not always perfect. That's truck driving for you. You want find a perfect company out there but this is a good one.

      Cons

      I dont wearing a uniform. I also don't like that we can only take our spouse on the road with us. Last company I was with we could take our kids as long as they where of a certain age.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Legit benefits

      Sep 16, 2016 - Regional Flatbed Driver in Knoxville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good benefits about$ 50/week for family Pay was good about 1200/week avg (flat bed) 98% automatics Equipment was always in good condition Dedicated fleet mgr Fuel at yards ...easy ....no card pumps talk to Qualcomm Many amenities at yards - free wifi -commercial ice machine -60" tv and lazy boy recliners -gym -private. Clean showers Home every weekend Easy to navigate employee website insurance/payroll/direct deposit

      Cons

      Hauling mega coils Tarping loads in the wind But that is all part of the job I enjoyed working there But getting local position hard

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Averitt

      Jan 23, 2016 - Class A Truck Driver in Cookeville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Averitt has really good benefits, trucks, trailers, ect., Also my boss is great and so are most of the folks at averitt.

      Cons

      Having to deal with the companies we are contracted to. In my case Dollar General. Averitt also runs short on miles for the drivers from time to time.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Call center multimodal Cookville Tn

      Sep 4, 2018 - Multimodal in Cookeville, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Seems to have a good benefits package

      Cons

      They would rather be short handed than spend a buck. Lots of unhappy people that feel stuck due to life situation. "Leaders" are shady and inept, definitely a lot of favoritism. Turnover would be higher, if people didn't feel trapped.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      The Good, the Bad & the Ugly

      Jul 6, 2017 - Regional Driver in Jackson, MS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits are good Hire from within Home time is there My starting miles in the beginning where up to 2700 weekly Down time pay Detention pay Fleet Mgr. was professional with me There is always someone to talk to concerning a issue a driver has. Averitt is Professional and expect it's Drivers to be as well. This is a great company for beginning drivers to learn and when I say learn you will learn to back up into anything! Averitt is a Great company to work for.

      Cons

      Benefits got to be home to use them. Home time; never know which day unless you request in advance with your Fleet Mgr. which is 50/50 on the pro/con. Miles when I started was great but went from 2400 down to 1500 and lower a week. This is what caused me to leave even after talking to retention whom got me 2900 miles that week but then dropped well below 1800 afterwards. Started bringing home $500, $400, $300, $450 weekly checks; not worth being gone for 5 to 6 days a week. Detention pay; one time I had 12 hours @ $20hr of detention pay due to a shipper placing two additional pallets in my trailer that didn't belong. I would drive 24 miles to CAT get scaled come back; I did this 4 or 5 times until someone at the shipper decided to pull everything off and do a inventory of what was put on the trailer. I was only paid $100 but only after I threw a fit about running back and forth weighting the shippers mess-up all day for 14hrs. Word to the wise, if you go to work for Averitt and input you are loaded then there is no detention pay even after getting scaled at a CAT and having to do what I did. Regional drivers are low priority, they make the least amount of all Averitt drivers even when you end up pulling LTL loads as a Regional Driver. One of the things I should have paid attention to was orientation, when there was over 80 drivers there. Averitt has orientation every week from anywhere of 50 to 80 new drivers being hired every week. First Red Flag Hiring from within; good luck with that. Averitt's NEW minimum mileage pay: 400 mile minimum for short-haul loads picked up and delivered by driver is not what you might think; it only pays 400 miles if you pick up a live load under 400 miles and make the delivery yourself to the consignee; not picking up a load at one of the Service Centers then delivering it, which is what may drivers were having to do. Most of the loads are LTL loads which mean low miles, no 400 mile minimum; which is why I had to leave even at 0.42 CPM Shop worked on my tractor four times and claimed to have fix the APU each time and I would always get a call about idling the truck all the time which I told them I was not roasting in the cab waiting on a load or while I was sleeping. One time I brought my tractor in to have the windshield resealed due to a leak and they had the whole tractor tore down, they never fixed the leak. I didn't want to leave Averitt, I liked Averitt very much but my cons out weight my pros with Averitt. Hopefully your pros will out weight your cons if you go with Averitt. Everyone has totally different experiences in life and maybe yours will be totally different than mine were with Averitt.

      Continue reading
      18 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Ltl/city driver

      Feb 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Averitt has some good benefits, home daily, weekends and major holidays off. Ltl pay is decent.

      Cons

      At my terminal the management can be pretty crappy. They will load your trucks in haste and wipe their hands clean leaving you to deal with freight that can't be moved with the manual jack they issue you. Most ltl customers don't have docks and sometimes don't have forklifts so if you can't move the pallet with your jack your day is screwed. They will work you like a dog, and want you to be speed demon fast, but they expect you to be safe and they'll write you up if audit tells them your not taking a 30 minute break, but they get upset if you take a break???? The local management will spread you out and then dump pickups on you when your trailer is still 3/4 loaded with freight you haven't delivered yet. Some days it's impossible to get all your deliveries and pickups made and when you call in management says to just do the best you can do, without really helping you at all. Not to mention, my manager and front line leader are both gone by noon. They expect us to work miracles why the work 4 to 5 hour days and they wonder why the terminal has low morale???? Zero training as well, averitt throws you to the wolves and will write you up if you do something wrong. I've seen many ltl drivers quit because of the unethical atmosphere here, the stress, and a lot of times drivers will hit stuff because there overloaded with work so they start driving too fast and rush things causing them to lose safety points to the point they will get fired. Not to mention we will have residential deliveries in a 53 foot trailer that's impossible to drive into residency, but management doesn't call these customers before hand for us to make sure we can get in and out of the residency safely.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Averitt Express Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Averitt Express? Share Your Experiences

    or