Averitt Express "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Averitt Express Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Mar 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Averitt Express Chairman and CEO Gary D. Sasser (no image)
Gary D. Sasser
147 Ratings
Pros
  • "Averitt has good benefits and plenty of job positions to upgrade to(in 19 reviews)

  • "Easy work with good pay and great benefits (health, life, disability, 401k with profit sharing)(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes it's hard to get in touch with Dispatch(in 9 reviews)

  • "Dealing with some of the dispatchers other than your fleet manager(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Place Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture and community atmosphere. Solid company. Reasonable work-load. Made some life-long friends. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Not many. Employees pay to join Fitness Center. Difficult to make a lot of money, but trade-off is having a stable job.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2016-12-01
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Honest Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AVERITT is a great company provided that it fits with what you are looking for from trucking. PROS. Good home time doing your 34 hour reset at home. The fleet managers and load planners do an outstanding job with this. Good equipment including trailers. Trailers and tractors are regularly pulled out of rotation when they get old. Good benefits. Currently AVERITT has BCBS with health incentives to lower your premiums, such as non smoker reduction and health screening reduction. Plenty of service centers in the running area to do a 10 or drop your trailer to bobtail for a quick bite. AVERITT is very driver responsive and actively seeks to find ways to build on strengths to keep drivers happy. Management is very proactive starting with fleet managers but supported by an active driver support specialist division.

    Cons

    Now notice I didn’t list pay as a pro. AVERITT has a competitive CPM for a regional company, but you won’t be banging out a lot of miles here. If you are getting home every 34, you won’t have a lot of running. You can drive weekends, but since the company is regional the load planners aren’t as active to find loads for weekends. Average checks can range from $600 to $850 a week for regional truckload. Sometimes more sometimes less. To be fair, management tries to help offering LTL running incentives, minimum mileage for runs and layover/detention pay but weekly take home pay is what it is. For truckload you will do your first six months to a year in an older tractor (5-6 years) until a newer one becomes available. Tractors get sold off around 650k miles. Freightliners and Volvos. AVERITT has a strong supply division, dedicated division and LTL division, often seen as the ‘bread and butter’. Truckload is often treated like red headed step children and many drivers push to get out of truckload as soon as possible. The service centers maintenance shops are hit and miss. Some are good some are horrible. You can however grab a hotel room for a long repair, don’t be surprised if your APU takes three separate trips to fix. Riders are limited to spouses. No pets.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2019-03-14

    Averitt Express Response

    March 29, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thank you for sharing such honest and thoughtful feedback with us. We appreciate your kind words and the recommendations for improvement. We will pass your comments on to our internal team as these are critical to improving the experience for our associates in the future. We’re always listening, so please reach out with any additional comments you may have!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Call center multimodal Cookville Tn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Multimodal in Cookeville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seems to have a good benefits package

    Cons

    They would rather be short handed than spend a buck. Lots of unhappy people that feel stuck due to life situation. "Leaders" are shady and inept, definitely a lot of favoritism. Turnover would be higher, if people didn't feel trapped.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2018-09-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Regional Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Truck Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Averitt has good benefits and plenty of job positions to upgrade to.

    Cons

    The only con is being able to find local openings.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2018-02-13
  5. "allright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A Cdl Truck Driver in East Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits ,take care of you when sick

    Cons

    Flex is uncomfortable for someone wanting stability

    Averitt Express2018-01-04
  6. "good benifits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time

    Pros

    benefits are good and care about family

    Cons

    away from home not allways easy to get loads back to BR

    Averitt Express2017-09-23
  7. Helpful (18)

    "The Good, the Bad & the Ugly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Driver in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are good Hire from within Home time is there My starting miles in the beginning where up to 2700 weekly Down time pay Detention pay Fleet Mgr. was professional with me There is always someone to talk to concerning a issue a driver has. Averitt is Professional and expect it's Drivers to be as well. This is a great company for beginning drivers to learn and when I say learn you will learn to back up into anything! Averitt is a Great company to work for.

    Cons

    Benefits got to be home to use them. Home time; never know which day unless you request in advance with your Fleet Mgr. which is 50/50 on the pro/con. Miles when I started was great but went from 2400 down to 1500 and lower a week. This is what caused me to leave even after talking to retention whom got me 2900 miles that week but then dropped well below 1800 afterwards. Started bringing home $500, $400, $300, $450 weekly checks; not worth being gone for 5 to 6 days a week. Detention pay; one time I had 12 hours @ $20hr of detention pay due to a shipper placing two additional pallets in my trailer that didn't belong. I would drive 24 miles to CAT get scaled come back; I did this 4 or 5 times until someone at the shipper decided to pull everything off and do a inventory of what was put on the trailer. I was only paid $100 but only after I threw a fit about running back and forth weighting the shippers mess-up all day for 14hrs. Word to the wise, if you go to work for Averitt and input you are loaded then there is no detention pay even after getting scaled at a CAT and having to do what I did. Regional drivers are low priority, they make the least amount of all Averitt drivers even when you end up pulling LTL loads as a Regional Driver. One of the things I should have paid attention to was orientation, when there was over 80 drivers there. Averitt has orientation every week from anywhere of 50 to 80 new drivers being hired every week. First Red Flag Hiring from within; good luck with that. Averitt's NEW minimum mileage pay: 400 mile minimum for short-haul loads picked up and delivered by driver is not what you might think; it only pays 400 miles if you pick up a live load under 400 miles and make the delivery yourself to the consignee; not picking up a load at one of the Service Centers then delivering it, which is what may drivers were having to do. Most of the loads are LTL loads which mean low miles, no 400 mile minimum; which is why I had to leave even at 0.42 CPM Shop worked on my tractor four times and claimed to have fix the APU each time and I would always get a call about idling the truck all the time which I told them I was not roasting in the cab waiting on a load or while I was sleeping. One time I brought my tractor in to have the windshield resealed due to a leak and they had the whole tractor tore down, they never fixed the leak. I didn't want to leave Averitt, I liked Averitt very much but my cons out weight my pros with Averitt. Hopefully your pros will out weight your cons if you go with Averitt. Everyone has totally different experiences in life and maybe yours will be totally different than mine were with Averitt.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2017-07-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Ltl/city driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time

    Pros

    Averitt has some good benefits, home daily, weekends and major holidays off. Ltl pay is decent.

    Cons

    At my terminal the management can be pretty crappy. They will load your trucks in haste and wipe their hands clean leaving you to deal with freight that can't be moved with the manual jack they issue you. Most ltl customers don't have docks and sometimes don't have forklifts so if you can't move the pallet with your jack your day is screwed. They will work you like a dog, and want you to be speed demon fast, but they expect you to be safe and they'll write you up if audit tells them your not taking a 30 minute break, but they get upset if you take a break???? The local management will spread you out and then dump pickups on you when your trailer is still 3/4 loaded with freight you haven't delivered yet. Some days it's impossible to get all your deliveries and pickups made and when you call in management says to just do the best you can do, without really helping you at all. Not to mention, my manager and front line leader are both gone by noon. They expect us to work miracles why the work 4 to 5 hour days and they wonder why the terminal has low morale???? Zero training as well, averitt throws you to the wolves and will write you up if you do something wrong. I've seen many ltl drivers quit because of the unethical atmosphere here, the stress, and a lot of times drivers will hit stuff because there overloaded with work so they start driving too fast and rush things causing them to lose safety points to the point they will get fired. Not to mention we will have residential deliveries in a 53 foot trailer that's impossible to drive into residency, but management doesn't call these customers before hand for us to make sure we can get in and out of the residency safely.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2017-02-05
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Legit benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Flatbed Driver in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits about$ 50/week for family Pay was good about 1200/week avg (flat bed) 98% automatics Equipment was always in good condition Dedicated fleet mgr Fuel at yards ...easy ....no card pumps talk to Qualcomm Many amenities at yards - free wifi -commercial ice machine -60" tv and lazy boy recliners -gym -private. Clean showers Home every weekend Easy to navigate employee website insurance/payroll/direct deposit

    Cons

    Hauling mega coils Tarping loads in the wind But that is all part of the job I enjoyed working there But getting local position hard

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2016-09-16
  10. "Lead warehouse associates and coach when needed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express

    Pros

    Pay is great and benefits are good

    Cons

    Not enough temp staffing to get job done

    Averitt Express2016-10-17

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews