Averitt Express "great benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Averitt Express Employee Reviews about "great benefits"

Updated Aug 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Averitt Express Chairman and CEO Gary D. Sasser (no image)
Gary D. Sasser
147 Ratings
Pros
  • "Averitt has good benefits and plenty of job positions to upgrade to(in 19 reviews)

  • "Easy work with good pay and great benefits (health, life, disability, 401k with profit sharing)(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sometimes it's hard to get in touch with Dispatch(in 9 reviews)

  • "Dealing with some of the dispatchers other than your fleet manager(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Compnay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linehaul Driver in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work with good pay and great benefits (health, life, disability, 401k with profit sharing). Trucks and trailers are well maintained. Management does not bother you if you do your job. Averitt has been around for decades, is privately owned, and is very well diversified with the transportation services it offers.

    Cons

    Pay is good and getting better but they are still one of the lowest paying LTL carriers. It is a "learn-as-you-go" job, and you are expected to handle it without supervision. To me, this is a pro, but for some people it might be a con.

    Averitt Express2019-08-26

    Averitt Express Response

    August 27, 2019Social Media Marketing Manager

    Thank you so much for taking a moment to leave us your review! Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate your input.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Driver (OTR)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - OTR Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. In general the company cares about their drives. The company communicates well with the drivers through newsletters, podcasts, and rewards programs. Great safety program.

    Cons

    As an OTR driver don't expect more than 34-40 hours home time when you do get in. Some driver mangers are better than others.

    Averitt Express2017-01-17
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Professional driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Tyler, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Home every week, Averitt has their own service centers for fuel, lounging, gyms, shops, APU's and power inverters on truckload trucks, and great benefits

    Cons

    Equipment is always in a shop getting repaired, and pay could be a little more

    Averitt Express2016-07-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Starter job, for OTR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Load in Jackson, MS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, for those who need insurance because of thier families great benefits for them and you.

    Cons

    Waiting on loads, and having to pick the mess of other Truckers who leave unrepaired trailers on locations.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2016-07-14
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Frontline Leader in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits! Concerned about Employees and their families. The Owner, Gary Sasser meets with every new hire.

    Cons

    Pay scale varies based on Dedicated Contracts

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2016-06-26
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Shuttle Driver Team in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Smart Management, Nice Facilities and Can Make Good Money, Like'em!

    Cons

    I really can't think of any downside of working for this Company as a employee.

    Averitt Express2016-06-19
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Dedicated Driver - Nissan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Driver in Smyrna, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits. Average/Above Average Hourly Pay. Great Equipment, mostly new trucks. Good annual allowance to pay for uniforms. Once you are assigned a route, your daily schedule is pretty much locked in, helps you plan your personal life.If you give enough notice, fairly easy to take off for appointments, etc...

    Cons

    Great company, but each account can be managed and operated radically different. Dedicated Nissan account was least favorable of my company experiences. "Occasional" Saturday work is more often than not. Be prepared to work a 6 day work week most of the time. Management unappreciative at Nissan account was unappreciative and sometimes rude. Occasionally routes were cut and no notice given, so you could drive to work and be sent home or just work a 1/3 of the day.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2016-03-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great family run company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Leadership/Sales in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Averitt Express full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very consultative and high on training, very supportive environment with great benefits just really good people to work with, great place to start A transportation career.

    Cons

    Pay, salaries are below industry standard, and incentives non existent. While this is both a pro any con, one reason the company is as stable as it is, is long tenured management. The con in this piece, very difficult to experience true career path.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2016-01-07
  9. "Line haul Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Shuttle Driver (Line Haul) 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express

    Pros

    Great benefits det free company all new equipment really great place to work I will retire from this company

    Cons

    Work with guys who want more money and to work less hours, and they don't take care of our new equipment

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2015-10-31
  10. Helpful (4)

    "New Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Cdl Class A Driver in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Averitt Express for less than a year

    Pros

    Great job for new drivers. Great benefits and pay. Great pay for new drivers while training.

    Cons

    I don't care for being forced to train/drive over the road. That was why I paid for my school, to avoid this.

    Continue reading
    Averitt Express2015-08-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews