Avid Technology Reviews | Glassdoor

Avid Technology Reviews

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 474 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Avid Technology CEO Jeff Rosica
Jeff Rosica
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great co-workers...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great co workers. Amazing and innovative products.

    Cons

    Company was still trying to turn around and regain market share. This resulted in a sense of a revolving door with seasoned skilled employees leaving and replaced with cheaper younger less knowledgable workers.

    Avid Technology2018-10-12
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Nobody uses Media Composer anymore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really nice office space and awards on display

    Cons

    Board chose current nice-guy CEO after last CEO was fired for "misconduct". The new CEO has been at Avid for more than five years though and supported last CEO the entire time. He presided as the head of Sales and Marketing over the Avid's largest and most accelerated decline in sales. Rest of the the executive team (CPO, CLO) and middle-management have all been there forever and don't know how to reverse the decline....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire new people outside of the industry. Older, male hardware employees dominate the culture. If you're in your 40s at Avid, you're considered young.

    Avid Technology2018-10-05
  3. "sound technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audio Operator Our Sound Technician in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    audio operator with tv experience

    Cons

    At the moment I'm living in Brazil, but I'm already programming to go to the USA.

    Avid Technology2018-08-29
  4. Helpful (8)

    "still a fan but need improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Had fantastic direct managers who exposed me to many different things - Learned a lot while I was there - Worked with a lot of great people - Product is cool

    Cons

    - Has been stagnant and shrinking consistently - Product offering lacking focus and unclear value proposition - Operates like a big company while it is shrinking - No loyalty to long-time employees - Too many legacy processes that rely on tribal knowledge to survive

    Avid Technology2018-08-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Has a lot of potential but disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Room to grow, great product, very smart people

    Cons

    Disorganized, financially compromised, low morale

    Advice to Management

    Talk to employees. Take into consideration their feedback, and do not lay off people unless you absolutely have to.

    Avid Technology2018-07-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Executive Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time

    Pros

    senior management great to work with

    Cons

    culture among EA's somewhat negative

    Avid Technology2018-05-01
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Many great engineers who care about the work they do

    Cons

    * lack of direction from senior leadership * broken promises from leadership * unrealistic project management

    Avid Technology2018-04-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Product Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and great products.

    Cons

    Layoffs within the company became inevitable.

    Avid Technology2018-03-27
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Change is not for everyone. Rebirth takes strength and perseverance!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Talented group of employees. 2) Significant investment being made (new hires and sys upgrades) to improve internal and customer facing systems. 3) Opportunity for those who want to step-up and contribute to the transformation. 4) The cross-departmental experience I have had to-date has exposed me to a group of passionate people who want nothing but great success for AVID. 5) Feels like a start-up.....lot's of...

    Show More

    Cons

    1) Not a good place to work for disgruntled employees who are seeking out others who are equally unhappy. 2) Not a good place to work for those who don't consider themselves an A-player. 3) Not a good place to work for those who feel posting derogatory reviews on Glassdoor is helping their cause. If you are unhappy it might be time to move-on. 4) Not a good place to work for those who can't adapt to change and embrace...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on transparency, team building and ensuring each and every employee knows how important and valuable their role is to growth and profitability. Reward those who want to be here and are willing to do whatever it takes to grow the company.

    Avid Technology2018-02-23
  10. Helpful (3)

    "5+ Years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Incredible customers and users who want Avid to win. Great talent in both engineering and product management. Passion for the company is apparent throughout the organization. Avid and its employees has been through a lot over the years and that's not to be casually dismissed. But there has been excellent momentum over the last 18 months and there is optimism around company direction and new leadership.

    Cons

    Last minute roadmap changes and unwillingness to compromise causes inefficiencies, thrashing and reduced output for teams. Seen at my other job and elsewhere so not unique to Avid.

    Advice to Management

    Higher head count offshore doesn't equal higher output and savings. Invest in onshore resources and watch how fast we can go!

    Avid Technology2018-03-15
Found 474 reviews