Avid Technology Reviews | Glassdoor

Avid Technology Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 475 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Avid Technology CEO Jeff Rosica
Jeff Rosica
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (28)

    "Do NOT Be Fooled by What Should Be a Cool Place to Work - NIGHTMARE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time

    Pros

    The fact that I do not have to take the time to think about and count. Answer = ZERO pros.

    Cons

    The CEO is a greedy crook starving for wealth, notoriety and fame. The Board of Directors are equally greedy and clueless old timers focused on more important lucrative ventures. The C suite execs including the President are inept, underperforming, scaredy-cats who are mocked by the entire organization. These star-sniffing spazzes should just move to Hollywood and pursue careers in acting (as you do) versus worshipping...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Apart from your innermost circles of unfortunates, recognize how much you are despised and that you will never earn the respect you think deserve. Dear Tools - use the tools in front of you to record yourselves and see/hear how cliche you all are. Be embarrassed. Move on.

    Avid Technology2018-02-23
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Real Truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work on in the cloud area. Our original products are growing again, our new products are winning almost every award, and we are leading in areas like cloud, security, AI, etc. Just look at last quarter's growth in enterprise deals and subscriptions, two areas that didn't exist 5 years ago. The company added new board members like the CEO's of two very large media companies and the CEO and board members are investing...

    Show More

    Cons

    Transition was difficult for many. Many changes to deal with. At times, I think management took on too much. However, what we have done is amazing and the management team gives the team credit.

    Advice to Management

    Keep innovating, keep these new policies that are employee friendly, love the casual work environment and unlimited vacation. As we start hiring more folks, make sure they are only the best.

    Avid Technology2018-01-13
  3. Helpful (27)

    "Documenting the Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Avid has some of the most outstanding engineers and technology.

    Cons

    Upper management is poor at best. I've been there over 10 years and have watched one CEO after another lead the company in crazy directions.

    Advice to Management

    I have no idea the direction of the company. We're offshoring engineering and support and never hire anyone in the US. There's only a concern about the quarterly results and near impossible demands are placed on employees. Management seems completely confused as to why the company is in the state it is and no understanding on how to fix it.

    Avid Technology2017-12-30
  4. Helpful (15)

    "Bad Management and full of attitude"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co workers are good and nice building

    Cons

    Executives have bad attitude problem - Don't work there. Expect too much with no returns. Not open to new things, stuck in old ways of doing things. Open concept with no privacy.

    Advice to Management

    Give employees training instead of attitude and rudeness. Teach and encourage them to grow. People will work happily if you treat them properly.

    Avid Technology2018-02-12
  5. Helpful (19)

    "don't go there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mostly good people working there. Some of the managers are very good. Others, not so much.

    Cons

    Layoffs every January for at least the past three years. Additional summer layoffs. Very rare to have new positions in US. Most are being filled in Europe (Poland) due to lower cost/salaries (2-3 people in Poland for the price of one in the US). Company culture has continued to decline over the past several years. Open cube plan, which means other people in your area will be picked up when you're on a con call with someone....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop giving employees the mushroom treatment. Have at least some loyalty towards employees.

    Avid Technology2018-02-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting Times!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you are thinking of working here, talk to hires in the last few years. Great energy, clients happy which is why we are growing with cloud, subscriptions, huge enterprise relationships. Our customer association has gone from zero to over 20 thousand customers, and our artist community, a new product, has over 30,000 people. Casual dress code, unlimited vacation, nice pay, very engaged management team, and lots of...

    Show More

    Cons

    Haters don't want to admit company was in rapid decline, had accounting issues and has had to change a lot of things, it was necessary and as a person who deals with customers everyday..it's working.

    Advice to Management

    Love seeing management active in market and friends with big clients, new products are really taking off and new employee friendly policies are a pleasant surprise along with bonuses. After so many changes, please let's limit additional changes and keep things going. New team is great around the world such dedicated people who seem to care!

    Avid Technology2018-01-07
  7. Helpful (21)

    "Industry Leader Ruined by Clueless Management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time

    Pros

    Very smart, dedicated people but talents wasted on outdated technology.

    Cons

    CEO talks about himself too much and likes to reinvent history with every failed plan. Lots of hype about new direction but people there can't describe what they're supposed to be creating. Legacy products neglected to the point of being irrelevant and no chance to learn new skills or advance career. Cost cutting through frequent layoffs are a way of life and the only way to show revenue.

    Advice to Management

    Entire leadership needs to be replaced with people that know the industry, customers, and how to grow a company.

    Avid Technology2018-01-29
  8. Helpful (22)

    "Incompetent and arrogant CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time

    Pros

    Good suit of products. Strong brand name

    Cons

    The company as a whole did not handle the shift in the media industry very well. It was also mismanaged for several years which I guess allowed Louis and his crew to take over. They've stopped the bleeding of money but it's clear they are out of their depth when it comes to growing the company. Also the CEO is thought "Too Small to Fail" was really original.

    Advice to Management

    Leave.

    Avid Technology2018-01-25
  9. Helpful (34)

    "CEO and BOD are a big part of the problem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some really hard working and bright people. Most with any sense and credibility have already left.

    Cons

    Living off the legacy business with no new innovation, It is amazing the CEO has fooled the BOD for so long. Maybe they should ask him about his return on investment on the Orad purchase, pennies on the dollar. What a joke. No accountability at the top.

    Advice to Management

    Clean house of all those who think they can grow the business through cutting staff, customer associations, facility rationalization, failed acquisitions, low revenue user growth and generic press releases with no substance related to Avid's performance in the markets it serves. Five years is up, time to move on with new and effective leadership

    Avid Technology2018-01-07
  10. Helpful (32)

    "The truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been at Avid for a little over 5 years. I love the people I work with. It's a decent location. Fun products.

    Cons

    The fake posts Upper Mgmnt is instructed to put on this site. Trust me, us newer employees are equally unhappy because we can see where the company is going and who is benefiting from it, not just the long time employees like one of their posts says. If they dont' want people bringing down the culture, maybe they should change it. Out of the blue they announced unlimited time off policy. But they won't pay us out for...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop being afraid of Brian and Louis and speak up for your employees. One day you'll be out of a job too.

    Avid Technology2018-01-03
Found 475 reviews