Avid Technology Senior Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Avid Technology Senior Engineer Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Avid Technology CEO Jeff Rosica
Jeff Rosica
1 Ratings
  1. "Great teams, leadership getting better!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineering Manager in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The coworkers and teams are great, many smart and creative people. Avid products are way cool and it makes me proud to work on them. Products, industry and customer base are top notch, demanding and exciting. There is finally leadership in the top ranks and a clear vision and goal for the company. Avid is finally changing - moving and aligning towards the vision of Avid Everywhere.

    Cons

    Too many things are "top priority" at the same time, no focus. CEO vision is clear, but I can't feel it in the management below. Lack of communication between organizations.

    Advice to Management

    Make company management buy into the vision and lead accordingly. Do more for your employees, establish career paths and invest into your loyal employee base.

    Avid Technology2015-01-23
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Very Slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Spacious place; good place to have fun

    Cons

    Business and Managers are at times confused on what to do.

    Avid Technology2019-05-16
  3. Helpful (25)

    "This used to be a great place to work, sadly no longer true."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Principal Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    For years Avid has been one of the best places to work for an engineer. The projects were (and really still are) exciting, the film and television market place is interesting and the management was knowledgeable.

    Cons

    Since the change in upper management, Avid has become a terrible place for an engineer. They are now tracking software engineers by how many lines of code you check in, which is totally the wrong thing to measure. The CEO stands up and says everything is great and everyone pop champagne. A few weeks later another round of layoffs. Avid has consistently laid off the best of the best in engineering, losing a huge portion...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of CEO and upper engineering management. Put back someone who knows the business.

    Avid Technology2018-03-01
  4. Helpful (40)

    "Sad to watch a company falter under poor leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They keep paying me which is good

    Cons

    Leadership is the worst I have ever seen in my 30 years as an engineer. Avoid this company like the plague.

    Advice to Management

    Resign?

    Avid Technology2016-07-21
  5. Helpful (17)

    "What happened to the company I started at......"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Being the first to take the market with digital video and audio editing, Avid products are still used in the majority of Oscar and Emmy winning movies/shows. I still remember my first company meeting, when the lights went down, and the NAB 'teaser' music and video started assaulting my senses. I was filled with enthusiasm realizing that I was now working at the company that helped to make this awesome media. When I...

    Show More

    Cons

    Although the engineering organization claims to use Scrum, it is 'Scrum-But', evidenced by the death marches before each new release. Although one CEO made an effort to re-brand acquired products under the Avid name, and claimed "One Avid", it was on the corporate side, and did not apply to engineering. There is no Avid-wide culture. East coast, West coast and Europe all have different cultures which often collide....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take an interest in the whole company, not just the customer-facing folks. If this were a cruise ship with the CEO as the captain, many of the folks laid off were those below deck, keeping the engines running. Without them, the ship will soon slow down and be dead in the water. Maybe if they weren't building their corporate castle in Boca and spending so much on dog and pony shows, they could have avoided the most...

    Show More
    Avid Technology2016-02-05
  6. Helpful (17)

    "The Ship is Sinking — Faster and Faster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Daly City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology

    Pros

    Once upon a time, Avid (Digidesign) had the best creative tools, the best software engineers, and the best creative minds in the audio industry. Then, under the "leadership" of a certain Harvard Business School MBA type and his successor, the life, success, and vision of an industry giant was slowly and methodically crushed. Over a period of roughly 5 years, a workplace that was formerly vibrant, collaborative, and...

    Show More

    Cons

    See above. The transformation of a once-thriving and innovative industry powerhouse into a shrunken and struggling sweatshop is a textbook case of how to ruin a company as efficiently as possible.

    Advice to Management

    Offering advice to the insular and self-interested cabal that now runs Avid is like shouting into the wind. They appear to have no real desire or motivation to turn the company around beyond short/medium-term profiteering. A sad end to a once great company.

    Avid Technology2015-08-12
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Things are tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Do some interesting things in digital media handling. The company future looks bright. They have recaptured the thought leader position.

    Cons

    The company is having a hard time with the transition to a performance based rewards system. Since this appears to be something new for employees who have been with the company for any amount of time. This includes the Management layer. This means that receive huge amount of recognition for relatively small contributions while others get no recognition for very significant contributions.

    Advice to Management

    Make recognition more evidence based rather than on unsupported opinions. Rewards are more tied to vague opinions rather than a concrete evidence. It makes it random who will be recognized and who are snubbed.

    Avid Technology2015-04-12
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging product line, lean workforce, great opportunities if leadership can get its act together.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tuition re-reimbursement, challenge of supporting cutting edge media tools for a recession-proof, constantly evolving industry. The chance to contribute to a global enterprise and solve problems for editors and contributors all over the world. The chance to solve problems for creative content contributors on the other side of the globe.

    Cons

    Big and well-organized (but less-industry focused) competitors crowding out the market, Bungling of financials by unsound executive teams of the past, Turnover. Executives have not garnered morale in the past with a series of nearly yearly layoffs and project cancellations. Many good engineers have simply moved on on their own volition.

    Advice to Management

    Work more closely with product teams to build future solutions. We need more openness and transparency. It would be nice to get more frequent updates on the results of current campaigns.

    Avid Technology2014-07-04
  9. "Cutting edge technology, but management needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Great people * Leading technology * Interesting projects * Opportunities to grow * Good facilities * Pleasant work environment

    Cons

    * Sometimes management fails to provide clear direction * Politics can be an issue

    Advice to Management

    * Really adopt the Agile methodology * Let the talent lead the way * Products need a clear vision * Drop development the areas that are not critical for the company

    Avid Technology2014-02-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Started off as a good place to work with a high stock value, just got worst over time and lost all its value."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    My direct manager was great. Got to visit some interesting customers and work on some cool products.

    Cons

    Senior management has no clue what they are doing to the point that we have been delisted and lost all our value. Was a public company yet stopped releasing financial earnings, hence the delisting. Executives want to run the company like a bank with no experience with the market Avid is in. Executives do not like any criticism of the plan and do not want to offer any specifics to the "Everywhere Strategy". Constant offshoring...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Release some earnings so Avid can get back some of the reputation. At least have feature parity with the competition so we stop losing market share on all fronts.

    Avid Technology2014-03-15
Found 30 reviews