Avid Technology Senior Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Avid Technology Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated May 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
59%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Avid Technology CEO Jeff Rosica
Jeff Rosica
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging product line, lean workforce, great opportunities if leadership can get its act together.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tuition re-reimbursement, challenge of supporting cutting edge media tools for a recession-proof, constantly evolving industry. The chance to contribute to a global enterprise and solve problems for editors and contributors all over the world. The chance to solve problems for creative content contributors on the other side of the globe.

    Cons

    Big and well-organized (but less-industry focused) competitors crowding out the market, Bungling of financials by unsound executive teams of the past, Turnover. Executives have not garnered morale in the past with a series of nearly yearly layoffs and project cancellations. Many good engineers have simply moved on on their own volition.

    Advice to Management

    Work more closely with product teams to build future solutions. We need more openness and transparency. It would be nice to get more frequent updates on the results of current campaigns.

    Avid Technology2014-07-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Very Slow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Spacious place; good place to have fun

    Cons

    Business and Managers are at times confused on what to do.

    Avid Technology2019-05-16
  3. Helpful (25)

    "This used to be a great place to work, sadly no longer true."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Principal Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    For years Avid has been one of the best places to work for an engineer. The projects were (and really still are) exciting, the film and television market place is interesting and the management was knowledgeable.

    Cons

    Since the change in upper management, Avid has become a terrible place for an engineer. They are now tracking software engineers by how many lines of code you check in, which is totally the wrong thing to measure. The CEO stands up and says everything is great and everyone pop champagne. A few weeks later another round of layoffs. Avid has consistently laid off the best of the best in engineering, losing a huge portion...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of CEO and upper engineering management. Put back someone who knows the business.

    Avid Technology2018-03-01
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Things are tough"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Do some interesting things in digital media handling. The company future looks bright. They have recaptured the thought leader position.

    Cons

    The company is having a hard time with the transition to a performance based rewards system. Since this appears to be something new for employees who have been with the company for any amount of time. This includes the Management layer. This means that receive huge amount of recognition for relatively small contributions while others get no recognition for very significant contributions.

    Advice to Management

    Make recognition more evidence based rather than on unsupported opinions. Rewards are more tied to vague opinions rather than a concrete evidence. It makes it random who will be recognized and who are snubbed.

    Avid Technology2015-04-12
  5. "Cutting edge technology, but management needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Great people * Leading technology * Interesting projects * Opportunities to grow * Good facilities * Pleasant work environment

    Cons

    * Sometimes management fails to provide clear direction * Politics can be an issue

    Advice to Management

    * Really adopt the Agile methodology * Let the talent lead the way * Products need a clear vision * Drop development the areas that are not critical for the company

    Avid Technology2014-02-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Started off as a good place to work with a high stock value, just got worst over time and lost all its value."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    My direct manager was great. Got to visit some interesting customers and work on some cool products.

    Cons

    Senior management has no clue what they are doing to the point that we have been delisted and lost all our value. Was a public company yet stopped releasing financial earnings, hence the delisting. Executives want to run the company like a bank with no experience with the market Avid is in. Executives do not like any criticism of the plan and do not want to offer any specifics to the "Everywhere Strategy". Constant offshoring...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Release some earnings so Avid can get back some of the reputation. At least have feature parity with the competition so we stop losing market share on all fronts.

    Avid Technology2014-03-15
  7. "Very good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    easy work schedule. Flexible work atmosphere

    Cons

    tough work commute. Long time for projects to ramp up

    Advice to Management

    None

    Avid Technology2012-12-02
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Was the best company I worked for, turned into a offshoring shop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Daly City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you live for music, you might think you're happy. You'll pay by giving away a little bit of your soul everyday.

    Cons

    Management believes you can do engineering offshore. Innovation effectively left the building years ago.

    Advice to Management

    Please leave. You've killed the place. This really has been the best job in my life for 5+ years, the end was a nightmare.

    Avid Technology2012-11-13
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid at all costs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Software Engineer in Daly City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology

    Pros

    Avid has a history of industry-leading products and people on the ground who are genuinely competent and dedicated. Engineers, product managers, and ground-level sales people do this because they love it. Employees have bands, do freelance video work on the side, and plainly love being involved in media.

    Cons

    Avid's completely incompetent upper management and woefully self-deluding reporting structure have lead to a company that continues to lie to itself about its potential and effectiveness, all while circling the drain. If you want a lesson in how to destroy an engineering company, Avid over the last few years is a great example. Most importantly for engineers, a great deal of their time is spent managing the incompetence...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop lying to your employees on a semi-annual basis, and stop lying to shareholders. Nobody within the Avid organization believes a word said by any executive, and the annual exodus of post-layoff employees fleeing to saner companies should have served as a wake up call a few years ago. Perhaps you think you can replace competent, experienced engineers with incompetent contract labor, but this mediocrity is reflected...

    Show More
    Avid Technology2011-11-29
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Managed by people who do not understand the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Principal Software Engineer in Burlington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology

    Pros

    * The people - we are like a family. It's rare that you see software engineers working with the same company over a decade. * The products - the stuff we make is used to make the most watched and listened to entertainment out there. * A couple of our recent acquisitions could be very potent if their integration is executed properly.

    Cons

    * How many many more VPs can we hire while still not allowing for new positions in necessary areas like QA. * Management has hoped for significant attrition in order to move more development offshore. * Management doesn't understand how challenging it is to develop real-time audio and video processing products like ours. This is probably the largest contributing factor to my previous 2 cons. * Employees spend too...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Eliminate half of the VPs. The only thing they are doing is distancing you from your products and your greatest resource, your talented employees. Learn to communicate with your employees. We are just filling in the communication void with our own negative thoughts.

    Avid Technology2010-06-15
Found 20 reviews