Avid Technology "great products" Reviews | Glassdoor

Avid Technology Employee Reviews about "great products"

Updated Jun 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 474 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Avid Technology CEO Jeff Rosica
Jeff Rosica
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Many coworkers expressed negative opinions regarding upper management(in 47 reviews)

  • "Senior management set the goal in outer space to they could pay people next to nothing(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great products"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Has a lot of potential but disorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Room to grow, great product, very smart people

    Cons

    Disorganized, financially compromised, low morale

    Advice to Management

    Talk to employees. Take into consideration their feedback, and do not lay off people unless you absolutely have to.

    Avid Technology2018-07-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Product Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Mountain View, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people and great products.

    Cons

    Layoffs within the company became inevitable.

    Avid Technology2018-03-27
  3. Helpful (38)

    "Avid Lacks Employee Appreciation and Only Financially Focused to appear Financially Sound"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology

    Pros

    Passionate and Dedicated Employees Great Products

    Cons

    Worst Executive Leadership in the industry Financial focus lacks innovation Company is not customer driven - driven by numbers reporting only Valuable employees are overworked and under appreciated No growth opportunities

    Advice to Management

    The most successful organizations value their people Success for the top level executives feels like the focus more than team success

    Avid Technology2016-08-16
  4. Helpful (43)

    "Great People, Unethical ELT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology

    Pros

    A vast majority of the daily grind employees are great people, that are driven and want to make a great product. The customers are some of the most exciting clients I've worked with in my career. Avid is still a name that has clout in the industry, even with the best efforts of the executive leadership team to tarnish it.

    Cons

    Understaffing and lack of focus has sent many great people for the doors. I don't know a single person on my level (including myself) that hasn't been looking for another job. Product teams have been lost under a new CPO who doesn't have the vision or the clout to stand up to the CEO. Makes it very hard for pre-sales to do their jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Focus less on writing fake reviews on glassdoor.com and more on your employees. Everyone is afraid of the next downsizing.

    Avid Technology2016-05-25
  5. Helpful (31)

    "Employee Comp is going down hill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time

    Pros

    Really cool products, really great product/service roadmap

    Cons

    Operationally, Avid survives on the backs of a few very key employees. Demanding hours, global offices that require travel but must travel Economy even on 15-20 hour flights on your personal time, unclear if we are even getting raises this year despite being promised one, increases every year to health insurance costs.

    Advice to Management

    Cut your spending on lavish travel, offices, and accessories for the executive team

    Avid Technology2016-05-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Entertainment/Media/Broadcast industry is really cool, so are the products and the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great products, great people, very cool industry, competitive salary, good work life balance

    Cons

    Avid's transformation is a bit challenging but it is going to make is stronger and healthier for the future

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing and we'll come out on top

    Avid Technology2016-06-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "It is what you make of it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Household name customers Innovative Good coworkers Great product portfolio

    Cons

    Understaffed Urgent mindset from sales staff Customers can get their way to your detriment

    Advice to Management

    Slow down the urgency. Enable a happy medium between productivity and smiles by minimizing your own fears and concerns to the larger audience.

    Avid Technology2016-05-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "More Good than Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Avid Technology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The best thing about Avid is the great products, followed closely by great people. I am consistently impressed by my colleagues who are for the most part smart, dedicated, interesting people. It also doesn't hurt to be in an entertainment industry adjacent company - walking into the office past a couple of Oscars is just cool no matter how you slice it.

    Cons

    The company has gone through a lot of change and turmoil and the numbers haven't been consistently good. This leads to job insecurity and low morale of course and sometimes it can seem like the changes will never stop. I'm not convinced that is unique to Avid. I think most technology companies are like this. The CEO is not the warmest person and I know a lot of old-timer employees miss the sunny David Krall disposition,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge the morale issues and keep up the frank information about change and plans.

    Avid Technology2016-04-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great People, Cool Products, Bad Management/Execs, Strategy?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Specialist in Daly City, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology

    Pros

    Super smart, talented people, interesting products, great customers, fun industry. The legacy of Digidesign made it all worthwhile

    Cons

    Short sighted or inept management and strategy, poor customer service, no long-term vision or real innovation. Feels like a lost opprotunity

    Advice to Management

    Focus, Simplicity, focus on core values and a long term strategy of sustainable innovation and growth., Focus on rebuilding trust w/ employees and customers.

    Avid Technology2016-02-22
  10. Helpful (26)

    "There's a Hole in the Hull, Captain!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Berkeley, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avid Technology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great products to work on if you're actually in the audio or video industry. At the "worker bee" level, it's an "all-hands on deck" approach, where people pull together and bust their butts to get a new release out, partially because so many of your friends work in the business using your products to make a living. Good benefits, too, and a pretty good work/life balance (unless you were anywhere near shipping something--then...

    Show More

    Cons

    Executives and mid-level management are incompetent at actually managing this company. Lewis Hernandez is a man with zero insight into the industry his products support, his micro-managing damages the company, and the people he has hired at the VP level have been failures. His attempt at turning Avid into a "services" company will probably fail, and Avid has also basically abandoned its mid-tier customers, and look to...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit, or sell Avid then be made redundant. What Avid needs is leadership that understands the market Avid serves, not the ones its in which its executives were employed in their previous jobs.

    Avid Technology2016-01-28
Found 474 reviews