Avigilon Reviews | Glassdoor

Avigilon Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 169 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
James Henderson
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people to work with from the top down(in 12 reviews)

  • "The industry and company culture is fast paced and challenges you every day(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "High turnover at management level(in 13 reviews)

  • "Culture of fear and inept management, leads to a work environment that can turn hostile very quick(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Engineer in Plainwell, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Avigilon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Market leader. Great team. Great home/work life balance.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the customers and innovating faster!

    Avigilon2019-08-07
  2. "Great product, poor management, and less pay with increased numbers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Avigilon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Rock solid product line. Easy to sell once in front of customers.

    Cons

    Extreme micromanagement. If you have a great sales year expect that to be overwhelmed by your next quota and to make less money even though the your sales increase.

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on growing reps rather than managing reports. You have skilled sales people, trust them and let them grow rather than choke them with tedious busy work in the CRM.

    Avigilon2019-08-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Avigilon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 

    I have been working at Avigilon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good co-workers, good department, good benefits and potential high pay

    Cons

    C-level and SVPs were intense - over worked

    Avigilon2019-07-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Lots of growth and opportunity and a market disrupter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avigilon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At Avigilon you are given technology that you can 100% believe in. You work with partners daily that believe in your platform. The industry and company culture is fast paced and challenges you every day. Every day I have worked here I feel like we can make a difference to our partners and end users. We collaborate with them to solve real world problems. There is a lot of money to be made in this company and the benefits...

    Show More

    Cons

    There is a lot of growth at Avigilon and sometimes you can feel a little lost when you first come on board. This issue is being address aggressively on the sales side of the company. I think this can be challenging with regard to remote positions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating as we grow.

    Avigilon2019-05-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Really great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avigilon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very supportive of your career growth.

    Cons

    Growing very fast, so there are growing pains that can be very inconvenient. For the most part everyone is understanding of that.

    Avigilon2019-02-21
  6. Helpful (11)

    "The poor reviews are accurate DO NOT WORK HERE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avigilon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great product line High Pay (on the surface)

    Cons

    Sliding pay scale, blow it out one year they will slide to commission scale. Immature management Managers hired with no industry experience Terminations come with zero heads up. One day you are praised for the good work you do the next day you are gone literally. DO NOT LEAVE YOUR JOB TO WORK HERE UNLESS YOU ENJOY BEING UNEMPLOYED THESE PEOPLE ARE NOT YOUR FRIENDS

    Advice to Management

    Look at the turnover across the organization, seriously look on job networking sites and you will see some of the most senior people have been there a year or less. It’s much easier and cost effective to coach someone into the job than to keep replacing people. Motorola should take a serious look at replacing upper management.

    Avigilon2019-02-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, Good pay but dont expect big raises."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Regional Sales Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Avigilon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, easy to sell, loyal dealer base

    Cons

    Immature leadership, 1-2% raises. High quotas.

    Advice to Management

    stop micro managing. Recognize good talent and pay them.

    Avigilon2019-01-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Bold and Innovative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Irving, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avigilon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Apple of Video Surveillance - Competitive Salary and Benefits - YoY $$$ Growth - Innovation in Technology and Process

    Cons

    - Could use more swag

    Advice to Management

    Keep the open minded, innovation centric culture.

    Avigilon2018-11-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Give Avigilon A Chance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avigilon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Avigilon was a career defining job. In my three years, I was professionally developed in ways I never imagined. Avigilon is high paced organization that rewards hard work and ingenuity. I was rewarded with promotions and learned valuable tools that laid the foundation for my career. From the first day, I felt like I could be myself, which motivated me to feel great about coming to work. The employees are collaborative,...

    Show More

    Cons

    The organizational culture was a past issue, but they are making strides in the right direction. As for my experience - no major concerns. -The pay is competitive, exceptional benefits and you have work flexibility.

    Advice to Management

    As any relatively younger company, there’s always things to improve on. The organizational culture is improving, just remember to be transparent. Trust your employees to value and respect the hard to hear information. Also, be sure to enforce the cultural changes at all levels – upper level buy-in/visibility is key.

    Avigilon2018-11-13
  10. Helpful (8)

    "I didn't realize how bad it was until I drove away for the last time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Avigilon full-time

    Pros

    Competitive pay, good coworkers, best tech in the industry

    Cons

    Manipulative middle management, favoritism, polorizing, retaliatory actions

    Advice to Management

    Watch your middle managers

    Avigilon2018-10-05
Found 169 reviews