Avira Reviews | Glassdoor

Avira Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 92 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
79%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Avira CEO  Travis Witteveen
Travis Witteveen
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "Daily fruits, free meal, great coffee, teambuildings, events(in 7 reviews)

  • "own Gym, support by Lunch, free drinks)(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "A feeling of favoritism towards certain people, from upper management(in 4 reviews)

  • "Very bad management, inequity, not very good chances to learn(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A great place to make an impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Avira full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Amazing benefits... Competitive wage, top health care, flexible hours, mac book, thunderbolt display, iPhone subsidize gym membership and nice long holidays. Global travel to offices in Germany, Europe and California. You really can make an impact here, Avira has many employees but unlike other big companies your voice will be heard and you will get to work on things that really improve the company. There is...

    Show More

    Cons

    Convincing others to take the right approach can sometime be very difficult. On the plus side the art of persuasion is a new skill you will pick if you don't have it already.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing the boundaries but never loose focus of the core product that makes Avira great!

    Avira2015-05-08

    Avira Response

    August 31, 2015HR Manager

    Hi! Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. We do our best to listen, support and encourage all the employees that have ambitious goals and try to make a difference on their daily work.

  2. Helpful (8)

    "Better Opportunites Elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Avira

      Pros

      time off and good benefits

      Cons

      Lack of direction, new initiatives are not given a real opportunity, lack of transparency

      Avira2015-09-14
    • Helpful (1)

      "A great work enviornment!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlingame, CA
      Recommends
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Avira full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      I work in the California office just south of San Francisco and besides being in a great location my co-workers are awesome. All are supportive of one another and want and strive for a successful business. Avira fosters creativity in all areas of the business that I have experienced and is loyal to its employees. Avira also offers a very nice benefits package and office perks. I truly enjoying coming to work every day...

      Show More

      Cons

      If there are any cons it would be the distance to the company HQ in Germany.

      Avira2015-05-22
    • Helpful (1)

      "Business Development Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Business Development Manager in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Avira full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Awesome company culture with a great office location just south of the city. The perks here are the best, European vacation days, meals, snacks and drinks provided, 401K with great match, and company phone if necessary for the position.Management team is very supportive in all aspects of the business. Sales training provided to help grow skill sets. Avira also encourages a strong work/life balance.

      Cons

      Headquarters are in Germany, this means that we here in the US office don't get as much face-time with management and other development focused colleagues who are located in HQ or one of the European offices. Compensation is slightly under market for SF area but the perks help make up for it.

      Avira2015-05-08
    • Helpful (7)

      "Toxic environment in US branch"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Technical Eng in San Jose, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at Avira full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Pay is OK Benefits slightly better than avarage

      Cons

      I was witness of harassment of new coworkers. Bad treatment of new hires by senior customer service reps/ managment local and from HQ Managment was doing nothing to stop. I think again if I wanna stay.

      Advice to Management

      Comply to local rules. Do something against bullying and harassment. Have a training system in place, which covers all aspects.

      Avira2013-03-21
    • "Start-up environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Bruno, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Avira full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Start-up that got acquired by larger German company - pro was that they kept on most former SocialShield employees

      Cons

      Located in San Bruno rather than the city or somewhere more south on the peninsula

      Avira2012-11-01
    • "Great company to work for"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Avira full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Interesting challenges Great team Possibilities to learn and grow

      Cons

      None I can think of

      Avira2019-04-11
    • "full time job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Avira full-time

      Pros

      Daily fruits, free meal, great coffee, teambuildings, events

      Cons

      No Annual Company Bonus .

      Avira2019-04-08
    • "organisational changes"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Tettnang
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Avira full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      free drinks, gym, flexible working time

      Cons

      low salary, constantly organisational changes

      Avira2019-04-16
    • "The individual counts!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Corporate Function in Tettnang
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Avira full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      atmosphere, career opportunities for tech people, state-of-the art working environment, great people, visionary leadership

      Cons

      market is under pressure, many ideas under way to shape the future portfolio.

      Avira2019-03-04
    Found 92 reviews