Cover image for Avocados From Mexico
Logo
See All Photos

Avocados From Mexico

Engaged Employer

Avocados From Mexico

Add a Review

Avocados From Mexico Reviews

Updated Mar 16, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 17 of over 18 reviews
3.6
62% Recommend to a Friend
57% Approve of CEO

Found 16 of over 18 reviews

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Avocados From Mexico CEO Alvaro Luque (no image)
Alvaro Luque
12 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I made the right choice

    Mar 16, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I recently joined the Avocados From Mexico team and I have been blown away by my experience so far. I can already tell that this is the kind of company where you can make an immediate and powerful impact. AFM is extremely innovation driven which fosters an environment where big ideas thrive. It has the air of a creative think tank. Right away I feel as though this company is going to nurture my natural curiosity, creative problem solving, and strategic chops while pushing me to grow and take my career to the next level. Plus, my coworkers are the absolute best! Everyone has been so warm and welcoming, and I am endlessly impressed by the high caliber of talent that surrounds me. Even leadership has gone the extra mile to welcome and support me in my new position. I genuinely feel accepted, appreciated and included in this diverse family of truly inspiring individuals. Exciting things are happening, and I am eager to see what the next year has in store for me!

    Cons

    Every company has those little things you wish you could change or improve, but I have yet to see what those are at Avocados From Mexico. I honestly believe based on my experience so far, that I am empowered to work towards changes and improvements if a need ever comes up in the future. Leadership seems very open minded and driven to always grow and improve.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Changed My Life

    Feb 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I worked at AFM for 6 years and it changed my life. AFM is a company that cares about its employees, and it provides them with all the key resources to do their work and balance their personal life. When I look at my career today, I can honestly say that what I learned in 6 years not only exceeded my previous growth in other companies, but it prepared me for my current role in my new company. My career has blossomed beyond my expectations. The key to this success was the deep-seated culture of innovation. A second thing that I would like to mention that was very important to me that AFM offered, was their total rewards formula. Some of those great total rewards offerings were the following: medical plans w/ pre-tax employer contributions to HSA/FSA, beyond market PTO offerings, retirement support, income protection, career development, and telework days. Every single year the executive team is looking for new ways to continue improving the wellbeing of their employees. Lastly, the culture and connections at AFM are different. You are part of a family. You really feel so connected and people really care about you. When you need them the most, the first people to show empathy and care are the leaders of this company. I have seen firsthand the CEO do everything he can to make sure you are taken care of, which is hard to find today. Thank you, AFM Family, for all your support during my tenure.

    Cons

    This is a culture that drives innovation and constantly moving towards the future. This type of environment requires people to be creative and agile, and also requires grit, persistence, and will power to create things that have never been created before. Not everyone has the mental-toughness and determination to thrive in that type of environment.

    4 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Avocados From Mexico team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Pay well and good people. Bit of a dictatorship

    Feb 7, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Headline pay, fun product, nice office

    Cons

    Pay lackluster beyond headline salary. CEO runs everything

    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    The fish rots from the head

    Feb 28, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Compensation is high enough to retain people until they can't stand the stink any longer.

    Cons

    It's all about the inner circle, and it's staggering what people will turn a blind eye to.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Worst Top Leadership in the Produce Industry

    Sep 28, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are great people working at this place but the top leadership is the worst. Fantastic and healthy item to promote Great pay and benefits but your mental health and family life will suffer. There are better opportunities in Dallas.

    Cons

    Terrible work environment. No respect for woman. The Top leadership is condescending and has very gross tics; he opens and closes his legs constantly in every meeting. He calls woman "Chica". No matter how much training he is given, he gets no better. He takes credit for all the hard work, yet is hardly in the office. He and the Digital are more interested in awards than doing their jobs. There is no such thing as PTO or sick leave. You are EXPECTED to work at any time of day and any day of the week, You have to come in while you are sick (except during covid he closed the office) There are NO, zip, zero growth opportunities.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Avocados From Mexico Response

    Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. As a company that is committed to improving and is strongly focused on the employee experience, the following are some key insights that will illustrate how we are spearheading an engaging employee experience: • Today, our employee satisfaction stands at 80%, per our annual confidential employee engagement survey.This survey measures four very important dimensions - company, leadership, coworkers, and the individual employee experience – and in these four dimensions, we are continuously improving. • Our workforce is currently working from home on a hybrid model and once is safe to return to the office we will still be working from home 25% of the time. We offer this type of flexibility to allow a clear Work-Life Integration. • Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion are deeply seated in our organization. 60% of our workforce today are women, our executive team is gender balance, and in July 2021, we promoted 20% of our workforce, with 70% of these opportunities offered to our women leaders. • Our PTO days are 5 days above the general market average and increases as each employee builds tenure in the company. Additionally, we offer personal leave and sick days for employees to take care of themselves or personal family members. • As an organization, we have received many recognitions and awards for our performance and innovative drive – these accomplishments are the result of our collaborative effort. Our focus as a company is to create growth and career development opportunities in a collaborative environment that allows each member of our team to flourish. We would like the opportunity to learn more so that we can improve as an organization. Please reach out to the Human Resources department at hr@avocadosfrommexico.com so that we can work together to ensure AFM is a great working environment.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to work and professional development

    Jul 2, 2021 - Senior Marketing Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working at Avocados from Mexico for more than 6 years now and I am very happy to be part of this company. Since my first year with the company, the benefits have improved including paid time off and health insurance coverage, making me feel a valued and appreciated employee. The company implemented an employee performance system to establish clear and achievable goals for every employee, which are all reviewed and supported by our leadership. Every month, we review the progress of each objective with our leadership to ensure we have the tools to achieve our individual goals and objectives. Leadership is always making sure there is a positive working environment with a workplace that feels safe, supported and creates activities for team building and peer collaboration. This company is focused on business innovation, so we constantly receive training and new tools to improve our knowledge and performance so that we can continue to think differently and bring news ideas to drive consumption and demand. It is no wonder why Avocados from Mexico was listed among the 100 best workplaces for innovators in the World!! I definitely agree, this is a great place not only to work, but to continue my professional development.

    Cons

    Since AFM is a very small company, the possibility of advancing quickly is limited.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Life Changing Organization

    Jun 25, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company has offered me more learning and growth opportunities than any of my previous employers combined. The compensation and benefits package is outstanding (a TON of PTO, incredible 401k match, paid training, and countless other generous perks). The office is sleek and sophisticated, and the culture offers you so much autonomy to think creatively and execute ideas. Our CEO is very forward-thinking and invests in the latest and greatest tools, technologies, and processes so that we are able to continue being innovative.

    Cons

    It is a high-performance company, so you must be driven to push yourself to meet goals and objectives. It is not for the faint of heart.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Vibrant working environment

    Jun 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits, including training and professional development opportunities. Vibrant and fun working environment and culture. Opportunity to work in a successful company, with a strong innovative drive and creative thinking. Management has a clear vision and strategy for the company, and a very well structured process for performance and alignment towards the company's goals. Opportunity to learn from and contribute to a talented group of people.

    Cons

    Fast pace and demanding work; no room for comfort zone, which keeps you growing.

    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Horrible Management

    May 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Innovative people with amazing ideas on how /where to sell avocados.

    Cons

    Awful management and leadership skills. SUPER UNORGANIZED. People are rude, condescending, there's lack of accountability, and people are always looking for someone to blame. Be ready to answer emails or calls on your days off, even PTO.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Avocados From Mexico Response

    Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that some of your experiences have been unfavorable and are appreciative you brought forward your concerns. The essence of our culture is Mexicanity: vibrant, positive, and representative of the employee experience we continually strive to perfect. We hope that our commitment to our people is demonstrated through inclusive practices such as Avocados From Mexico’s engagement survey, all-employee 360 assessments, the Culture Committee, and our Operating Guidelines. We would like the opportunity to learn more so that we can improve as an organization. Please reach out to the Human Resources department at hr@avocadosfrommexico.com so that we can work together to ensure AFM is a great working environment.

  11. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    The most toxic environment I've seen

    May 31, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Irving, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cool ideas on promiting avocados

    Cons

    Beyond toxic culture. No people skills whatsoever. Unorganized, no structure, no process, no order. Everything is ran on "we'll figure it out." The people are the worst.

    6 people found this review helpful

    Avocados From Mexico Response

    Human Resources Manager

    Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. We continue to work to ensure AFM is a great working environment. We would like the opportunity to learn more so that we can improve as an organization and we invite you to reach out to the Human Resources department at hr@avocadosfrommexico.com.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews
</>Embed

Work at Avocados From Mexico? Share Your Experiences

Avocados From Mexico logo
or

Avocados From Mexico Careers

Cover image for Avocados From Mexico

Located in Irving, Texas, AFM encompasses a group of passionate brand builders and strategic category catalysts and leaders known for...More

  • Why Join Us
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Avocados From Mexico Photos

+ Add Photo
Avocados From Mexico photo of: Avocados From Mexico's HQ
Avocados From Mexico photo of: Avocado Love
Avocados From Mexico photo of: Best Avocado Cake
Avocados From Mexico photo of: Separation of Avocado and Label
Avocados From Mexico photo of: Halloween 2016
Avocados From Mexico photo of: Cinco de Mayo
Avocados From Mexico photo of: Birthday
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Glassdoor has 18 Avocados From Mexico reviews submitted anonymously by Avocados From Mexico employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Avocados From Mexico is right for you.