KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Avvo

Is this your company?

Avvo

Add a Review

Avvo Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
41%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Avvo SVP Sales and Marketing Suke Jawanda
Suke Jawanda
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "work life balance, commission structure, coworkers are awesome(in 16 reviews)

  • "Relaxed dress code, free ORCA card, decent benefits (was better before aquisition), sales commission plan is better than most places(in 11 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "some toxic under performing reps on sales floor bring down morale , hold onto employees too long(in 15 reviews)

  • "Management is overruled by the big wigs at Internet Brands and doesn't listen to feedback from employees(in 10 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great New Energy and Vision

      Apr 14, 2021 - Director of Acquisition Sales in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Strong visionary leadership. - Highly innovative product team, always releasing new features. - One of the best company cultures I've experienced - everyone super motivated and is invested in the success of others. - Working on behalf of our Attorney clients keeps things fresh and intellectually stimulating. - A great environment for sales-focus professionals who are looking to up-level their career.

      Cons

      Pay below scale, but strong upside (no cap on sales commissions).

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company To Work For!

      May 6, 2021 - Account Executive in Kirkland, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Managment is great the teams are great the hustle is great! The opportunity is great!

      Cons

      They can’t figure out what comp structure they want for us AE’s and AM’s to do and they literally lost over 50 employees on the sales floor just because of those reasons and they know who they are. It’s sad to be loyal to a company and see great people leave with tenures of 4+ years here....

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Read Recent Reviews Only! Big Problems!

      Mar 10, 2021 - Account Executive in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun office environment, but that has went away.

      Cons

      Too many to name now. Horrible management has lead to the dwindling down of the sales floor. We used to have 50-60+ AEs working at any given time, and now it is 20. AEs are quitting or getting fired left and right. Avvo can't seem to hire anyone either as about 50% of the new hires in 2021 have quit or been fired in their first 2-3 months. The product has changed so much from just advertising, and not in a good way, just in a way so Avvo can charge 3x as much for the same product and lock attorneys in for a longer commitment. The actual advertising performs so poorly for most attorneys and a high majority of the contacts that come from it seem to be fake or spam. In early 2021 the commission structure and performance plan were also changed drastically. Avvo now deems it ok to fire any AE if they have 2 consecutive bad months, which can happen to even the very experienced reps in this role. Along with making it easier to fire you, Avvo wants to pay the sales reps much less now as our commission plan was decreased a lot in 2021. This was big because the base salary at Avvo is so low for Seattle that you had to make up the difference in commission, but now it is very hard to do and the type of sales numbers that would have made good/great money in 2020 only makes mediocre money in 2021.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Avvo Response

      Thank you for taking your time to write the review. Although your review is not favorable to Avvo, we understand that change is not always easy and we are looking for more ways to be innovative and improve our employee experience. We will take your comments into consideration. We think our office environment is fun and can't wait to finally go back into the office once the pandemic restrictions are lifted.

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good People Confused Company

      Apr 28, 2021 - Account Execitive in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good people, good culture, snacks

      Cons

      company transitioning out of startup and doesn't quite know who it is

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Big Changes

      Mar 7, 2021 - Account Executive in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      GREAT co-workers. Great benefits. Great sales support.

      Cons

      It seems like Avvo is shrinking the sales team, and no one knows why. 30% of the AEs have either quit or were fired in the last 2 months, while quotas have increased. There have been major commission changes that might result in decreased pay. And there were 2 recent email campaigns that took leads away from the AEs. All with no announcement, explanation, or dialog. And we now have the most "top-down" sales director ever. It's anyone's guess what it will be like in a few months.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Avvo Response

      You couldn't have said it better from our amazing colleagues! We appreciate you sharing your feedback and experience on the sales team!

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Wouldn't recommend - Ship is sinking fast

      Mar 10, 2021 - Account Executive in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co-workers are nice and so are the managers. Nice office space (before covid)

      Cons

      They are reducing commission drastically, making it harder to sell our product (which doesn't work for most attorneys in the first place), and raising quotas. The company doesn't care about the employees and our new sales director has no idea what he's doing. Higher ups at this company are driving this company into the ground. We have lost half of our reps this year alone (2021).

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Avvo Response

      Thank you for taking the time to write a review. The commission structure has changed and there is still a lot of opportunity to make money! It sounds like you have some questions on the new commission structure, I advise you to sink up with your current manager and dive in together on the commission plan.

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      A Place to Win Friends and Influence People

      Mar 14, 2021 - Account Manager in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Didn't get as many lawsuit threats as I would have thought

      Cons

      Got threats of lawsuits sometimes

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Was great years ago. Ship has sailed. Pay attention to recent reviews only

      Jan 15, 2021 - Account Executive in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If performing well the pay is decent but still below market average. Good people. Attornerys are a challenge which helps build sales tactics

      Cons

      The company was bought out. If you look at reviews after the end of 2018, you'll see a huge shift and the company wouldn't be anywhere near the 2.7 it is. Internet Brands ruined a great company. No culture. Company doesn't care about their employees. Keeps making changes and any concerns are brushed off as "if you don't like it then you can leave". Just devised a performance management plan to make it even easier to fire people. I haven't been in that situation but with these changes, it makes a secure job feel at risk. I'm sure new hires will be out as fast as they come in thanks to the new plan. They literally said they were creating a stick for all the carrots we get. Not sure what carrots are there other than they pay us to do our job.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Positive experience

      Feb 22, 2021 - Sales Development Representative (SDR) 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company makes a point to let voices be heard, only company where I’ve actually had conversation with corporate leadership. Suke Jawanda listened to me and others about any ideas to improve the place. Great culture, great staff.

      Cons

      You have to talk to attorneys all day long and they’re not very nice.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Avvo Response

      Thank you for your sharing your experience at Avvo! Our leadership team values our employees and definitely want voices to be heard. We do have a great team and company culture here at Avvo. We appreciate your contributions to Team Avvo and wish you the absolute best in your future!

    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      great place to work

      Feb 25, 2021 - Data Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work with energitic colleagues and fun and difficult problems to solve

      Cons

      The environment has changed after the company was acquired in the early of 2018

      1 person found this review helpful

      Avvo Response

      Thank you so much for sharing your experience! We do have some awesome colleagues! We have been collaborating with Internet Brands and have come along way since the acquisition in 2018. We appreciate your contributions to Team Avvo and wish you the best in the future!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 163 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Avvo Job Seekers

    Account Executive
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Director of Product Management
    Learn About the Job
    Software Development Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Avvo? Share Your Experiences

    Avvo logo
    or