AwesomenessTV "free lunch" Reviews | Glassdoor

AwesomenessTV Employee Reviews about "free lunch"

Updated May 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
30%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
AwesomenessTV CEO Jordan Levin  (no image)
Jordan Levin
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people, contract work allows for time off, great new building and facility, free lunch for staff, and plenty of opportunity to gain new experience(in 11 reviews)

  • "Really good people in an emerging industry(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Any efforts to clarify a direction seem to get lost in the ether of upper management(in 3 reviews)

  • "Senior leadership did not necessarily fit the role they were leading(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "free lunch"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing Learning Experience with a Friendly Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Internship 

    I have been working at AwesomenessTV for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly approachable staff -Ability to explore other departments -Free lunch -Working for a highly influential digital company -Meet a lot of influencers/ celebrities -Fun/ young working environment -Got college credit AND payment -Gain a lot of experience and knowledge of the digital age and whatever department you are in -Staff cares about their interns

    Cons

    -Interns were separated from rest of the staff and placed in their own area

    AwesomenessTV2019-05-14
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Coordinator in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AwesomenessTV full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The fun parties, free lunches, and vibrant environment.

    Cons

    The leadership, lack of direction, power domination of upper management to keep people work long hours for ridiculous pay, lack of career advancement, and the continued hostile work environment for freelancers. What a Ponzi scheme.

    Advice to Management

    Don't treat people like they're your slaves. Pay fairly, speak to people with respect, provide an environment for advancement, and don't be cheap. Cheap is not quality. Quality is what sells and provides career longevity. Perhaps the investment would have been better spent on your people and your product rather than your expensive building and top corporate salaries.

    AwesomenessTV2018-11-30
  3. "good intentions, poor follow-thru"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AwesomenessTV full-time

    Pros

    free lunch, casual culture, very nice people

    Cons

    freelancers or vendors often weren't paid on time and had to hunt down their checks for work performed.

    AwesomenessTV2018-08-28
  4. "The people here are great, as well as my bosses!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Santa Monica, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AwesomenessTV for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people, contract work allows for time off, great new building and facility, free lunch for staff, and plenty of opportunity to gain new experience.

    Cons

    The fact that it's in Los Angeles, the pay could be a little better, not many places for lunch nearby if you don't like what they offer.

    AwesomenessTV2018-05-19
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Lousy Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AwesomenessTV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Free Lunches - Nice coworkers

    Cons

    - 3 Bosses in 6 months - A very junior person being promoted to a very senior role - apparently he was their "best bad option" - No focus on exactly what the goal is - Egos and a culture of passing blame

    Advice to Management

    - Yelling & berating is not managing someone - Ultimatums don't work to inspire staff - Its ok to be challenged

    AwesomenessTV2018-01-30
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome-not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Contract Assistant Editor in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AwesomenessTV for less than a year

    Pros

    Free lunch, sometimes its good. Its very laid back and "Chill"

    Cons

    No communication from the higher ups. Decisions take weeks, not hours or days, but actual weeks to be made. Once they finally make that decision they rush and expect it to be done already. They treat the lower level people with very little respect. They act like you are crazy when you ask legitimate questions.

    Advice to Management

    Get some people skills and learn to make decisions. Its your job to have the answers and when you don't you waste peoples time and then expect them to work miracles on no notice.

    AwesomenessTV2017-10-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Hot Mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AwesomenessTV full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    lax hours, free lunch, laid back & young

    Cons

    Unorganized, so laid back that work doesn't get done, poor senior leadership

    Advice to Management

    oh, god... everything

    AwesomenessTV2017-08-26
  8. "Intern Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at AwesomenessTV

    Pros

    -Free lunch and snacks everyday! -Positive, fun, and casual company culture -No small "intern" tasks but real hands on responsibilities -Freedom to shadow and meet with anyone in the company, no matter what department

    Cons

    -Must allot for time to find street parking and then move car in the middle of the day

    AwesomenessTV2017-04-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Intern at ATV"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AwesomenessTV

    Pros

    Free lunch and I got to do whatever I wanted because my supervisor barely talked to me and rarely ever gave me work to do.

    Cons

    Supervisors don't know what to do with their interns and they don't give them any work to do. When they do give you work to do it's busy work that doesn't even end up being used for anything. There are way too many interns - there wasn't even enough space for us all to sit at the intern table and they had to start moving people around to find us seats. Also, interns are unpaid.

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire interns for departments that are extremely slow, and don't hire so many interns. Also, if we do the work you ask for at least try to use it or teach us how to improve because it seems none of the work I did was used at all.

    AwesomenessTV2016-08-16
  10. "Incredible Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AwesomenessTV

    Pros

    One of the most fun places I've ever worked! Free lunch EVERY DAY, an awesome office lay out, and fun creative people.

    Cons

    Quick learning curve, and unforgiving toward careless error.

    Advice to Management

    Supply your interns with better resources and actually give them hands on training versus the typical "figure it out" method.

    AwesomenessTV2016-05-29
Found 11 reviews