KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Axiall

Is this your company?

Axiall

Add a Review

Axiall Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 of over 81 reviews

3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Axiall Interim President and CEO Timothy Mann (no image)
Timothy Mann
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great management team, competivie salaries and benefits, and good work environment(in 5 reviews)

  • "Work/Life Balance and great people(in 3 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "99% of upper management has never worked anywhere else and they are a bunch of old school folks(in 8 reviews)

  • "Low morale felt across the company(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Love working for Axiall

      Jun 27, 2017 - Analyst in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really take the time to train and mentor new employees. Room for advancement.

      Cons

      Was purchased by Westlake Chemical, some restructuring and layoffs have occurred. Beginning to move forward as a part of Westlake Chemicals. Some culture changes.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      Oct 6, 2020 - Finance Systems Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good base pay and bonus

      Cons

      My manager was only interested in her own promotion. Did not care very much for the people on her team.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Good

      Feb 9, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I enjoyed my time here.

      Cons

      Company merger/takeover left departments with instability.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Good Company

      Nov 11, 2020 - Logistics Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Was good company to work at

      Cons

      No real cons to list

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Best place I've ever worked.

      Jan 25, 2016 -  in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In a career spanning more than a decade, Axiall is the place where I've been happiest. Yes, it's a newer company, so of course the culture is still a work in progress -- but executive leadership is really wonderful and the company is on the right track. I've worked at the Atlanta corporate headquarters for more than three years, and each year has only gotten better. There are so many opportunities for high performers to grow here (the key is, you must be a high performer.) Management is incredibly supportive of work/life balance, and salaries are good. Do people complain, as another reviewer noted? Of course they do! There are complainers in any company, and many people naturally wish they didn't have to work at all. That doesn't mean the company is a bad place to work. Also, "bonuses" are just that -- a bonus given when the company, business unit and individual perform above expectations. Bonuses are not something any of us are entitled to. The new (mid-year 2015) CEO is someone I have the utmost respect for and confidence in as a leader. I really can't say enough about how happy I am at Axiall, and I believe the future of the company and its dedicated, high-performing employees is bright.

      Cons

      IT/IS support and structure needs some work. Wish there was an HRA option in the benefits package for corporate employees.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Axiall Response

      Axiall Human Resources

      Thanks for your feedback. We're so happy to hear that your experience at Axiall continues to be a positive one! Our goal is to provide a dynamic and enjoyable work environment as well as a competitive compensation and benefits package. We regularly review all benefits and compensation against the market to maintain a competitive total rewards program.

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great potential and sales pitch, but ulitmately a very disappointing place to work.

      Sep 30, 2014 - Maintenance Planner in Lake Charles, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      For the most part, almost everyone is very friendly and willing to help with anything. This company has alot of potential for future growth and is involved with many community charities.

      Cons

      The salaries do not come close to matching the work load. Not only are the salaries well below industry average, but there is often alot of overtime involved for which you are not compensated. The life/work balace is heavily tilted toward the work side. The facilities and infastructure are in disrepair and very poor condition. A very low morale from the employees plays a large role with the condition of the facility, as they know they can easily make 25 - 40% more, across the road for another company.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Axiall Response

      Vice President, Human Resources

      We appreciate your feedback. Our goal is to provide a pleasant work environment and competitive compensation and benefits. We are aware other companies in different industries in the area may offer more competitive compensation and benefits packages. However, we feel Axiall offers work/life balance by providing flexible hours, including a 9/80 schedule. We also regularly review all benefits and compensation against market to maintain a competitive total rewards package. We have and will continue to significantly invest in maintenance. However, all maintenance cannot be done simultaneously, but we are prioritizing the needs and being as proactive as we can. We value our employees, and we are continuing to develop our leaders and enhance our corporate culture.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Past negative reviewer seeing some significant effort!

      Nov 4, 2015 - Operator in Lake Charles, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are trying! There are noticeable changes taking place. Although there is much further to go, I feel like Axiall upper management is doing some good creating a culture that is more respectful of hourly employees. The work pace is good. The front line supervisors are friendly. The union, although pretty much useless by most standards, keeps the company in check and structured. I feel protected against supervisors who would fire someone over personal feelings. The pay is improving and that is a big factor in deciding the future of my career there since employers have opted out of traditional pensions... The DOLLAR PER HOUR AMOUNT IS KEY.

      Cons

      Axiall seriously needs to shed the old PPG guard in middle and upper management. There are still many of these managers who resent hourly workers for something that happened ten years ago... The ppg strike of 06. There are some radical, extreme safety protocols coming that will make no amount of money worth it. I am really concerned about retention if they pursue these policies in the way we are told they will.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Many Changes to new merged Axiall Corp Company

      Oct 26, 2014 - Front Line Supervisor in Lake Charles, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place for quick advancement. Need new Team Leaders, Engineers, Lead Operators, Operators and Craftsmen constantly as most of the older hands have quit or are in the process of leaving for better pay and working conditions. Took most perks away including retirement benefits. So no reason to be loyal anymore.

      Cons

      Merged PPG Chemicals with Georgia Gulf to form Axiall Corp,After a year they harmonized the 2 companies into one. PPG Employees on salary exempt lost 11/2x ot pay was cut to 1x ot pay on scheduled turn arounds only. This company works a lot of OT everyday to keep it running that the supervisor has to cover . Now expected to do it for free. Georgia Gulf just turns it over to construction and pays them twice as much to do the job. Retirement plan frozen as of 1-31-14. So we no longer have a retirement plan. Trying to cut extra pay to retirees for ins. GGC Employees gained on most benefits but PPG employees lost at every turn. Safety is said to be important here yet you seldom see them in the field. They are always in meeting or doing paperwork.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Axiall Response

      Vice President, Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback. We understand your frustrations. Generally when it comes to mergers, many changes do occur and this can be unsettling for employees. We are aware some employees may feel various perks have been taken away. As a company we always strive to address the challenge of balancing business needs and employees’ needs. With every business decision our employees’ well-beings are a priority. Some programs, perks or benefits that PPG or Georgia Gulf offered to employees may not be the same programs, perks or benefits we now offer as Axiall. However, we regularly review all benefits and compensation against market to maintain a competitive total rewards package. Also, we are currently creating new programs and perks that will become part of our culture at Axiall.

    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not for Engineers

      Sep 17, 2015 - Chemical Engineer in Lake Charles, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly people, competitive base salaries, large group of young professionals, active in the community.

      Cons

      Top heavy organization with a largely inexperienced/unqualified group of managers, poor maintenance planning and even worse plant reliability, extremely low morale, and even lower retention of both salary & hourly employees. There is heavy focus on training engineers to be front-line supervisors. The majority of engineers hired are placed in "Operations Supervisor" roles where they will issue safe work permits, write maintenance notifications, and order office supplies and toilet paper. There is little development (and jobs) for engineers seeking a more technical track. The inexperienced management leads to improperly planned turnarounds, major loss of production, and multiple environmental impacts. This results in virtually no bonus pay outs. A major organizational restructure took place in early 2015 which resulted in tripling the number of management positions to be filled with people who were hand picked based on their ability to hold a conversation at cocktail parties - not by experience in applicable units or by proof of ability. Pay is competitive for engineers but that cannot be said for operations and maintenance. There is little to no direction for the company let alone the plant.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Managers really care...

      Apr 27, 2015 - Corporate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I work with some incredibly nice and smart people. Everyone was very welcoming when I started here. My managers invest in me and care about me. I think the executive leaders are also very invested in the well-being of the company at all levels. Axiall is a recent merger, and it's a great time to be a part of the company as it grows and changes. I also get the impression that most employees are well compensated.

      Cons

      It's a big company, so there's always the challenge of trying to stay connected with employees at other locations. Some of the executive leadership isn't as visible as others. More communication about important changes would be helpful, but I think there have been some good changes recently.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Axiall Response

      Director, Talent Acquisition & Organizational Development

      Thank you for your feedback. We are glad your experience at Axiall has been pleasant and you feel our managers really care. As we continue to develop as a company, we are working on the best ways to communicate all changes effectively throughout the company within a timely manner. Our employees are our most valuable asset, and we strive for continuous improvement.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 65 Reviews

    Work at Axiall? Share Your Experiences

    Axiall logo
    or