Ayasdi Reviews | Glassdoor

Ayasdi Reviews

Updated 27 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
Ayasdi CEO Ishan Manaktala
Ishan Manaktala
0 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Menlo Park, CA

    I worked at Ayasdi full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good product, good people and fun place to work

    Cons

    Could do better with product strategy

    Ayasdi2019-07-25
  2. "Struggling Late Stage Start Up - Leadership Vacuum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Project Manager in Menlo Park, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ayasdi full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very compelling technology tool - well known in academic world (regularly cited in many professional studies / health / medical journals, used in government services - Air Force Research Lab).

    Cons

    Constant Re-orgs, Leadership Vacuum 10 Years in Biz, no view toward profitability No viable operational model Academics in Business Roles (product, engineering, CEO) they have no skill to be in No sense of P&L, Resource Utilization or planning Male dominated culture

    Advice to Management

    focus on one sector: financial, Anti Money Laundering

    Ayasdi2019-08-27
  3. "An under-appreciated company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ayasdi full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work and friendly people. HR and management tries their best to make people happy. Excellent relationship between teams and plenty of opportunities to contribute (not restricted to current role).

    Cons

    Lack of communication from higher-ups regarding direction of the company. Sometimes, lack of deep technical expertise in engineering and technical leadership leads to decisions that slowly kill the product.

    Advice to Management

    Tie up loose ends in communication and processes. Hold people accountable. Hire top talent.

    Ayasdi2018-09-11
  4. Helpful (3)

    "System Architect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Architect 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ayasdi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart people, cool math/technology, good compensation/benefits/perks

    Cons

    Poor leadership, not able to convert to successful business (it’s been ten years!?!), unprofessional work environment

    Advice to Management

    Find a seasoned CEO/

    Ayasdi2018-08-04
  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ayasdi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Get to work with genuinely good, smart people. Free, health-conscious lunch provided daily and snacks/beverages. Fun culture with plenty of team building and social activities. Excellent benefits. Flexible schedule - good work/life balance. Employee recognition program. Interesting projects and opportunities for career growth.

    Cons

    Don't have any cons to note at this time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Ayasdi2018-05-01
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Passion, Patience, and Perseverance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ayasdi full-time

    Pros

    The use cases being focused on within the general AI, Machine Learning, and Advanced Analytics market are all over the place - robotic process automation, natural language processing, autonomous driving, predictive maintenance, risk management, etc. Furthermore, the number of companies focusing on each of these areas seems to be growing by the week. While this is the case, there are only a select number of these... companies who have successfully built and launched Fortune 100 enterprise business use case solutions utilizing AI / ML and whose name is recognized by enterprise leadership team members (particularly within Financial Services, Healthcare, and the Government sectors) looking to invest in these new technologies. Ayasdi is certainly among those recognized and respected names, and it's clear our team is fully dedicated to building our brand, expanding our platform capabilities within current clients' businesses, and capturing new logos. Just by doing a little research into other companies trying to do similar things as Ayasdi, you'll quickly find that list is quite small, inexperienced, and/or not at the same level of revenue generation or reputable VC backing. The Ayasdi team is very intelligent, passionate about being leaders in our segment of the AI / ML market, and focused on building real analytics solutions that actually drive change and save millions for our clients. If you're really interested in advanced analytics, as well as looking for a place where you can showcase your skills and see your work truly impact a business, I highly recommend Ayasdi.

    Show More

    Cons

    Despite being a bit more established startup (founded in 2008), Ayasdi is not insusceptible to the challenges that other startups face. One of the main barriers to entry includes the amount of time and effort it takes to get a new client solution signed and implemented. This closing process here is longer than many other software companies, but of course, this is due to the fact that AI / ML solutions are by no... means "mainstream" and to get them adopted into major enterprise operations requires hammering down the exact pain point to build a solution around, having all the required business and IT stakeholders approve specific terms, getting access to the right data, getting the solution up and running in a production setting, and so on. While this time and customization can be challenging to get through from end to end, we've actually made it happen on very many instances and are working on building repeatable solutions that we know the client markets we focus on will be interested in, which will allow us to diminish this timeline of onboarding new clients or delivering new solutions to existing clients. While I personally believe this is the right approach, it is clear that patience, perseverance, and lots of hard work are what will get us to the place we are all working so hard on getting Ayasdi to.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    While the current and growing wave of AI and Advanced Analytics adoption in most industries is no longer news to most people, the number of companies and new startups focused on building a unique AI approach is changing and growing everyday. It's clearly a hot place to be, and although there are these successes under our belt, there is still so much to accomplish to continue to gain that traction and build our... brand / business. No doubt that scaling an enterprise software company is challenging, and being better about identifying and hiring new talent more quickly is a must. The hiring managers within the organization should trust their gut but also be aware of the constraints on the existing talent pool, especially when looking at the high standards we hold for who we bring into the company. Finding new ways to further build our brand (internally and externally) may help with attracting that new talent or getting our name even more recognized within the areas we're focusing on to allow us to scale and grow more rapidly.

    Show More
    Ayasdi2017-11-27
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Wonderful product, great future, and the most genuine people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ayasdi full-time

    Pros

    There are a lot of pros about the company that will make other companies shy of competing with it - fantastic product, great possibility of upside with very respectful VCs investing, sheer fact that it really is an AI company, and much more - but none is more important to mention than the people in this company. Everyone is extremely genuine, smart, and approachable. The work culture is very open and the management,... very transparent. The company appreciates the people, and it shows in return from the people side that they care about the company and the mission as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    It is in visible distance from the Facebook. If you are living in the city, you may not like the commute.

    Advice to Management

    The company has extremely good prospect that there is a very good chance the company will grow very rapidly. It will be crucial to keep the culture intact while growing.

    Ayasdi2017-11-01
  8. "Great Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Science Intern in Menlo Park, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Ayasdi full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, collaborative team

    Cons

    Many employees leave because of startup environment

    Ayasdi2017-09-05
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Vertical Traction on the Rise"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Ayasdi full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having been with Ayasdi for nearly 2 years, I've experienced the transition from working within 5+ industries into a more narrowed and strategic focus into 2 very data-driven verticals: Healthcare and Financial Services. Although we had seen some success (and challenges) in both before the transition, the traction has been on the rise over the last year as we have brought in talented individuals across our sales,... data science, product, and marketing teams. These newer domain experts have brought in the industry knowledge required to help us navigate complexity, demonstrate value, and drive exciting solutions that all of the largest institutions in those verticals are facing today (and will be facing over the next few years). This fact, coupled with the growing awareness and interest in machine learning solutions across organizational operations, has been key to our recent growth. It is a very exciting time to see things going the way they are (interesting deals in the pipeline), and I expect them to continue.

    Show More

    Cons

    The complexities of figuring out how to build customized solutions has proven to be a challenge, but that's part of the learning curve of being a startup working with some of the largest companies in the world, including global tier-1 banks. We don't often look back at what we've achieved in company all-hands meetings, and sometimes the feeling of accomplishment that should be realized isn't.... maybe it's because... the company is in a constant state of learning and development. Both passion and patience are required to weather some of those ups and downs, but this is certainly a cutting-edge machine intelligence company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The more domain-specific expertise across teams, short- and long-term strategic thinking within operations, and how we can continuously bring the voice of our customers internal will be how we can continue to capitalize on success seen thus far and drive additional growth in near term. Continue to drive an even closer-knit team internally and take the results observed in our recent company-wide feedback survey... to heart. We all want to be successful, and we're all here because we see the opportunity for what could be achieved. Let's grow that feeling of togetherness.

    Show More
    Ayasdi2016-11-22
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Growing Strong"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ayasdi full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome team, customers renewing & we're seeing hiring really pick up. The team has grown a bit in the last few months & the new hires are really amazing. It's really feeling like we're putting together the sort of high performance team you read about.

    Cons

    It would be awesome if the office were in downtown Palo Alto.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring rockstars!

    Ayasdi2016-07-09
Found 47 reviews