Azusa Pacific University Coordinator Reviews | Glassdoor

Azusa Pacific University Coordinator Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
50%
Recommend to a Friend
Azusa Pacific University President Dr. Paul Ferguson  (no image)
Dr. Paul Ferguson
0 Rating
  1. "Program Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in Azusa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Azusa Pacific University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Administration has really taken initiative to hear from its employees. There are town hall meetings regularly scheduled, and to discuss changes at the University. There is also constant HR training for professional development. Additionally, open forums are held for interviewing and filling high ranking positions in the University. - This Institution is actively working at fostering an environment that celebrates diversity in its employees.

    Cons

    I cant think of any now.

    Azusa Pacific University2018-08-01
  2. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campus Life Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Azusa Pacific University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Simply put: quality people. Many faculty and staff stay here for decades indicating the excellent workplace culture of the university. APU is an enjoyable place to work and every day you know that you and your colleagues are invested in the work and the mission of the university.

    Cons

    Bonuses and upward mobility will be limited at this university as it is tuition-driven.

    Azusa Pacific University2019-08-14
  3. "Great community / low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator 

    I worked at Azusa Pacific University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great community, good staff relationships

    Cons

    Low pay; not commensurate with market salary

    Continue reading
    Azusa Pacific University2019-06-30
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Do NOT Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Management Coordinator in Azusa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Azusa Pacific University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Tuition discount is all that remains.

    Cons

    Health benefits cost $250 per paycheck for HMO for a family of 3. They slashed retirement contribution from 8% to 3% matching. HR does not advocate for employees. If you report abuse or mismanagement, nothing happens. Mismanagement of funds has put the university near default. They promote people into management who aren't performing well as a worker. The environment is toxic, unfriendly. No room for advancement. No raises, and if there was, it was 2% or less. Huge gap between faculty and staff. Nursing and Education departments are the worse to work for.

    Continue reading
    Azusa Pacific University2019-07-18
  5. "Great environment... sometimes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Coordinator in Azusa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Azusa Pacific University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meaningful work when you align with the values of the institution.

    Cons

    I've been here too long and don't enjoy it anymore.

    Continue reading
    Azusa Pacific University2018-07-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Toxic Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Azusa Pacific University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tuition benefits & nice coworkers

    Cons

    Manager is a micromanager with trust issues. Every detail has to be approved by the manager before continuing to the next step, leaving no room for creativity and causing deadlines to be missed or entire planning process to be delayed. It's very disappointing that a university whose motto is "God First" allows people such as this manager to be placed in their position to lead others. This manager puts up a very good facade in front of others allowing her to get by as a professional, but since I worked closely with her, I witnessed a manager who is unorganized and will shift blame to others at all cost so that her true unprofessionalism and lack of management skills are not revealed. I not only experienced this myself but witnessed this being done to my coworkers. It is heartbreaking and disappointing that the university allows these types of managers who are inexperienced and lack empathy to lead others.

    Continue reading
    Azusa Pacific University2014-12-05
  7. "Developed me as an employee."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Coordinator in Azusa, CA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Azusa Pacific University

    Pros

    There are a lot of opportunities for personal and spiritual growth at APU. They also offer heavily discounted tuition to employees!

    Cons

    Administration does not seem to communicate well with employees as to their true motives. It also seems that there is a lack of information sharing and collaboration on campus between departments and offices. The promotion and compensation has great disparities across campus and departments.

    Continue reading
    Azusa Pacific University2011-07-11

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews