B&M Retail Reviews | Glassdoor

B&M Retail Reviews

Updated 11 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 556 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
B&M Retail CEO Simon Arora (no image)
Simon Arora
201 Ratings
Pros
  • "10% discount for staff which isn't too bad if your on a low budget(in 59 reviews)

  • "i want to be part of B&M team to enhance my professional skills(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "High expectations on minimum wage(in 48 reviews)

  • "No downsides to working for B&M(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great as a stop-gap!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at B&M Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, friendly management and easy retail environment.

    Cons

    Tried to trick me out of accrued vacation when I got promoted from Christmas temp to full time permanent.

    B&M Retail2019-02-09
  2. "Ok job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Floor Supervisor in Suffolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at B&M Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some great people , some not so

    Cons

    Irregular shifts , some petulant staff

    Advice to Management

    Learn people skills

    B&M Retail2019-08-13
  3. "Treat staff like crap"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor in Trafford, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at B&M Retail full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    10% discount is the only decent bit, met some nice people and had a laugh with some, but not others

    Cons

    Too much demands on staff, talk to the staff like crap, can't think of anything else to write so I'll leave it

    Advice to Management

    Don't treat staff like crap.

    B&M Retail2017-07-03
  4. "Poor wages"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Deputy Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at B&M Retail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Always busy . Great opportunities to help deal with new customers every day . Decent discount . Great job security

    Cons

    Very poor wages compared to workload and rest of the sector . Low staffing but high workloads expected my senior visiting managers

    B&M Retail2019-09-11
  5. "fair company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Billingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at B&M Retail part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    plenty of hours, good team to work with, flexible hours

    Cons

    in January your hours go down for a few weeks with buisness being slow

    B&M Retail2019-09-09
  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service/Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at B&M Retail part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very freindly staff and management

    Cons

    Hours are not that great

    B&M Retail2019-09-05
  7. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at B&M Retail part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people and money on time

    Cons

    None. All good no problem

    B&M Retail2019-09-05
  8. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Wirral, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at B&M Retail full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flxibl hours freedom of own store

    Cons

    None I enjoy It all everyday

    Advice to Management

    Keep going

    B&M Retail2019-08-31
  9. "It is okay but can be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Bedford, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at B&M Retail part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great friends made and great support

    Cons

    work can get too repetitive most of the time

    B&M Retail2019-08-28
  10. "Company has gone backwards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at B&M Retail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company is expanding Career opportunities

    Cons

    Workload unrealistic Pay for staff from GA up to Deputy store manager level Want a lot from little Work life balance

    B&M Retail2019-08-22
Found 556 reviews