B&Q Reviews | Glassdoor

B&Q Reviews

Updated Jun 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 826 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
54%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Graham Bell
52 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits, Friendly atmosphere, room for progression, staff discount(in 59 reviews)

  • "Really good pay ( depending on the location of the store you get paid extra for busier stores)(in 52 reviews)

Cons
  • "Not enough people know about the great variety of rewards and benefits that B&Q offer(in 62 reviews)

  • "From what i've seen, it's not always easy to get a full-time contract(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Good for people only needing low hour work that don't expect anything out of it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Advisor in Wales, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at B&Q part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Close team that works well together and helps each other out. OK pay if the level system is used in your store (More experienced = hire pay but this is hardly used in any store) Busy workload so you always have something to do. From other staff I know that it is quite a flexible place to work for parents and students with most colleagues willing to swap shift to help if they can.

    Cons

    Zero career aspects for most people. It isn't about what you know but how much you suck up to management. No full time contracts and hours go to the friends of managers instead of hard workers that get the job done. No feedback from management on how to improve or on tasks that need doing. Too many decisions made by people from high up with no clue of how a store actually works.

    Advice to Management

    From my experience in a revamped store, zero guidance and leadership isn't the way a store should be run. Helping your staff and thanking them daily would go a long way to improve the morale and happiness of all colleagues which would in turn make them more satisfied working for this company and for you. The main problem I have come across is the lack of communication between management and their staff which just leaves...

    Show More
    B&Q2015-05-06
  2. "Great starting point for a "REAL JOB""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Showrooms Customer Adviser 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at B&Q part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's simple to apply, it treats even low level employees with quite a bit of respect. I was able to learn anything i wanted to about the store our systems and sales skills in general, working there for just a few mouth's opened TONS of doors for me to do other things.

    Cons

    Pay was pretty poor, don't let it become who you are. My personal manger was very hands off I felt he wasn't very productive in general and was much more worried about his future then the stores.

    B&Q2014-01-14
  3. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at B&Q full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really flexible team and a supportive environment, are encouraged to try new things and be curious in other teams as well as with your own work.

    Cons

    Opportunities to progress can be limited or few and far between.

    B&Q2019-06-18
  4. "Flexible hours, okay pay, friendly colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Showroom Customer Advisor in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at B&Q part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible around university/college commitments

    Cons

    Long hours on weekends, inconsistent shift pattern

    B&Q2019-06-17
  5. "Friendly place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Trading Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at B&Q full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    People are great Believe in promoting within

    Cons

    Bad business plans from Senior management caused me to be made redundant Poor decisions constantly made by head office higher management

    Advice to Management

    Improve supply chain issues Decide on one plan for staff to follow not several at once which affects customer service

    B&Q2019-06-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good for a part time job during college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Cork
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at B&Q part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    8 hour contract worked for me, worked one day on weekend but could work up to 40 hours if i wanted to. Time and a Half on Sundays

    Cons

    When it is quiet can be a lot of pointless work

    B&Q2019-06-06
  7. "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Showroom Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at B&Q part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good wage at 9.58 in certain locations ( Greenwich) Majority of colleagues are nice Easy work

    Cons

    Not very flexible Toxic environment due certain managers

    B&Q2019-06-19
  8. "not a company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Leader/Supervisor in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at B&Q full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    staff discount and cheap deals on returned stock

    Cons

    aggressive management style BULLYING no work life balance shift hours changes daily refused days off make to work excessive LONG shifts no team work or management team no staff moral ..........................................................................

    Advice to Management

    stop just giving out informal actions and actually have a conversation face to face. life isn't just b and q people also have a life outside work if a complaint is made formally dont just ignore it try resolve it without threats ! let other people have an opinion without been called negative stop employing and protecting family members .................. ..........

    B&Q2019-06-18
  9. "Flexible company with lovely people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chandlers Ford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at B&Q part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great facilities, gym, Costa, great canteen, lovely people, fantastic pension, good maternity pay, open to flexible working.

    Cons

    Not many layers of management so progression can be limited, park and ride a bit of a faff.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value your colleagues, people aren’t easily replaceable.

    B&Q2019-06-02

    B&Q Response

    June 10, 2019Employer Brand & Attraction Manager

    Thanks for this glowing review - it's lovely to read that you're enjoying working at SSO, we'll be sure to share your feedback with the leadership team.

  10. "Great progression opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Change Planner in Southampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at B&Q

    Pros

    Good benefits, plenty of opportunities to progress. Fairly flexible.

    Cons

    Although good progression opportunities can be difficult to progress within role.

    B&Q2019-06-02

    B&Q Response

    June 10, 2019Employer Brand & Attraction Manager

    Thanks for leaving your positive comments, glad to read that you'd recommend B&Q as an employer. Please do take a look at L&D's intranet page to sign up for some of the 'Grow in SSO' courses - there's some beauties on there to help you with personal development.

Found 826 reviews