BAE Systems UK Reviews | Glassdoor

BAE Systems UK Reviews

Updated Aug 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 379 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Charles Woodburn
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor Senior Management skills, poor decision making(in 11 reviews)

  • "Limited movement around company within early careers due to constraints on business units(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BAE Systems UK

    Pros

    Good remuneration, interesting and large-scale projects, great team, well established and functional processes, and good flexible working policy.

    Cons

    Typically outdated software engineering practices (slow-paced, heavily documentation-oriented & non-agile), which more reflects the way the defence customer works than the company's own engineering governance.

    BAE Systems UK2016-10-10
  2. "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Holmesburg Finance Station Post Office, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start if you don't know the management style from outside

    Cons

    Management is a complete mess. Old senior managers are blockers to young talent progress. They see reasons why fresh ideas cannot work. Offsite trainings are record in the successfactor. it is ever available for employee to go onto and if you are lucky to get one, manager will not approve if not within the local area (cost driven) Internal career progression is slim and only given to selected few that can play the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Operate open and transparent culture, give people equal opportunities. Focus on investing in employee and you can learn from EY workplace culture. Let staff know their pay scale and they will have confident in you.

    BAE Systems UK2018-01-08
  3. "Safety andHealth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Team ande mployees are good and loyal

    Cons

    Management Commitment and communications are not good

    Advice to Management

    Follow through with employees

    BAE Systems UK2016-11-15
  4. "Good Experience, so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at BAE Systems UK

    Pros

    Pays you well Systematic and professional outlook Friendly environment Lots to eat Normal Work Stress Practical Expectations

    Cons

    Portals and Websites for Interconnectivity not so good On boarding process requires lot of polishing Training is like a lot of info at once, requires systematization

    BAE Systems UK2016-09-30
  5. "Consolidation/Reporting and Fixed Assets Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consolidation, Reporting and Fixed Asset Manager in Gaithersburg, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BAE Systems UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work in

    Cons

    Many reorganizations and instability environment

    BAE Systems UK2016-07-01
  6. "1st Class Electrician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Class Electrician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BAE Systems UK full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Can work without Supervisor just give me Assignment...And I'm good...

    Cons

    Layoffs Really hurt a lot of people...

    BAE Systems UK2016-06-28
  7. "BAE Systems Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Assistant in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly people, good hours, the message that people need to stay safe is a really good one because people can get hurt when working on ships so it's always important to remember about safety first.

    Cons

    Parking might be limited so my best advice would be to go early. Also if you are not comfortable working in small enclosed spaces, then it might not be the best place

    BAE Systems UK2016-06-28
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Estimator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Estimator in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, advancement opportunities or lateral conversion to other sectors within the company.

    Cons

    Working on salary, long hours and weekends are required to meet estimate completion dates. No compensation for this extra work despite the expectation from management that we submit our estimates on time.

    Advice to Management

    Be considerate of your employees. If you see them working long hours on a continuous basis, give them time-off or monetary amount for their efforts.

    BAE Systems UK2016-06-11
  9. "Wonderful team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BAE Systems UK full-time

    Pros

    BAE Ship Repair team is great. They have great leadership and amazing employees

    Cons

    Ship work is feast or famine and availability of work is due solely to amount of work in the shipyard.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. They really care about their employees and give them an opportunity to travel to other yards when things are slower.

    BAE Systems UK2016-03-05
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Facilities Management (Helper) in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at BAE Systems UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and decent wages. Last 2 years, while on second shift, I was working 7 days a week, thus I was able to obtain a lot of overtime.

    Cons

    Gender discrimination. Regulations/rules were not applied equally. I was told I was a "Target" after stopping unsafe work on a ship; not even a year of employment. I was wrongfully terminated and denied unemployment, as were many others. Some having worked for 40 years or more. Hundreds were laid off in October, December and even more will be laid off in March 2016.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the deplorable treatment of loyal employees. If lay-offs are necessary, then start with the most recently hired and non-BAE employees.

    BAE Systems UK2016-01-17
Found 379 reviews