BAE Systems USA "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

BAE Systems USA Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
BAE Systems USA President & CEO Jerry DeMuro
Jerry DeMuro
447 Ratings
Pros
  • "9/80 work schedule and ability to work from home 2 days/week(in 110 reviews)

  • "good benefits, discipline, process driven(in 102 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management hires terrible workers and never fires the ones they should(in 63 reviews)

  • "Such a large company can be slow to change(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Very nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Database Specialist in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and culture. Very nice oppurtunities. Process oriented

    Cons

    Not many bad things to say about. Good place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    BAE Systems USA2019-11-08
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Overall good experience, but they are rolling back benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Firmware Engineer in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flex time to let me work when I want to. A 9/80 (or alternative) work schedule to provide 3 day weekends every other week. Good benefits. Great coworkers. Great furniture. Good hierarchy manager and lead structure to allow for help from multiple directions. Everyone is for the warfighter and not for BAE, which focuses us on the customer, not management. 1

    Cons

    Over the last 4 years BAE has slowly rolled back some great benefits. Weekly to Bi-weekly pay periods and stating there's no cost difference (what about payroll??). First 10 hours over 80 hours are free - we get no pay (4 years ago we did! ). They've removed the best Traditional health insurance program. If you are really good at your job, a golden goose, you'll constantly get pulled back to the same program which... could be great, but if you don't like that program then that will push you out of BAE.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Ensure your employees are happy where they are, and if they aren't then move them to somewhere they want to go, don't keep giving them raises or promotions to make them stay.

    BAE Systems USA2019-10-04
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Awesome job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Machinist in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay good benefits

    Cons

    Long hours away from family

    BAE Systems USA2019-10-15
  5. "Nice environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Supply Chain Manager 

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, discipline, process driven

    Cons

    protocol centric, not a lot of growth opportunity

    BAE Systems USA2019-09-27
  6. "Good, but could be great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CNC Machinist in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A wide variety of equipment, from vintage, near museum pieces, to modern multi axis machines. Challenging and enjoyable work for an experienced machinist, good pay for the work, and mostly enjoyable coworkers. Plenty of OT available, with scheduled pay raises. Very good benefits.

    Cons

    With a few exceptions, there was a division between management and associates that tended to slow processes significantly at times. Didn't always want all that OT. Advancement relies mostly on formal education over experience, Engineering support was thin on manpower.

    BAE Systems USA2019-06-01
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Too many inexperienced managers and people in “senior“ leadership positions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Supply Chain Planner in Nashua, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good benefits are definitely a plus and who doesn’t like the 9/80 work schedule!

    Cons

    Because we’re growing so fast managers are constantly being added. Many of them promoted simply to fill positions. They have no experience in managing or mentoring people nor do they have the leadership skills that are needed to build strong teams. Training is non existent for new employees and even employees that move from one function to another. We do very poorly at this.

    Advice to Management

    Review growth strategy for new managers that include how to communicate with people that work for you and how to actually be genuine about it. If you have to force a smile or speak kind word it’s not genuine and we know it. Teaching them to use the word “team” in every other sentence is not what is meant by this either. Work harder on training plans for employees and ease up a little on metrics that are... unattainable.

    Show More
    BAE Systems USA2019-04-25
  8. "Accountant 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant I 

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot to learn, good benefits, adequate time off, great people

    Cons

    Too many managers and not enough soldiers. Not enough work to go around. Too much free time.

    BAE Systems USA2019-03-29
  9. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Electronics Technician II in Summerville, SC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BAE Systems USA for more than a year

    Pros

    BAE is a good company to work for, they offer good benefits, friendly people, great pay and a decent work place and experience.

    Cons

    The down side to the company is management. The company allows the management total control and no repercussions for any injustice done on the floor. Claims file to HR department against management is swept under the rugb claims file to HR department against management is swept under the rug.

    Advice to Management

    Treat people the way you wanna be treated, don’t assume anything and give employees a benefit of the doubt.

    BAE Systems USA2019-01-06
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Isolating, Sterile and Depressing Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Engineer in Nashua, NH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BAE Systems USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and decent pay.

    Cons

    I did not work here long - I was in ITE. The onboarding was a joke, I was thrown off on my own from day 2 and had no idea what I was doing or who to ask. My manager was completely absent and provided little help or guidance. The environment felt very political and isolating, I sat in my cube all day and often didn't exchange words with anyone the entire day. A few decent managers tried to help but it wasn't enough.... This was by far the most sterile and dead place I've ever worked and it was terrible. I dreaded coming in every day and was constantly hearing others in the building complaining about the company & generally being negative. Also tons of frustrating bureaucracy in the defense industry, but that's to be expected.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Have a better onboarding process for new hires that aren't straight out of college. Quit giving people manager roles to those who shouldn't have them.

    BAE Systems USA2018-10-17
  11. "BAE Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Louisville, KY

    I worked at BAE Systems USA for more than a year

    Pros

    Busy schedule, good benefits, working for a great cause...the military

    Cons

    long hours, busy schedule, too many federal requirements

    BAE Systems USA2018-04-10
Found 102 reviews