BAE Systems USA "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

BAE Systems USA Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 31, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
BAE Systems USA President & CEO Jerry DeMuro
Jerry DeMuro
447 Ratings
Pros
  • "9/80 work schedule and ability to work from home 2 days/week(in 110 reviews)

  • "good benefits, discipline, process driven(in 102 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management hires terrible workers and never fires the ones they should(in 63 reviews)

  • "Such a large company can be slow to change(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Applications Developer in King George, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good middle management, good pay, good benefits.

    Cons

    The upper management is primarily concerned with corporate profits - which I can understand. But in many cases, it has been to the detriment of the employees, projects, and programs.

    Advice to Management

    Work a better balance of profit to keeping your programs (ie, not loosing them to other companies). Forcing a 15% pay cut to employees means you loose almost all of your employees and the program. Try 5% cuts.

    BAE Systems USA2016-05-10
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Technical Writer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Sterling Heights, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BAE Systems USA for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked with some really great people. Work was interesting and engaging. Contract company I was with paid very well. Loved having every other Friday off.

    Cons

    Nepotism is rampant at the Sterling Heights office. Some people getting preferential treatment because their parents know someone in upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Do not let nepotism ruin your company! People should be working there based on their experience and knowledge not because they know someone in upper management.

    BAE Systems USA2018-10-31
  3. "Logistics Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time

    Pros

    Government work, good leave options and pay

    Cons

    upper management hires terrible workers and never fires the ones they should

    BAE Systems USA2018-08-14
  4. "DOCKMASTER or Assistant Dockmaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - First Class Mechanic Facilities in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, 401k, close to home

    Cons

    after 10 years promises are hallow and distrust with upper management.

    Advice to Management

    Stop beating around the bush when asked a question. Honesty is the best policy so employees and employers can deal with situation.

    BAE Systems USA2018-04-10
  5. "Product Support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, competitive pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Poor communication from the upper management.

    BAE Systems USA2017-08-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Bae systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BAE Systems USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers that are exetremely friendly and helpful when you need information about a task you need done

    Cons

    Horrible upper management on power trip. Make sure you watch your back in your 120 probation period they look for any reason to fire you

    BAE Systems USA2017-06-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company, poor management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at BAE Systems USA

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible hours, great coworkers, and laid back atmosphere. Decent benefits, tuition reimbursement, 401k, job security and 9/80 schedule

    Cons

    Upper management and supervisors make no attempt to boost morale, poor communication within certain departments, supervisors with little to no educational background in management/leadership. No room for growth, communication relayed through email or chat , inconsistent, and a deal with it type of mentality. No incentives.

    Advice to Management

    Experience in a position does NOT mean a management position should not require an educational background, an associates degree at the very least. Continuing education is imperative if you put someone in a position by default. Seriously, management is this companies biggest complaint on every review I've read.

    BAE Systems USA2017-04-02
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Contractor at BAE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Contractor in Washington, DC

    I worked at BAE Systems USA for less than a year

    Pros

    A lot of the people are very kind and well meaning. I found that most of my co-workers were helpful and cheerful.

    Cons

    Upper Management are very elitist, very conceited, and the overall directive of the company is malicious and not in the publics best interest.

    Advice to Management

    Do not ask employees to do things that are unethical or undermine the company.

    BAE Systems USA2016-12-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY

    I worked at BAE Systems USA full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay and benefits. Responsiblities for providing a quality product to our military was very rewarding.

    Cons

    Poorly managed from upper management

    BAE Systems USA2016-11-03
  10. Helpful (3)

    "BAE Systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Director in Sterling, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BAE Systems USA

    Pros

    A lot of autonomy, training support (if requested), and good 401k/stock share/bonus plan

    Cons

    Upper management is disconnected from daily operatons

    Advice to Management

    Instill a culture of promoting from within and institute skip-level meeting with management

    BAE Systems USA2016-09-02
Found 63 reviews