BB&T Capital Markets Reviews | Glassdoor

BB&T Capital Markets Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
26%
Approve of CEO
Kelly S. King
8 Ratings
  1. "BB&T Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at BB&T Capital Markets full-time

      Pros

      Great potential for growth in industry

      Cons

      not a wall street firm if that is what you're looking for

      BB&T Capital Markets2017-02-08
    • "Investment banking"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Vice President in Richmond, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at BB&T Capital Markets full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Relatively independent from the bank. Good industry depth and knowledge. Generally very competent bankers and outstanding junior professionals. Center of all influence is in Richmond despite office in Boston.

      Cons

      Culture is eat what you kill with a feckless leadership structure. A few key cliques control the firm and the money.

      Advice to Management

      Lead and deploy a strategy instead of having the cliques run the place.

      BB&T Capital Markets2017-07-04
    • "Great Place to Work and Grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BB&T Capital Markets part-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Professional, good compensation and bonus

      Cons

      Layoffs are always eminent, as with any financial institution

      BB&T Capital Markets2017-06-27
    • "Sinking ship."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Capital Markets Associate in Richmond, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at BB&T Capital Markets full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Get experience in richmond where rent is cheap. The view of the river is nice and the people not in the capital markets part of the bank are kind and help each other.

      Cons

      Organization and investment banking advisory has decreased from a high of over 50 million in revenue in 2015 to less than 10 million today. This means the organization is undergoing a fundamental restructuring and senior management is trying to keep the turnover quiet to prevent all the turnover from damaging it's brand and confidence with clients. The heads of the ibanking groups have job security -- everyone else does...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      don't churn and burn your junior employees making a bad job worse, so managers w no real revenue based client relationships can buy their c class Mercedes

      BB&T Capital Markets2017-06-15
    • "Equity Research"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Equity Research Associate in Richmond, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at BB&T Capital Markets full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Get to work with nice and friendly people. Main HQ office is pretty relaxed and laid back compared to other shops.

      Cons

      Although BB&T Corp is a great bank, the Capital Markets group is slowly going down hill. S&T have been cut by over 50% in the past few years. Pay is not very competitive.

      Advice to Management

      Needs restructuring in management with a solid business plan moving forward if the Capital Markets group wants any hope of trying to still compete with other low tier MM banks.

      BB&T Capital Markets2017-06-14
    • "Sad"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at BB&T Capital Markets full-time

      Pros

      Job Security and stable job

      Cons

      Compensation, apathy, lack of real leadership

      BB&T Capital Markets2017-04-20
    • "BB&T Capital Markets Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at BB&T Capital Markets

        Pros

        Good company culture for IB

        Cons

        Satellite office provides some operational challenges

        BB&T Capital Markets2017-02-27
      • "Equity Research Associate"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Equity Research Associate in New York, NY
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at BB&T Capital Markets full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        Focus on value-added research versus maintenance research

        Cons

        sales was relatively lazy at pushing the research product

        BB&T Capital Markets2017-01-23
      • "Research Publisher"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Research Publisher in Richmond, VA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I worked at BB&T Capital Markets for more than a year

        Pros

        I evolved as a person and employee with the company. It was a wonderful learning opportunity that I will carry with me always.

        Cons

        I wish I would have made It to my 10th year.

        BB&T Capital Markets2017-01-07
      • "Compliance"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at BB&T Capital Markets

        Pros

        Great work/life balance Down to earth people

        Cons

        Not innovative Too conservative Not challenging work, not fulfilling Little growth opportunity

        BB&T Capital Markets2016-10-06
      Found 24 reviews