BB&T Insurance Services Reviews | Glassdoor

BB&T Insurance Services Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Wes Dasher
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poor management, bullied practices, focus on meaningless issues instead of foucs on work(in 3 reviews)

  • "micro management can be stressful(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer Service Agent I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BB&T Insurance Services full-time

    Pros

    They respect and listen to their employees.

    Cons

    I have no complaints so far.

    BB&T Insurance Services2018-07-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Solid corporation but sloppy management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Client Service Representative in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BB&T Insurance Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and good staff around you.

    Cons

    Micro management to the nth degree.

    Advice to Management

    Find knowledgeable leaders instead of promoting underachievers who have long standing tenure

    BB&T Insurance Services2018-07-26
  3. "Ins. Support Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BB&T Insurance Services for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    No longer have Ins. Support Manager position as Sept. 2017

    BB&T Insurance Services2018-07-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Business Insurance Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BB&T Insurance Services

    Pros

    Great collaboration with colleagues and partners in other business lines to service clients. They invest heavily in training, licensing, educational resources, personal development and professional development. Superior access to brokers and insurance companies enabling a wide range of new business options. Not necessarily limited by region, line of business, client segment and type of business to quote.

    Cons

    Heavy reliance on revenues from insurance business to support other revenues, such as loans, which can detract from personal revenue. High expectations for new business production can hinder the ability to reach goals and manage existing book of business.

    Advice to Management

    Considering adjusting new business expectations to more closely align with the market conditions in different agency areas. More realistic goals in this respect would enable continued servicing of existing book as well as reduce unnecessary pressures for agents in conditions that are not conducive for attaining goals.

    BB&T Insurance Services2018-05-11
  5. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BB&T Insurance Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Comprehensive benefits package. Diverse work environment.

    Cons

    Confusing time off and sick day policy.

    BB&T Insurance Services2018-04-25
  6. "Good job , Far away from my residence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Line Agent in Allentown, PA

    I have been working at BB&T Insurance Services full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Good pay good benefits

    Cons

    Location - was transferred over an hour from my residence

    BB&T Insurance Services2018-04-10
  7. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BB&T Insurance Services full-time

    Pros

    Great people to work with and for and great company standards

    Cons

    Hard to grow within the insurance division. Poor management and leadership within the insurance division.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff better

    BB&T Insurance Services2018-04-05
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Nepotism and Lies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at BB&T Insurance Services full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people I worked with great. Butt kissing and marrying into the management team will get you to higher places.

    Cons

    The management creates an environment of mistrust and lies. Lots of backstabbing. They urge you to misrepresent client info when quoting to carriers. The carriers have caught them in their lies and refuse to quote. In the end, you sell your soul for your paycheck.

    Advice to Management

    Get some ethics. Admit your shortcomings. Don't lie to carriers and clients. The money was good but at a cost to your self-esteem.

    BB&T Insurance Services2018-04-13
  9. "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BB&T Insurance Services full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Get to know your local community

    Cons

    Pay is lower than market- you lose talent opportunity when you allow old agency managers to stay around "too long" after they have sold the agency and act as figureheads

    Advice to Management

    You lose room for growth in the company with local agency model and there is a lot of talent in the larger city that could be tapped. Benefits are good but pay is low. I do not feel the balance is there to offset the low pay due to good benefits.

    BB&T Insurance Services2018-01-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The most toxic place I have ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSR2 in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BB&T Insurance Services full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    This was one of the most toxic places I have ever worked. I guess the only pro is, they hire some amazing people.

    Cons

    It doesn't take those same amazing people long to realize how toxic it is and they end up leaving shortly thereafter.

    Advice to Management

    Management is probably one of the biggest issues there. They cultivate the toxic culture.

    BB&T Insurance Services2018-01-26
Found 73 reviews