BB&T Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
57%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
BB&T Chairman & CEO Kelly S. King
Kelly S. King
1,056 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sales goals are almost unreachable for everyone starting 2019(in 61 reviews)

  • "Upper Management can be hard to deal with, Audit Reviews(in 57 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BB&T full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Lasting friendships, paid vacations and holidays.

    Cons

    Weekend work, a system does your schedule so its different almost every week, hours are 9-5 but last minute clients can make that go over so hard if you have children in daycare. Understaffed usually.

    BB&T2020-02-07
  2. "Rewarding work, many hats, changing management"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Branch Banker Team Leader in Washington, DC

    I worked at BB&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great way to learn all the in and outs of a major commercial bank, build strong relationships with clientele

    Cons

    Too much turnover, no differentiation in products, cant meet the main objectives due to lack of staff

    BB&T2020-05-28
  3. "Nice Place To Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BB&T full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great people, earnest management.

    Cons

    Great attitude towards women and minorities, but not much follow through.

    BB&T2020-05-20
  4. "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Banker in Lawrenceville, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BB&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Environment, Team Player, Benefits

    Cons

    Micro managing, Annual Bonuses Missing

    Continue reading
    BB&T2020-05-12
  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Brewton, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BB&T part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a great company to work for with great employees and great pay.

    Cons

    My only downside to working here is that I was only 19 hours.

    BB&T2020-05-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Senior Management"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Relationship Banker in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BB&T full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They truly care about their employees

    Cons

    A few systems could be updated

    Continue reading
    BB&T2020-04-21
  7. "Na"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Branch Banker in Oakton, VA

    I have been working at BB&T full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and flexible hours

    Cons

    It is a decent company

    BB&T2020-04-26
  8. "Company, pay and benefits are decent, but the job sucks!"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Crimes Detection Specialist in Charleston, WV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BB&T full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Minimum wage starts at $15 an hour. Health benefits are great minus the $2,000 deductible I had to pay for an MRI. Paid holiday (unless you're scheduled to work that holiday, then it's $30 an hour). Paid vacation. Good work culture, very diverse. Nice equipment and cubicle space to work from. Management is very nice (minus the gossiping and picking favorites).

    Cons

    Must be off the phone in 3 min or less, regardless of the issue. Too many double-standards and ridiculous expectations. Client's can be very rude (especially those that are wealthy or own businesses). It's basically a call center in which people have to call to get their debit card blocked/unblocked. Management will turn the automated dial up to make outbound calls to clients if no callers are in the ques. (That basically means if we've answered all the calls, and we are sitting there 5 minutes or longer with no calls coming in, management will turn the dial up so we have to answer more calls). Very high turn-over rate because the job sucks. The company would rather fire someone than have them quit because it makes them look better. Security system against fraudsters is not very secure and people get fraud on their cards a lot! Management is more concerned with our call time and after call work rather than actually helping people. Written warnings for using all of your sick time, which is stupid.

    Continue reading
    BB&T2020-05-06
  9. "Community Branch Banker"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Banker in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BB&T full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great community bank feel; customer-centric

    Cons

    Outdated technology; manual processes; reactionary

    BB&T2020-04-16
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Changing"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Risk Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BB&T full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Most tasks , reports routine , generally stable

    Cons

    Advancement based on how well you are liked more than accomplishments

    Continue reading
    BB&T2020-04-27
Found 1849 reviews
</>Embed