BBDO SF Reviews | Glassdoor

BBDO SF Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I really love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Creative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BBDO SF full-time

    Pros

    Leadership Work/life Balance Great Culture Family vibe / Nice People

    Cons

    Some tough clients Some small budgets

    Advice to Management

    I have worked at some REALLY terrible agencies and this place is a breath of fresh air. Wasn't sure when I signed up, but I'm so glad I did!

    BBDO SF2019-01-11
  2. "Art Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Art Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BBDO SF full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, fabulous ECD, everyone treats each other like family.

    Cons

    Small budgets and difficult clients. And for some reason, the strategy and account departments get more promotions than the creative department (I think its because they have a harder time getting the strategy and account department employees to stay. No one in the creative department ever wants to leave).

    BBDO SF2018-12-15
  3. "Mentally draining. Zero work/life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BBDO SF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None, that’s why I left.

    Cons

    Zero respect for after hours, people expected you to be available 24/7. Bad time management by all departments. Bad management team, period. Lack of emotional intelligence and basic knowledge of 2018 tech skills, V inefficient! Bbdo is a dinosaur waiting to go extinct.

    Advice to Management

    Stop with the expense reports nagging!

    BBDO SF2018-10-07
  4. "BBDO SF review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BBDO SF full-time

    Pros

    Very serious about the quality of work, always trying to improve company culture, dog-friendly, lots of snacks, very nice people

    Cons

    I'm still new, not sure yet

    BBDO SF2018-07-14
  5. "Run away."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at BBDO SF full-time

    Pros

    Goldfish crackers, la croix, some people are really smart.

    Cons

    Agency is doing poorly. Budgets are being slashed, people being laid off. Morale is incredibly low, and upper management is EXTREMELY CHEAP. Many people are very overworked, and burning out. In the last 6 months, the agency has lost about 15% of its people. Many people I spoke to are also very underpaid compared to other agencies in the bay. How are you supposed to expect people to survive in SF with the joke of a...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more people minded-- not selfishly money minded.

    BBDO SF2018-08-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Copywriter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at BBDO SF full-time

    Pros

    People are cool but VERY cique-y

    Cons

    Cheap cheap cheap cheap cheap

    Advice to Management

    Stop micromanaging and let people do their jobs

    BBDO SF2018-03-26
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Finance reboot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BBDO SF

    Pros

    Overall, the best part of this company are the people, really friendly and sociable. Open office environment Weekly libation station Occasional free lunch leftovers Telecommuting (varies by dept) Generous holiday breaks

    Cons

    Finance dept is run by individual that unfortunately received that role by seniority, not merit. Dept lead lacks emotional intelligence, basic computer/technology skills, doesnt know pivot tables or vlookups, knows nothing outside of their functional role, doesnt know what an ERP system is, doesnt know how to balance their own financial books -- has an off the books CPA do it, idea of management/leadership/training is...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Incompetence should not be rewarded blind loyalty. And... It's one thing to be a manager, its entirely another to be a leader...and it typically entails more than referring someone to a binder

    BBDO SF2017-09-25
  8. "Always a satellite office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Copywriter in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BBDO SF

    Pros

    Great people. Decent salaries and benifits. Family sized placed.

    Cons

    So many new biz conflicts with the overall BBDO network prevent the agency from growing or taking on more interesting accounts. BBDO New York often uses the SF office as "extra hands" to help with their accounts. This rarely results in the SF office producing any of the work that's sent off to NY.

    Advice to Management

    Create a list of categories you CAN pitch and go after those. Even if they're small. It's good for morale.

    BBDO SF2017-04-17
  9. "Motion Design"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at BBDO SF

      Pros

      Great team, fun autonomous creative environment

      Cons

      No comment no comment no comments

      BBDO SF2016-10-14
    • Helpful (2)

      "Great place for junior talent to grow"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Account Executive in San Francisco, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BBDO SF full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      Lots of opportunity to grow and learn for junior account and creative talent. They're making an effort to work on the company culture.

      Cons

      Management plays favorites. Once you get to a mid level position your career trajectory can stall. You need to threaten to leave to get more money.

      Advice to Management

      Stop playing favorites, realize you're growing rapidly and you need to put in an effort to retain talented employees

      BBDO SF2015-11-10
    Found 12 reviews