BC Housing Reviews | Glassdoor

BC Housing Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 42 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
BC Housing CEO Shayne Ramsay
Shayne Ramsay
8 Ratings
  1. "Great organization to work at for work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Burnaby, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BC Housing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - benefits, parking, work /life balance, flex days, volunteer hours, gym

    Cons

    - politics, wage, weak middle management,

    BC Housing2019-09-23
  2. "Friendly working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Records and Information Clerk 

    I worked at BC Housing full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are easy to get along with. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Some projects move slowly.

    BC Housing2019-08-19
  3. "Good benefits and time off, bad environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Building Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BC Housing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great amount of time off, flex days, government pension, good benefits

    Cons

    They lose good people because of a toxic work environment and bullying.

    Advice to Management

    Unionized management should still be accountable for their performance and conduct.

    BC Housing2019-08-10
  4. "Interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Officer 

    I have been working at BC Housing full-time

    Pros

    The work is interesting, and challenging. Lots of learning opportunities.

    Cons

    Large bureaucracy with internal processes that are not intuitive.

    BC Housing2019-08-01
  5. "Why we attract and don't retain talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Technologist in Burnaby, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BC Housing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    In general the work is reasonable for balance, learning opportunities, benefits. Good gym in the building. Great building construction projects. People internally are good to work with.

    Cons

    I've seen first hand the challenges we've faced retaining talent in this busy construction industry. Especially Project Technologists. After a few years here, they qualify to begin a Project Management role in many other government agencies and leave . We've all seen the brain drain for good reason. Mostly the extremely low pay, and on top of that a lack of opportunities for promotions so they're stuck unless they... go external. It's a huge challenge to keep experienced people. Many are professions including Gold Seal Certified, Project Management Professionals, Architects, Engineers, etc. and with the cost of living increasing, and external opportunities offering much more, those with experience have difficulty justifying staying here. With a family to support they continue to leave for career growth roles including to other government agencies who compensate at industry standards.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Create and offer senior technical / PM promotional opportunities for staff in all departments including Development Strategies. Know that your Technologists are Project Managers and professions with a lot of experience and education who want to stay to make a difference.

    BC Housing2019-05-25
  6. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at BC Housing

    Pros

    Good benefits Good environment Great location Large corporation

    Cons

    Non competitive Salary Hard to move up

    BC Housing2019-02-01
  7. "Contract Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BC Housing full-time

    Pros

    Some of the people were great

    Cons

    Management was not supportive to staff

    BC Housing2018-10-16
  8. "Very nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at BC Housing full-time

    Pros

    Very inclusive and has so much to offer to their employes

    Cons

    Very hard to change the procedures

    BC Housing2018-06-28
  9. "great work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BC Housing full-time

    Pros

    positive environment with room for growth

    Cons

    there were no cons working at bc housing.

    BC Housing2018-04-04
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BC Housing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flex-days, government pension, work life balance, standard government vacation, professional development, attracts good people but can't keep then, growing organization

    Cons

    Don't compare it to other crown agencies. Low pay with no increases, executive have been there for decades and resistent to change. It's not what you know but who you know and who likes you. A lot of underlying bullying, racism and gossip culture. Keep your head down and keep quiet.

    Advice to Management

    Realize every employee matters to the companies success. Treat employees with respect and don't turn a blind eye to the negative work environment.

    BC Housing2018-04-04
Found 42 reviews