BCBG Reviews | Glassdoor

BCBG Reviews

Updated May 21, 2017
860 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

860 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great discount, amazing shop manager (in 111 reviews)

  • Access to the latest fashion you will learn a lot about garments construction and styling the right pieces for the right body types (in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • High turnover among upper management creates an environment of instability (in 72 reviews)

  • New Structure of the company after bankruptcy has become extremely demanding on work-life balance (in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Sales Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BCBGMaxAzria Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - BCBGMaxAzria Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCBG part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great sales experience, if you have a good team they're constantly looking out for you and encouraging you to reach your goals. Access to the latest fashion you will learn a lot about garments construction and styling the right pieces for the right body types. Plus you can't beat that employee discount!

    Cons

    The store is crazy during holiday season and everything gets unorganized quickly. This is a retail position so coworkers are not the most professional. Unfortunately you will meet the 30 something's who discourage you from being agressive and pursuing bigger and better things. Another huge con - having to wear heals. Sorry but it's 2016 and wearing heals during an 8 hour shift is ridiculous please expect my orthopedic bills paired with tons of law suits within the next 10 years. Employees should also receive free clothes if you want is to have the BCBG "look". Even with the discount the expectation to wear the brand is ridiculous.

    Advice to Management

    Take time to listen to your associates. If an item is hideous ask for their feedback - we know our clients better than you do.

    BCBG Response

    Dec 21, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please utilize your Human Resources partners so they may address your concerns. You're welcome to email Human.Resources@bcbg.com so they may ... More


  2. "Bootcamp for entry level fashion grads"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Technical Designer in Vernon, CA
    Former Employee - Assistant Technical Designer in Vernon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BCBG full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good resume builder, good discounts, good opportunity to network (the turnover is high so there's a strong chance you will meet people who move onto other companies). Try to make good connections with your co-workers and keep in touch, you would be surprised what those relationships can lead you to.

    Cons

    The work environment is cut throat and intimidating- think 'The Devil Wears Prada'. People quit every week and there is a lot of crying in the office. Sometimes people are driven to insanity and do crazy things like quit on the spot, or yell at their manager in front of everyone. Most people only last a year.

    Advice to Management

    Fire everyone and start over. There's no hope haha.

    BCBG Response

    Feb 28, 2017 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Please utilize your Human Resources partners so they may address your concerns. You're welcome to email Human.Resources@bcbg.com so they may ... More


  3. "Senior Design Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - MAX MASSIE in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - MAX MASSIE in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BCBG (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great team in my department. Was vibrant environment when I began. The expansion was aggressive and challenging.

    Cons

    Lots of turn over of good talent that made continuity sometimes challenging. they never made the appropriate investment to the corporate campus.

    Advice to Management

    Create environment that fosters better cooperation between differrent departments. Spend some money to create a corporate campus comenserate to the brand.

    BCBG Response

    Dec 21, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At BCBG, we want our associates to feel that they work in a supportive, rewarding environment and we constantly strive to make BCBG a choice ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (2)

    "A MESS!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BCBG full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    40% off discount and 4 "perks" per season at 75% off.
    Trendy, upscaleish work environment

    Cons

    Management sucks
    Pay isnt as great as you think
    Lack of communication
    No training
    Just horrible company to work for overall

    Advice to Management

    Get it together and do your job

    BCBG Response

    Mar 9, 2017 – Human Resources

    Please utilize your Human Resources partners so they may address your concerns. You're welcome to email Human.Resources@bcbg.com so they may get back to you in a timely manner. Thank you!


  6. "Decent p/t job"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BCBGMaxAzria Sales Associate in Ridgewood, NJ
    Former Employee - BCBGMaxAzria Sales Associate in Ridgewood, NJ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BCBG part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent discount and typical sales hours. Standard pay. The customers were, for the most part, agreeable. If you don't work in an independent store, instead the department store ones, you get more extensive discounts.

    Cons

    At first, you don't get the best hours. Restrictive uniform if you have anything to cover like tattoos, and you can't wear sandals, even if they're BCBG.

    Advice to Management

    Be less restrictive on the clothing and shoes guidelines. Offer an employee discount on top of the current ones, rather than on the full MSRP .

    BCBG Response

    Nov 22, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At BCBG, we want our associates to feel that they work in a supportive, rewarding environment and we constantly strive to make BCBG a choice ... More


  7. Helpful (5)

    "It's really half and half...half horrible ..half "okay""

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vernon, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vernon, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    If you get stuck with a good and caring manager, then you're going to be okay. But there will be lots of office politics that you will have to deal with.
    If you have an okay office manager/director that is willing to put in the effort, then you might have some what of a decent experience here.

    Cons

    Where do I even start?
    I can say that 95% of management stinks around here. Not only do they constantly yell or are disorganized, they often pick on the "weaker" employees, sometimes make them cry or upset.
    The company is very sexist if you are not working in the more creative departments like Design. You will be belittled of your abilities and people will try to make you do things that have nothing to do with what your position is.
    The good and hardworking employees are taken advantage of and have no morale anymore. They are not appreciated at all while bad employees who do not do anything are praised left and right.
    Upper Management such as managers need Anger Management classes as they are always mad all the time.
    Very tense work environment depending on department.
    Massive Layoffs.
    No guarantee for moving up. company is doing poorly to even give people "raises" (if you can even call them that).
    Constant blame game. Cover your tracks because everyone will throw you under the bus, even your own manager/director.
    HR never does anything about complaints.
    You will be severely underpaid here.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the reoccurring offenders (the managers and directors) that constantly are making everyone tense and are exploiting the good workers. Fire the bad workers (they're still here). You need to motivate your workers and tell them whats going on with the state of the company. Everyone is scared and wants to jump ship before this place goes out of business.

    BCBG Response

    Nov 2, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and making us aware of this situation. We’re interested in hearing more details about your current outlook on the company and would love to engage ... More


  8. "Not the greatest place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Stylist in Leola, PA
    Former Employee - Stylist in Leola, PA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at BCBG (More than a year)

    Pros

    You know the trends before they release

    Cons

    No incentive to work for the company. Your employee discount is horrible. No perks. A lot of cat fights.

    BCBG Response

    Nov 23, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At BCBG, we want our associates to feel that they work in a supportive, rewarding environment and we constantly strive to make BCBG a choice ... More


  9. "Assistant Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Assistant Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Former Employee - First Assistant Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCBG full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The clothes and discounts. I love the fashion so it worth working there for a bit. Easy to spend money as you get first dibs on new arrivals so be careful with over spending

    Cons

    Upper management. One bad manager after another calling the shots, and unfortunately it makes everyone on the floor suffer. The DMs are a joke!

    BCBG Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At BCBG, we want our associates to feel that they work in a supportive, rewarding environment and we constantly strive to make BCBG a choice ... More


  10. "Lack of urgency"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    Pros

    Very flexible schedule and promotes autonomy!

    Cons

    Human Resources and payroll are unorganized, also executive managers rather you dismiss the issues at hand than they taking accountability for their mistakes.

    Advice to Management

    It shouldn't take any company 2 months and counting to correct someone's pay. This is people's livelihood. While higher management and executives are getting paid correctly the front line people are being tossed to the side
     Lack of communication and follow through.

    BCBG Response

    Nov 23, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for your sharing your experience. You are correct, waiting two months for a pay correction is unacceptable and BCBG needs your direct feedback to ensure this never happens again. Please ... More


  11. "sales associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL

    Pros

    got good customer service experience

    Cons

    worked there for two years and never received salary increase

    BCBG Response

    Oct 5, 2016 – Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At BCBG, we want our associates to feel that they work in a supportive, rewarding environment and we constantly strive to make BCBG a choice ... More


Showing 860 of 909 reviews
Reset Filters