BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric Reviews | Glassdoor

BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
91%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric CEO Fred Barnum (no image)
Fred Barnum
30 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Trainee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is a fantastic place to learn new skills being fresh out of school and not knowing much in the electrical field…

    Cons

    Having to wake up and go to work at least four days a week… But hey we all get to retire one day

    BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric2018-10-12
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Apprentice Electrician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is always work if willing to travel

    Cons

    Wages are lower compared to other companies

    Advice to Management

    Increase pay a little

    BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric2018-12-12
  3. "Keeps ya working for ok pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent people who keep you working throughout the year if your head is on straight. Pay is average.

    Cons

    Benefits package is lacking. No PTO. State minimum sick leave available and only 5 days Vaca annually.

    BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric2018-12-05
  4. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good pay, lots of work, able to grow,

    Cons

    Trying to figure out what to do with all the money I make from working 40 hours a week year round

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. You guys and girls are fantastic

    BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric2018-10-11
  5. "New to the trade…"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Electrician in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

      I'm new to the trade, and this, so far, is the only company for which I have worked as an electrician.  Therefore, I have little basis on which to know how working for this company compare with working, in this profession, for a different company.   That said, I am finding my work very satisfying.  I am just completing a project which, when I started, was a not-quite complete empty shell of... a building—the foundation, walls, and most (but not yet all) of the roof). and have watched as my efforts and those of many other workers have turned this into a very impressive warehouse/distribution center.  It's been very exciting, watching the lights come on that I helped to install, watching other machines and equipment come to life which I helped install, and watching the entire building coming to life.   I'm currently working under a great foreman, who seems genuinely interested not just in getting the project built, but in helping me, personally, to grow and advance in this trade.   I've had two other completely different major professions in my past, as well as a wide hodge-podge of other sorts of transient work in between, and nothing else that I have done as a profession has given me the sort of satisfaction and sense of accomplishment that I am now getting, as an electrician, working for BCE.

    Show More

    Cons

      The only significant complaint I can find to make against this company is that it seems to be very stingy about any kind of paid time off.  We do not get paid holidays.  On holidays, we do not work, and we lose a day's pay.  We also get the bare minimum of sick/personal time.   This stands out to me because my wife has a really, really sucky job, yet she gets paid holidays, and she... takes much more time off from her job than I do from mine, and very often has sufficient PTO/Sick time to cover it.

    Show More
    BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric2018-10-10
  6. "Beware skilled electricians"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Electrician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's a few good stand up guys in the field. Close to home.

    Cons

    They only hire cheap help. Felt more like babysitting than working.

    Advice to Management

    Give the good guys more money. Don't promise them something you will not follow thru on. There's more green guys than skilled.

    BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric2017-04-12
  7. Helpful (2)

    "BCE has taking care of me and my family and kept me employed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Journeyman Electrician in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Owner is a stand up guy. And puts his self out there some times to keep his team working.win or lose we are a team.

    Cons

    Always on your toes life of construction be on winning team or you'll ride the bench. People think if you get job you don't have to push hard everyday.if you want be part of this team you do.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric2017-02-13
  8. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is friendly, also very good at what they do.

    Cons

    There is no cons for working here as long as you work hard.

    BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric2017-02-11
  9. "Senior Estimator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Estimator in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very much like a family

    Cons

    only a few paid holidays

    BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric2017-02-08
  10. "BCE is for ME!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Knowledgeable Management, Experienced Field Personnel, Fun, Fast-paced atmosphere. Office understands WORK HARD, PLAY HARD. Staff is friendly and helpful. Fred Barnum is a very involved boss, professional and passionate man who has the ability to connect with everyone. He sincerely cares about everyone who represents BCE.

    Cons

    No cons to report. Completely happy with BCE.

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring team players like we have. Individuals who like Teamwork are the best to work with.

    BCE Barnum & Celillo Electric2017-02-07
Found 42 reviews