BCU Reviews | Glassdoor

BCU Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
91%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
BCU CEO Mike Valentine
Mike Valentine
39 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    bcu has the best culture I have found working at a company. they have great benefits and great people working for the company.

    Cons

    more hands on training with the systems. Maybe 3 weeks in VH as the second week you don't get to shadow as much because of all the conference calls. Make week 3 shadow/hands on time fully.

    BCU2019-06-18
  2. "A good organization to work with."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in New Delhi
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Performance oriented Good reward and recognition

    Cons

    No product pipeline there fore not able to find a lasting career

    Advice to Management

    Should have strong people in strategy

    BCU2019-06-10
  3. "Great place to work! Friendly and energized company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of free food, growth opportunities, outstanding benefits and friendly environment

    Cons

    High turnover in some areas

    BCU2019-05-31
  4. "Great Credit Union!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great commitment to do what's right for members I really like BCU's strategy for growth, focusing on company partnerships A lot of opportunity for career growth

    Cons

    no cons for me, almost 8 years with BCU and it has been a great experience

    BCU2019-05-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Overall good place to work but some negatives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Love the work from home option! Decent pay, great health benefits, lots of free food, treated like family from the get go. Growing at a record pace.

    Cons

    A few toxic PMs aren't reigned in by mgt and poison the well for the rest of us. The learn as you go with a full project load will wear you down.

    Advice to Management

    A couple very toxic, micro-managing, non-technical, combative and rude PMs have kind of ruined the experience for me. I try to avoid them and let my manager know of their bad behavior but nothing is done about it. I keep hearing "That is just the way they are" and what is worse, I hear "They are good PMs because they get results" but projects are still late, full of defects, and burned out developers that get thrown under...

    Show More
    BCU2019-05-01
  6. "member relations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Anasco, PR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    BCU is a family oriented company. The humanity that most of the management has makes you feel comfortable in the work environment.

    Cons

    We didn't used to open on weekends and now we do.

    BCU2019-04-10
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Love working for BCU. Don't love working in the department I work in."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Good people to work with. The company makes you feel valued.

    Cons

    Only thing consistent in the department I work in is inconsistency. Activity is confused with accomplishment. Favoritism is rampant. (Which would be a "pro" if you're one of the favorites.)

    Advice to Management

    It doesn't look equal, or fair when management of a certain gender/race/ethnicity internally promotes people only of that same gender/race/ethnicity, and only offers those same people of that same gender/race/ethnicity overtime, and doesn't internally promote, or offer overtime to others in the same department of a different gender/race/ethnicity. Don't have different rules for different employees. Be fair. Stop trying...

    Show More
    BCU2019-04-02
  8. "BCU Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, clean offices, positive atmosphere, "family" oriented. I had a positive experience while working here. They push the "family" environment fairly hard. My coworkers were generally happy and made for a positive work environment. Generally there was free food and drink provided in the kitchen. The gym was a nice surprise perk.

    Cons

    Most perks seemingly only applied to senior members, such as working from home when sick or needing to take care of personal things. I didn't mind going to the office, so it wasn't a huge disadvantage to me.

    BCU2019-03-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best of the Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture makes for a welcoming and approachable environment, from entry-level employees all the way up to the CEO. Work-life balance is strongly encouraged. Benefits are awesome and creative (free ice cream truck and cookouts hosted by senior management in the summer).

    Cons

    It would be nice to have more growth opportunity for those working outside Vernon Hills HQ.

    BCU2019-02-19
  10. "BCU was a good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Relationship Specialist in Vernon Hills, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCU full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Schedule flexibility employee parties Luncheons

    Cons

    Managers that work in the Member Relations department lack the skills to properly engage with the staff.

    Advice to Management

    Hire new managers or train them

    BCU2019-02-11
Found 68 reviews