BCU Reviews | Glassdoor

BCU Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
BCU CEO Mike Valentine
Mike Valentine
37 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work! Awesome culture. Friendly staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is so refreshing to work at such a fantastic company with such a great culture. -Everyone is super welcoming and friendly and many have gone out of their way to introduce themselves. -I have never worked at a place where the President/ CEO of the company goes out of their way to introduce themselves, gets to know you plus remembers your name. It shows that he truly cares, appreciates that you are there, and values...

    Show More

    Cons

    I really can't think of any..

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    BCU2019-02-06
  2. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Smart people who work hard and truly care about their work. Strong work/life balance Casual Dress attire Fun environment

    Cons

    I can't think of any at the moment

    Advice to Management

    There is a still a strong sense of favoritism here. It would be nice for senior leaders change their mindset on who they view as top talent.

    BCU2019-02-06
  3. "BCU was a good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Relationship Specialist in Vernon Hills, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits Schedule flexibility employee parties Luncheons

    Cons

    Managers that work in the Member Relations department lack the skills to properly engage with the staff.

    Advice to Management

    Hire new managers or train them

    BCU2019-02-11
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Vernon Hills, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Friendly environment Excellent pay and benefits Want you to succeed

      Cons

      Lack of opportunity for advancement at times, mostly because few new job openings.

      Advice to Management

      Keep up the great work!

      BCU2019-01-14
    • "Stuck on them self"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at BCU full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy to get to work

      Cons

      They are stuck up and if u aren’t the type of person to spend a lot of money and have a perfect credit score u get screwed over and to promote anywhere u have to get 100% on every task or ypur stuck no way to move up

      Advice to Management

      Lose your gripes

      BCU2019-01-25
    • "Temp to Perm"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Collections Specialist in Vernon Hills, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      I started as a temp employee and was thinking that I would be a temp for a few months, however it only took 6 weeks before there was an offer made. BCU is a great company to work for. The other employees are nice and welcoming.

      Cons

      As of now I do not have any cons.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you're doing!

      BCU2018-11-28
    • "Member Service Representative"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      People are the organization's greatest asset and from the CEO down the entire leadership chain, BCU embodies an amazing culture. Everyone is truly excited to have you a part of the team and you are valued. There is an excellent work/life balance which is rare to find in any organization.

      Cons

      None to really speak of. Training could be more in depth but I also appreciate the hands on/learn as you go method.

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what your doing!

      BCU2018-11-15
    • "Fantastic Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vernon Hills, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Competitive Company Benefits (Medical/Dental/Vision) Culture Friendly Staff and Management Flexibility Work Life Balance Work from home possibilities Perks: Free Pop, discounts, snack area, comfortable lounges and free lunches Fun/Interactive Company Events

      Cons

      Parking can be hard to find

      Advice to Management

      Please continue to be challenging, open minded and friendly.

      BCU2018-11-13
    • "Fantastic Company!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Relationship Advocate 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Culture, work/life balance, training programs, nicest employees, and welcoming diversity.

      Cons

      Honestly I have yet to encounter one.

      BCU2018-11-01
    • "Companies that expand this quickly can't keep up with its great culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Minneapolis, MN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BCU full-time for more than 2 years

      Pros

      BCU at headquarters in IL is awesome. The vibes there are all inclusive, caring, and wonderful. I bet it's a great place to work.

      Cons

      UHG is expanding too quickly to keep the quality of new hires up. Closed off, standoffish feelings from most, and a general lack of care on all fronts. In addition, there isn't training in order to keep up with all the new hiring. One has to figure out how to do their job on their own, and hopefully their manager cares (but it's unlikely).

      Advice to Management

      Get the training in order yesterday, and figure out better culture questions in your interviews. Good numbers don't always mean good people.

      BCU2018-11-12
    Found 65 reviews