BCU Reviews | Glassdoor

BCU Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
BCU CEO Mike Valentine
Mike Valentine
37 Ratings
  1. "Member Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Vernon Hills, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Everyone is incredibly nice and willing to help you grow and learn. It's a great place to work for!

      Cons

      Not really a con, but there is always food of some sort so keeping on a diet is HARD! There are also a lot of job duties that can be overwhelming, but folks are super patient and know that you are learning.

      BCU2018-10-17
    • "Part-Time Review"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vernon Hills, IL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at BCU part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      When working at BCU you are surrounded by a group of intelligent hard working people who see you not only as a co-worker but as a friend.

      Cons

      Nothing stands out as a con.

      BCU2018-08-06
    • "Great Company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at BCU full-time

        Pros

        Culture, People, work life balance, flexible schedule

        Cons

        Size for career growth opportunities

        BCU2018-07-25
      • "Member relations specialist"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at BCU part-time

          Pros

          Great opportunity for growth within company.

          Cons

          Headquarters in a different state and required to travel there for big meetings.

          BCU2018-06-28
        • "marketing analyst"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at BCU full-time for more than 4 years

          Pros

          nice people.nice environment to work in .

          Cons

          no growth advancements or incentives provided

          BCU2018-06-05
        • Helpful (2)

          "Happy To Be Here"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Vernon Hills, IL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          The people are all very happy to be here, fun environment, excellent benefits, flexible start/end times, work from home 1 day a week. The senior management is very down to earth and approachable, they work hard to make employees have a positive experience here as well as a good work/life balance.

          Cons

          I haven't found any, honestly...

          Advice to Management

          Keep up the good work, I have never worked in this kind of environment and it is so refreshing!

          BCU2018-05-11
        • "Best company bar none!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Everyone that I have met is dedicated and hard-working. This company has the greatest dedication to their people and members, while having the best culture that I have ever seen anywhere.

          Cons

          I haven't found a con.

          Advice to Management

          Keep it up!

          BCU2018-03-02
        • "I love it here!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vernon Hills, IL
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

          Pros

          BCU's culture is the #1 reason it's such a fun place to work! Employees are friendly, helpful, and genuinely care about and support each other. Benefits are phenomenal and you get 20 days of PTO and 9 paid holidays your first year. You learn a lot here and truly look forward to coming to work every day!

          Cons

          There's tons of free food and snacks here which is both a pro and a con. :)

          Advice to Management

          Keep it up!

          BCU2018-01-30
        • "Great Culture; Limited Room for Advancement"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vernon Hills, IL
          Doesn't Recommend
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I worked at BCU full-time

          Pros

          Culture is great, fun and everyone is friendly. Work-life balance is really great. Overall the benefits are good beyond just healthcare - on-site gym, concierge services, celebratory events, etc.

          Cons

          While a great culture and overall benefits are great and important--and the folks at BCU really play this up from interview to hire--it doesn't negate the fact that there is very limited room for growth in your professional development and advancement opportunities. Implementing change is challenging. Pay is not market-based.

          Advice to Management

          Be more open to change. There seems be too many in leadership that are resistant to change. There should also be more autonomy for employees. Compensation structures should be evaluated.

          BCU2018-02-01
        • Helpful (4)

          "toxic, retribution for challenging any manager"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Positive Outlook
          Disapproves of CEO

          I worked at BCU full-time

          Pros

          The health and dental benefits are beyond exceptional

          Cons

          I worked for BCU in 5 roles over a period of 8 years. They do not train for jobs, especially complex ones. They expect you to absorb and own the regulations merely from the first two weeks of training, in your new role, but don't bother to explain or send you to training to understanding the rules, reg,'s involved in the multiple, competing, complex details of your job. The fear-based and intimidating environment is...

          Show More

          Advice to Management

          Your employees are their for the benefits and the culture is toxic and full of fear.

          BCU2018-01-18
        Found 65 reviews