BCU Reviews | Glassdoor

BCU Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
BCU CEO Mike Valentine
Mike Valentine
37 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "BCU IS GREAT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU

    Pros

    BCU is one of the best places I have ever worked!

    Cons

    growth opportunities have a long process and management doesn't want much involvement

    Advice to Management

    more training on your managers that are new! and better system for growth in branches

    BCU2016-10-20
  2. "A Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BCU full-time

    Pros

    BCU focuses on making an employee's life better both at work and at home. They work hard to provide engaging career development opportunities while at work and also focus on flexibility and unique perks to help alleviate some of the stress of trying to balance work and home responsibilities.

    Cons

    No organization is perfect, but the positives at BCU far outweigh any little negative aspect that I could think of.

    BCU2016-08-08
  3. "Loan Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Sales in Vernon Hills, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BCU full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Lots of food, at times good perks, flexible schedule

    Cons

    The management. I would say 1/3 to 1/2 of the management should not have the title. Also the amount of unnecessary meetings are absolutely ridiculous. I was a commissioned sales person and I remember when they were getting ready to roll out the new mobile app. They advised us that while this mobile app for all that was going on we wouldn't be making any sales we would be taking customer service calls. Ridiculous! That's...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get over yourselves. If a good majority of you workedfor me I wouldn't give you a mop job

    BCU2016-08-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BCU full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Outstanding company with a clear and differentiated strategy, proven ability to execute and a strong culture that puts the focus on doing what's right for their members and employees first. This has resulted in a great track record of growth and success for BCU over an extended period of time. They are willing to try new things (sometimes to a fault) but overall stay true to their purpose and strategy.

    Cons

    Getting projects done (on time/on budget) was a frequent challenge although sometimes this was due just to the number of competing demands and difficulty saying no to good ideas.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure a new generation of leadership continues to invest in and stay true to long held cultural values of relationships, trust and integrity.

    BCU2016-07-06
  5. "Member Relations Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BCU part-time

    Pros

    Good management, good company, good structure, good benefits/vacation time, good building.

    Cons

    Hard to advance, not enough pay for stressful job.

    Advice to Management

    Compensate member relations representatives more to balance out with the stress of the job.

    BCU2016-06-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good company externally, needs work internally"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BCU full-time

    Pros

    Helping people Building a good rapport with clients serviced Hands on - don't have to refer a client somewhere else to fix their issue - we fixed on the spot Paid employees well Great Health Insurance

    Cons

    Disconnect from the top to the "lay workers" Old policies never updated to match changing procedures Team work was more of a competitive nature (i.e. incentives for the most work turned into stealing solicitations from others without any reprimand when brought to the the attention of supervisor). 4 systems to accomplish one simple tasks (never developed the functionality of a full system) No clear direction of who...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do a thorough investigation of what is working and what isn't, not just survey monkey's. Talk to your employees. Watch the workplace Moral. Creative incentives for those not at corporate. Update your systems to make them user friendly across the board. Encourage upward movement from within.

    BCU2016-02-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Member Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in San Juan, PR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BCU

    Pros

    Great company and benefits. Friendly work enviroment.

    Cons

    Few opportunities to grow. Highly Stressful job. Micromanagement.

    BCU2016-02-06
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Great organization... if you avoid IS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BCU full-time

    Pros

    One of the most customer (member) focused organizations I've ever worked at. BCU's heart is in the right place and member focus is part of the culture, drives everything that they do. Great people, fantastic benefits, flexible work environment, plenty of opportunities to learn and contribute.

    Cons

    The IS department is plagued by absentee or hands-off management and the department is left flailing. Some people step up to try to lead, only to be stretched too thin, or marginalized depending on where they fall politically on that day. IS is re-orged every 6 months or so without addressing the real problems. To be fair, IS also the victim of a general problem with work prioritization at BCU, everything has to get...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take the "women in leadership" problem seriously. Run IS like the rest of the business. Agree on priorities across the organization and stop going after "shiny things."

    BCU2016-01-04
  9. "Time to Clean House"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at BCU full-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      The CEO really wants his staff and the organization to be successful. Unfortunately he often gets taken advantage of. The organization continues to grow and generate healthy numbers.

      Cons

      The organization has grown and many of the "home grown" senior management team is not equipped to lead the organization to the next level. The organization is held hostage by the IS department. There are too many meetings and while its important to make employees feel like they are part of the process, it prevents the organization from getting things done. The sales organization has their fingers in too many pieces...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Lay it on the line with your IS group. Have the sales group focus on sales. Examine your senior management staff and make sure they can take you to the next level.

      BCU2016-01-16
    • "Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at BCU

        Pros

        Honestly it was my only internship throughout college and it was perfect. It was fun, the people are great, and the upper management is wonderful.

        Cons

        The only downside is the location in Vernon Hills is somewhat far from Chicago for commuters.

        Advice to Management

        No advice. Management goes above and beyond, even as an intern they appreciate you.

        BCU2015-12-04
      Found 65 reviews