BCU "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

BCU Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 65 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
BCU CEO Mike Valentine
Mike Valentine
37 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I personally have no cons with working with bcu(in 12 reviews)

  • "The only downside is the location in Vernon Hills is somewhat far from Chicago for commuters(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Best of the Best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The culture makes for a welcoming and approachable environment, from entry-level employees all the way up to the CEO. Work-life balance is strongly encouraged. Benefits are awesome and creative (free ice cream truck and cookouts hosted by senior management in the summer).

    Cons

    It would be nice to have more growth opportunity for those working outside Vernon Hills HQ.

    BCU2019-02-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great organization to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCU full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Competitive and fair salary compared to similar positions. All companies preach a "work/life balance". This is the first organization I've ever worked for that followed through on a commitment to a work/life balance for its employees.

    Cons

    People are happy and enjoy their jobs, if you prefer to work quietly alone you may not enjoy the friendly environment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up! All levels of management are transparent, approachable, and helpful. Upper management actually invests their time into getting to know and assisting new employees.

    BCU2019-02-06
  3. "Great place to work! Awesome culture. Friendly staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is so refreshing to work at such a fantastic company with such a great culture. -Everyone is super welcoming and friendly and many have gone out of their way to introduce themselves. -I have never worked at a place where the President/ CEO of the company goes out of their way to introduce themselves, gets to know you plus remembers your name. It shows that he truly cares, appreciates that you are there, and values...

    Show More

    Cons

    I really can't think of any..

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up!

    BCU2019-02-06
  4. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Smart people who work hard and truly care about their work. Strong work/life balance Casual Dress attire Fun environment

    Cons

    I can't think of any at the moment

    Advice to Management

    There is a still a strong sense of favoritism here. It would be nice for senior leaders change their mindset on who they view as top talent.

    BCU2019-02-06
  5. "Best Company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Amazing work-life balance. Your opinions TRULY matter. You get to meet and talk to the senior leadership quite often. Great growth opportunities. BCU has great values and they really care for their employees and members.

    Cons

    I just wish we had a HUB office in Minnesota.

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you're doing.

    BCU2019-02-05
  6. "Member Service Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Service Representative in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are the organization's greatest asset and from the CEO down the entire leadership chain, BCU embodies an amazing culture. Everyone is truly excited to have you a part of the team and you are valued. There is an excellent work/life balance which is rare to find in any organization.

    Cons

    None to really speak of. Training could be more in depth but I also appreciate the hands on/learn as you go method.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing!

    BCU2018-11-15
  7. "Fantastic Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Competitive Company Benefits (Medical/Dental/Vision) Culture Friendly Staff and Management Flexibility Work Life Balance Work from home possibilities Perks: Free Pop, discounts, snack area, comfortable lounges and free lunches Fun/Interactive Company Events

    Cons

    Parking can be hard to find

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to be challenging, open minded and friendly.

    BCU2018-11-13
  8. "Fantastic Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Relationship Advocate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, work/life balance, training programs, nicest employees, and welcoming diversity.

    Cons

    Honestly I have yet to encounter one.

    BCU2018-11-01
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Happy To Be Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Vernon Hills, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BCU full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are all very happy to be here, fun environment, excellent benefits, flexible start/end times, work from home 1 day a week. The senior management is very down to earth and approachable, they work hard to make employees have a positive experience here as well as a good work/life balance.

    Cons

    I haven't found any, honestly...

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, I have never worked in this kind of environment and it is so refreshing!

    BCU2018-05-11
  10. "Great Culture; Limited Room for Advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Vernon Hills, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BCU full-time

    Pros

    Culture is great, fun and everyone is friendly. Work-life balance is really great. Overall the benefits are good beyond just healthcare - on-site gym, concierge services, celebratory events, etc.

    Cons

    While a great culture and overall benefits are great and important--and the folks at BCU really play this up from interview to hire--it doesn't negate the fact that there is very limited room for growth in your professional development and advancement opportunities. Implementing change is challenging. Pay is not market-based.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to change. There seems be too many in leadership that are resistant to change. There should also be more autonomy for employees. Compensation structures should be evaluated.

    BCU2018-02-01
Found 65 reviews