BDO USA Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
BDO USA CEO Wayne Berson
Wayne Berson
350 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Long hours for interns still in school(in 129 reviews)

  • "Busy season can be challenging, as it is at any public accounting company(in 124 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People, opportunity, innovation, growth potential

    Cons

    Have note experienced many cons

    BDO USA2020-06-03
  2. "Excellent place to start a career for accounting folks"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assurance Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Full exposure to various industries and all aspects of auditing and financial statements right from the get-go. I've never worked at a big-4 firm, but I've heard stories about people getting stuck on one client, performing limited tasks for a long time. BDO provides the opportunity to be a well-rounded auditor. - Paid subscription to CPA study material.

    Cons

    - Extended hours during the busy season. The expectation is 55 hours per week, but many people go beyond 55 hrs. It wasn't a big deal for me. I went in knowing that information. It is just the nature of the profession. Many firms have 12/30 Yead-end. If you're starting out, this is the time to learn and absorb as much information as possible. In the end, you'll come out more experienced and more confident.

    BDO USA2020-05-29

    BDO USA Response

    June 1, 2020CHIEF PEOPLE OFFICER

    Thank you for taking the time to share your perspective and for choosing to be one of us at BDO. You have a wise outlook and we're glad to hear your experience is helping you develop. Stay safe!

  3. "Culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff is very helpful snd friendly

    Cons

    Working Long hours during busy season

    Continue reading
    BDO USA2020-05-24
  4. "Solid Place to Work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in New York, NY

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary, work/life balance, development

    Cons

    There is a low bonus structure

    BDO USA2020-05-08
  5. "BDO LA"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Experience/Growth - Decent Pay for PA Firm - Good Size and people are friendly

    Cons

    - Scheduling sucks - More often than not you find yourself on 2-3 engagements at once

    BDO USA2020-05-05
  6. "BDO NY Senior Associate"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior Associate in New York, NY

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Great culture, hours not too bad

    Cons

    Below market compensation and bonus

    BDO USA2020-05-04
  7. "Not the Best, not the Worst"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Senior Auditor in McLean, VA

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time

    Pros

    Some interesting clients, most of the managers are wonderful and lots of good resources to help you. People will take the time to train you.

    Cons

    Pay wildly varies at different levels, hours tend to be long, for as many interesting clients as BDO has, they have some awful ones as well. Office in McLean specifically tends to favor the commercial practice, but that tends to be the weakest group profitability wise.

    BDO USA2020-05-04
  8. "Just okay"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Assurance Associate in Boston, MA

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learned a lot in a short time

    Cons

    Poor Culture, long hours, bad commute,

    BDO USA2020-05-16
  9. "Good"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Freedom in how you conduct work

    Cons

    Being an accountant can suck

    BDO USA2020-04-30
  10. "Exciting Opportunities"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I frequently look back to the excitement of being a Senior Manager at BDO. Incredible opportunity; challenging and highly enjoyable given the consistently sharp staff and partners

    Cons

    A lot of hours but goal driven teamwork approach makes it almost unnoticeable

    BDO USA2020-04-30
Found 900 reviews