BDO USA "busy season" Reviews | Glassdoor

BDO USA Employee Reviews about "busy season"

Updated Jan 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
BDO USA CEO Wayne Berson
Wayne Berson
371 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, flexible hours and projects(in 82 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance was much better than Big 4 firms’ public sector consulting shops(in 51 reviews)

Cons
  • "May work long hours during the busy portions of the year(in 122 reviews)

  • "Long working hours during busy season but it's the same for all public accounting firms(in 119 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "busy season"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Tax Intern in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I have been working at BDO USA for less than a year

    Pros

    Treats employees well, great learning experience

    Cons

    All public accounting has busy season

    BDO USA2019-09-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Positive experience overall, from culture to client work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I'm provided with opportunities to grow as well as to assist in other roles that I am passionate about. We have a strong social planning committee, community service branch, LGBTQIA/Pride alliance, Multi-cultural organization, etc. In addition, I've gotten the chance to assist with recruiting events and office tours. There are lots of ways to be involved and feel connected beyond my primary job responsibilities and these efforts are often encouraged and rewarded.

    Cons

    It's still public accounting. Busy season is never easy and part of your performance is being evaluated on your billable hours.

    Continue reading
    BDO USA2020-01-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Good place to start career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Manager in McLean, VA

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start career

    Cons

    Hours are crazy during busy season

    BDO USA2019-11-24
  5. "Great office except for certain aspects."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Associate in Houston, TX
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It was a very good office to work with and there are plenty of higher of Senior Directors and Partners that were very helpful and always available when I needed anything. There were also many managers and seniors that were tremendously helpful as well. The office makes many efforts to help keep the employees motivate and provide busy season meals daily and snacks (it is the little things that matter). The pay seemed to be going market value and the health benefits were better than I had before.

    Cons

    The main complaint I had was the obvious favoritism shown by one Senior Director. His favoritism was known by the whole office which can be detrimental to moral and also employee growth and development. There is a group of five-six female associates that he only wants to work with. I guess I was not the right type of female associate he wanted to work with or be part of his clique. If other associates had hardly and hours and one of his "favorites" had a lot of hours he would not be willing to move any of their work. My scheduling manager said she saw this on a weekly basis and it was the normal with him.

    Continue reading
    BDO USA2019-11-21
  6. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Experienced Audit Associate in McLean, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team environment that pushes you to learn a lot in a short amount of time. Great teams to work with.

    Cons

    Long hours and office can be short staffed so you will work longer hours throughout the whole year not just busy season.

    BDO USA2019-10-24
  7. "Good Public Accounting Firm to get Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Senior in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Partners are accessible and the company is very flexible

    Cons

    Multiple busy seasons that the work load goes up drastically, making it hard to take your limited PTO

    BDO USA2019-10-22
  8. "."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Tax Manager 

    I have been working at BDO USA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    really great place to work

    Cons

    often long busy season hours

    BDO USA2019-08-01
  9. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Tax Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDO USA for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Solid Pay Hours are not too bad

    Cons

    Busy season hours Some bad managers

    BDO USA2019-07-30
  10. "Great Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Auditor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDO USA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good flexibility and hours are not as bad during busy season and year round compared to other public accounting firms

    Cons

    some managers are difficult to work with

    BDO USA2019-07-24
  11. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Audit Associate 

    I have been working at BDO USA

    Pros

    Great to work at this company

    Cons

    Long hours and work Saturday’s during busy season

    BDO USA2019-07-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 137 reviews