BDS Marketing Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
48%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
BDS Marketing CEO Ken Kress (no image)
Ken Kress
14 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Turns out this was work given to full time employees because their hours were below the minimum necessary to keep their full time status(in 17 reviews)

  • "part time seasonal work depends on where you live to get good pay(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "great company on the side"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDS Marketing part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great pay flexible schedule free items (if you do great) paid training

    Cons

    less in-person interaction can be a pain when phone doesn't work

    BDS Marketing2020-01-20
  2. "Set your own schedule and flexability"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electronics Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at BDS Marketing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No micromanaging and open scheduling

    Cons

    low pay and lots of travel

    Continue reading
    BDS Marketing2020-04-30

    BDS Marketing Response

    May 5, 2020Recruiting Operations Specialist

    Hello, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found the position to be flexible and had a good experience with management. If you would like to provide us with any additional feedback, please reach out to us at hr@bdsmktg.com.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Rude HR employees and poor work atmosphere"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Associate in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDS Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Continuous training and a small bonus

    Cons

    Not enough pay for the stress and requirements, managers are not that great. Company needs to improve their culture, work environment and hiring process.

    Continue reading
    BDS Marketing2020-04-07

    BDS Marketing Response

    April 7, 2020Recruiting Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the experience you have had while working with us. I would like the opportunity to speak with you and get a better understanding of the concerns you have addressed in your comment. If you are available to discuss please reach out to our HR email at HR@bdsmktg.com.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Read reviews before accepting position with this company"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Merchandising Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BDS Marketing part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Somewhat flexible schedule, most work needs to be completed by 5:00 PM

    Cons

    No pay raises ever for over 7 years. Full time employees take away part time workers hours when they are scheduled under 40 hours, then it turns out they get more than 40 hours anyway. Not always paid for the administration time spent due to the late change in schedule. Management is not very approachable, the Field Operation Managers are overworked.

    Continue reading
    BDS Marketing2020-03-24

    BDS Marketing Response

    March 24, 2020Recruiting Operations Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. I sincerely apologize for the experience you had while working with us. We do pay for all applicable administration time and we apologize for any misinterpretation. Please reach out to HR@bdsmktg.com so we can work through these issues and ensure there are no pay discrepancies. We look forward to speaking with you.

  5. "Great company"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BDS Marketing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They are sales driven and management were great leaders.

    Cons

    Sometimes their programs can be contracted

    BDS Marketing2020-02-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Company in transition"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Employee in Irvine, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BDS Marketing full-time

    Pros

    Still has some of the small-company feel, in spite of going through a lengthy transition as they've gotten bigger. Depending on your position and who you know, you might not get caught behind red tape or bureaucracy when you need things. Have a great reputation with clients and retailers.

    Cons

    There can be resistance to new ideas. Some of the senior people are used to doing things in an old way and will think new ideas are too complicated or bad, when their archaic ways can hold things back. At the upper levels, there are lots of politics and weird perception games that lead to a lot of people questioning why some people get promotions or positions, while others are stagnant (there is a huge issue of being certain people's favorites). Pay is below most competitors I've been exposed to (but they'll vigorously justify it and merit/cost of living increases by saying that if you're there for the money, you're not the employee they want). They talk big-time about work-life balance, but will basically say, "you need to work harder" when there are inefficiencies (like my first point) or another team is not picking up their slack.

    BDS Marketing2020-01-30
  7. "It's okay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BDS Marketing part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Straight forward work

    Cons

    Sometimes they micro-manage The quality of the job instructions differ because they are written by the client and the clients change.

    BDS Marketing2020-01-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Please reconsider"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Break Fix Merchandiser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at BDS Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice pay with semi adequate compensation, mileage reimbursement wasn’t fair, however

    Cons

    Lousy mgmt., inconsistent & unrealistic expectations, Constant Malfeasance towards the companies you’re tasked with maintaining displays for, lousy turnaround time for replacement parts to arrive in your hands to fix displays (sometimes 6+ months) - oh, a very high turnover rate, as well- stay away unless you’re desperate!

    Continue reading
    BDS Marketing2020-01-29
  9. "Fun job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BDS Marketing

    Pros

    Freedom, little micromanaging - set your own hours within reason

    Cons

    Inconsistent hours, same pay as years ago

    Continue reading
    BDS Marketing2019-12-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible and unproffesional Management"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ASR in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BDS Marketing part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the offer sometimes good hours but not flexible

    Cons

    they will send people to spy on your work event if you do your job for years , they will fire you after making up lies about your work , a complete waste of time.. lots of better companies to work for

    BDS Marketing2019-12-10
Found 298 reviews