BGE Reviews | Glassdoor

BGE Reviews

Updated Oct 3, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
BGE CEO Calvin G. Butler Jr. (no image)
Calvin G. Butler Jr.
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits, Pension, Sick time, Vacation Time, Floating Holidays, hability to move toward various levels within the company(in 9 reviews)

  • "Great pay and benefits, nice offices, smart management(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "no work life balance and supervision are not professional and will gun for you if they find they dont like you(in 7 reviews)

  • "Storm duty; experience depends on leader; parent-company Exelon is super rigid with policies and procedures(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Overall great place to with in Baltimore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BGE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people are great, and the Company itself treat employees very well. If you want to be in the Baltimore area, it is a great place to work.

    Cons

    Anything relating to IT is a painful process and most things need IT work. There aren't too many cons though, besides commuting into the city.

    BGE2019-10-03
  2. "Sr. Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BGE full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is a great company

    Cons

    It needs more improvement in terms of making decisions faster

    Advice to Management

    Better procedure to doing things faster

    BGE2019-09-01
  3. "Lifer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGE full-time

    Pros

    It's a great place.

    Cons

    No cons. I have had no bad experiences working at BGE.

    BGE2019-07-08
  4. "Rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Engineer in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGE full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work with. Benefits are decent. great people working with you and helping you along the day. social syncs to get you out the chair. 9/80 schedule

    Cons

    Not much responsibility in most of the projects you work on. Growth as an engineer is at a slow rate. salary little below average

    BGE2019-07-11
  5. "BGE is the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Occupational Health Nurse 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BGE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employer would have loved to retire from there

    Cons

    Wish I could have stayed longer

    BGE2019-06-20
  6. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintainer in Baltimore, MD

    I have been working at BGE full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Everything is awesome when your part of a team

    Cons

    Nada place is great to be at

    BGE2019-04-21
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at BGE part-time

    Pros

    It was a good place.

    Cons

    It could have been a better place.

    BGE2019-03-19
  8. "Great place for a career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent advancement opportunities. Great benefits and pay. Everyone is very helpful. Inclusive work environment. I recommend applying for a position here.

    Cons

    Outdated facilities, technology, and sometime work environment feels very traditional (old school).

    Advice to Management

    Please look at ways to advance the technology employees use daily. Computer systems run very slow. Work environment would be more enjoyable if facilities were updated.

    BGE2019-02-05
  9. "if you're a white male, good luck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cable Splicer in Baltimore, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BGE full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good pay and benefits

    Cons

    no work life balance and supervision are not professional and will gun for you if they find they dont like you

    Advice to Management

    clear out the non educated field supervisors and put guys in that know how to handle employees like they actually matter a alittle

    BGE2019-02-11
  10. "Senior Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BGE full-time

    Pros

    Stable, great work and life balance

    Cons

    few Engineering experience opportunity, unclear direction from management

    BGE2018-11-15
Found 75 reviews
</>Embed