BH Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

BH Media Group Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 124 reviews

2.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
12%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Terry Kroeger
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits, vacation; The property I worked for allowed for work/life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • "Pretty easy-going atmosphere, great people(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "No raises, No bonus, lack of employee retention, parking is expensive(in 14 reviews)

  • "They have not had cost of living raises in many years(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Leader in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    A great place to work. You have fun, meet new people and feel like you are really making a difference in your community. Management really seems to understand that work/home balance and respects your decisions as a parent and employee.

    Cons

    Not always being able to retain talented staff members.

    BH Media Group2018-01-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Pay your staff!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - District Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Nice and polite co-workers.

    Cons

    Benefits are a sham. Health insurance and retirement are all awful. No room for promotion or growth. The company cares more about national profits than local expectations. No chance of a raise. In fact, all full-time employees are being put on furlough for full week this year. This is AFTER multiple lay-offs and position eliminations.

    Advice to Management

    Spread some of the wealth to the people putting in the hours to make local newspapers respectable. Stop patting yourselves on the back, and take a look at how your company is struggling on a personal level.

    BH Media Group2019-03-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "No Job Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Health, Dental, Vision Insurance, 401K, Paid-Time Off is solid

    Cons

    I joined this company three years ago out of college. I moved around some and even took a pay cut to gain experience as a reporter because I was promised to move on to something greater. Instead I am stuck in a long commute with no way out. Do not even get me started on the furloughs

    Advice to Management

    Allow the younger employees to grow if you want us to work for you. Do not hold us down in certain positions. Lastly be reasonable to those who commute it is a problem that I can do this same position in the city I currently live; I drive over 60 miles to get to a hub and most times I do not have enough work for an eight hour day.

    BH Media Group2019-02-12
  4. "Relatively standard position, but it was dull."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Retention Representative in Tulsa, OK

    I worked at BH Media Group for more than 2 years

    Pros

    The job is relatively stable and the bonuses are decent as long as you are making sales.

    Cons

    The day to day job becomes very dreary as you are trying to sell elderly people a newspaper they have decided they don't want.

    BH Media Group2019-01-25
  5. "Best entry level job for the world of digital marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist 

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time

    Pros

    You learn a smidge of everything: advertising techniques, print (newsprint, special magazines) and digital marketing (reporting, analytics, SEO, ROI), deadline drive, patience. Also everyone - at least in my office - is amazing.

    Cons

    Newsprint is dying and no one wants to advertise with them anymore. Truly the definition of overworked and underpaid. Systems are from the 90s, absolutely no room for growth. Corporate is beginning to play corporate games.

    BH Media Group2019-01-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Money trumps all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend

      I worked at BH Media Group full-time

      Pros

      There is nothing positive to say.

      Cons

      Profit is more important than ethics, morality, common sense and quality. All ratings should be zero stars.

      BH Media Group2019-02-06
    • "Look elsewhere for growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Design Editor in Richmond, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at BH Media Group full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Great camaraderie among co-workers from being in a struggling situation together.

      Cons

      Little room for true advancement, no investment into serious training or workforce development, severe financial strictures leading to frequent layoffs, absentee ownership, management lacking vision and creativity

      Advice to Management

      Be upfront with employees about the business being on the brink and acknowledge that this is not a place to develop skills or expect raises.

      BH Media Group2019-01-16
    • Helpful (1)

      "Under the circumstances ..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Comparitively speaking, attempts to keep most decisions at the local level where they belong; benefits are competitve with others in the industry

      Cons

      Sacrifices the long-term worth of its product for short-term revenue band-aids; no investment in the viability of the product.

      BH Media Group2018-12-18
    • Helpful (1)

      "Company has potential if they fix management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at BH Media Group full-time

      Pros

      Vacation time, Flexible, Mileage pay

      Cons

      Management, Communication ,Training, Micromanaging, Disrespectful to employees

      Advice to Management

      I loved working for this company, but the biggest downfall is management and the way they treat their employees. I would have never considered leaving this company if management concerns were addressed to the fullest extent and change was made. The issues with management were brought to attention multiple times since I’ve been here and absolutely nothing has been done about it. The employees are talked to and treated...

      Show More
      BH Media Group2018-11-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "Lax communication from every position"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Advertising in Winston-Salem, NC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at BH Media Group full-time for more than 9 years

      Pros

      Benefits are okay. Time off requests are usually given without concern

      Cons

      No communication from managers on up! No room for advancement

      Advice to Management

      Listen more and relay information to everyone on your team.

      BH Media Group2018-11-13
    Found 124 reviews