BH Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

BH Media Group Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 131 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
9%
Recommend to a Friend
15%
Approve of CEO
Terry Kroeger
46 Ratings
  1. "Lacking in Opportunities for Career Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people at the local level and great first time job.

    Cons

    No opportunity for job growth. Loads of job cuts which is understandable given the nature of print advertising.

    BH Media Group2019-07-08
  2. "okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Artist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BH Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    decent benefits for what it's worth

    Cons

    low pay for what's expected

    BH Media Group2019-07-02
  3. "Only if its your dream job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BH Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Outside sales reps have some schedule flexibility - depending on the direct manager.

    Cons

    They want to be better, but because of the nature of the industry, it just doesn't have the revenue income generation to do so. They are always trying to keep their head above water, but not swimming at all. Soon they will drown. The turnover is outstanding, the salaries are not competitive, and the goals are unattainable. They are made for a growing business, not a declining one. The base is not enough to live on without...

    Show More
    BH Media Group2019-06-24
  4. "Low barrier to achieve, but no support."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copy Editor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time

    Pros

    You get to do journalism.

    Cons

    Bad pay, overworked, little training and little appreciation for employee growth and health.

    BH Media Group2019-06-14
  5. "Serious Cutbacks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Controller 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at BH Media Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      had good benefit and vacation packages; matched 3% of 401 contribution

      Cons

      I can only write the facts here; due to signing a disclosure agreement when I was recently laid off. Lee enterprises came in and laid of a large percentage of employees.

      BH Media Group2019-06-10
    • Helpful (2)

      "No concern or respect for human beings at all... all smoke and mirrors"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richmond, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at BH Media Group full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Fairly decent lunch places in the neighborhood

      Cons

      No respect for anyone unless you have a top floor office in omaha...force you to buy the crappy newspaper or pay extra for parking... most management does not have a clue about what they "manage".... lay off people who have worked hard for years just to turn around and hire the same position for cheap money... no future in this business or this company

      BH Media Group2019-05-31
    • Helpful (3)

      "Very, very top heavy management."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at BH Media Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Loved the people at the property I worked at.

      Cons

      Corporate can find money to pay a 6 figure salary to someone’s friend but you can’t give a person that makes below poverty a $1 raise.

      Advice to Management

      Eliminate the corporate VP titles and let the properties operate at the local level.

      BH Media Group2019-05-27
    • Helpful (3)

      "Pay your staff!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - District Supervisor 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexible hours. Nice and polite co-workers.

      Cons

      Benefits are a sham. Health insurance and retirement are all awful. No room for promotion or growth. The company cares more about national profits than local expectations. No chance of a raise. In fact, all full-time employees are being put on furlough for full week this year. This is AFTER multiple lay-offs and position eliminations.

      Advice to Management

      Spread some of the wealth to the people putting in the hours to make local newspapers respectable. Stop patting yourselves on the back, and take a look at how your company is struggling on a personal level.

      BH Media Group2019-03-29
    • Helpful (1)

      "No Job Growth"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Graphic Designer 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Health, Dental, Vision Insurance, 401K, Paid-Time Off is solid

      Cons

      I joined this company three years ago out of college. I moved around some and even took a pay cut to gain experience as a reporter because I was promised to move on to something greater. Instead I am stuck in a long commute with no way out. Do not even get me started on the furloughs

      Advice to Management

      Allow the younger employees to grow if you want us to work for you. Do not hold us down in certain positions. Lastly be reasonable to those who commute it is a problem that I can do this same position in the city I currently live; I drive over 60 miles to get to a hub and most times I do not have enough work for an eight hour day.

      BH Media Group2019-02-12
    • Helpful (3)

      "Money trumps all"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend

        I worked at BH Media Group full-time

        Pros

        There is nothing positive to say.

        Cons

        Profit is more important than ethics, morality, common sense and quality. All ratings should be zero stars.

        BH Media Group2019-02-06
      Found 131 reviews