BH Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

BH Media Group Reviews

Updated Jun 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 129 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
10%
Recommend to a Friend
17%
Approve of CEO
Terry Kroeger
44 Ratings
  1. "Good company, but with growing pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BH Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Good, solid company. Many quality employees.

    Cons

    Average pay for the job, but many decisions at the c-level created problems and were not well thought out

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the properties.

    BH Media Group2017-10-23
  2. "A stop along your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bryan, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love my co-workers at The Eagle. It's a place to get some experience and move on.

    Cons

    No chance for a raise or advancement, except for managers moving up to higher management when someone leaves. We never know when the next round of layoffs will be. It's a stressful situation, and it's sad to see our industry (and our people) suffering in this way.

    Advice to Management

    First and foremost, appreciate your employees. Everyone needs to feel needed and appreciated. Everyone - don't just focus on your high $ makers. We are all in it as a team. In an atmosphere of wage freezes and layoffs on a regular basis, find a way to appreciate employees and listen to their suggestions. It's time to listen to the "little people" who do this business day in and day out. If they know there are no raises,...

    Show More
    BH Media Group2017-10-19
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Products, Good Customer base

    Cons

    Small operation management style, policy and procedures keep changing

    Advice to Management

    Standardize policies and procedures, this is a big corporation with many separate divisions all doing the same thing differently.

    BH Media Group2017-10-18
  4. "It's a decent place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people to work with

    Cons

    The pay is terrible and it doesn't get improve.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to not only find and train good people, but retain them by paying them what they're worth.

    BH Media Group2017-10-10
  5. "Very unprofessional staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BH Media Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    the pay is reasonable, can pick up hours whenever

    Cons

    no paid parking, 30 minute lunch, point system, no assigned seats, they hire you part time but schedule you full time hours without the benefits or vacation time

    Advice to Management

    hire customer service reps full time

    BH Media Group2017-09-29
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Industry in decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in Hickory, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    People care for the most part about their work.

    Cons

    CEO said plainly there would never be across the board raises.

    Advice to Management

    Find ways to allocate more resources to departments. Spend money to create better product.

    BH Media Group2017-09-18
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, work/home balance. Working downtown is full of events to enjoy on lunch hours

    Cons

    you have to pay for parking

    BH Media Group2017-09-19
  8. "Customer relations coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relations in Dothan, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at BH Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All aspects of customer service and accounts

    Cons

    No growth and no raises

    BH Media Group2017-09-19
  9. "Good for the moment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BH Media Group part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers are helpful and friendly, pay is good for part time work, that's pretty much all there is, oh and sometimes they will bring in food for the representatives which is very nice of them to do.

    Cons

    Sitting in one place all day, hostile customers, unpredictable work schedules, early morning hours, working weekends, no benefits, and a unhealthy amount of stress.

    BH Media Group2017-09-10
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Seem to have adopted perpetual cost cutting cycle as the norm."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BH Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great to have the Berkshire Hathaway name on your resume.

    Cons

    Lot's of stress. Independent thought is encouraged but not welcome if it doesn't fit the Omaha business plan. Tough to always hear that we lost more subscribers and ad revenue is down so we need to cut more staff or cut down the size of the paper. There never seemed to be any good news (besides we bought more newspapers).

    Advice to Management

    Listen more. Justify less. Step out of the ivory tower I-know-what's-best-because-I-work-in-Omaha mentality. Stop cutting jobs. Maybe take a hard look at Directors, VP's, and Publishers salaries and/or bonuses. I have never seen a business grow by perpetually cutting back.

    BH Media Group2017-10-09
Found 129 reviews