BIBO Global Opportunity "flexible working hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

BIBO Global Opportunity Employee Reviews about "flexible working hours"

Updated Mar 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
50%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
BIBO Global Opportunity CEO Keita Sudo
Keita Sudo
213 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Very low salary with almost no chance of a raise or moving to a higher position(in 102 reviews)

  • "There are penalties when cancelling classes(in 82 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible working hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Online English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Online English Teacher 

    I worked at BIBO Global Opportunity

    Pros

    Good compensation and flexible working hours.

    Cons

    The company only listens to the customers' side and you get penalized even if you did nothing wrong.

    BIBO Global Opportunity2020-01-15
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Just bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    English Teacher in Narnia, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BIBO Global Opportunity for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and nothing else

    Cons

    Low salary Rude students Awful support Inappropriate materials

    Continue reading
    BIBO Global Opportunity2017-07-23
  3. Helpful (29)

    "decent side job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    English Tutor in New York, NY

    I have been working at BIBO Global Opportunity

    Pros

    very flexible, work from home, decent pay ($14/hr) for native English speaking teachers.

    Cons

    Constant complaints from students which you'll have to provide evidence for and management will go over. This can get tedious and annoying.

    BIBO Global Opportunity2015-11-10
  4. "So far so good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - ESL Teacher in Dagupan, Pangasinan
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BIBO Global Opportunity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible working hours. No TL.

    Cons

    Once your ratings drop because you didn't meet the standards of your students even if you did your best, your bookings will drop too. Low wage

    Continue reading
    BIBO Global Opportunity2020-03-12
  5. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Belgrade
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at BIBO Global Opportunity part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours Ability to regulate your own workload Available lesson materials

    Cons

    Everything else.. Low payment highly dependent on the teacher's locations (no chance to get the payment increased). Very poor teacher support. Overly student-oriented. Teachers (treated as "cheap entertainment" - mostly Eastern European and Filipino) have no rights - can be openly insulted, harassed (including sexually - some so-called students consider the service as porn webcam site), ignored. The support relies solely on the nice picture that teachers' faces create. If the students are not able to use the class system, teachers are subject to be fined (or got the lessons cancelled even if the classes were conducted). No care about how well students actually learn, pure money-making on selling nice faces to watch.. Zero corporate culture

    Continue reading
    BIBO Global Opportunity2020-03-09
  6. "Chapter closed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Tutor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BIBO Global Opportunity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most students are polite. Flexible working hours.

    Cons

    There's no opportunity to increase your earnings, no matter how good/popular a teacher you are. Also, the company slowly took away the incentives that existed. You don't get paid if you're ready to teach but unable to because their site is down. Their policies are too stringent and there's no room for any discussion. My contract got terminated because I responded to a student's messages outside of lesson times. I know it's against company policy, but the student in question was severely mentally ill. She had really high highs, and terrible lows. She would often cry and threaten suicide because she felt so utterly alone in the world. I had nearly daily lessons with her. As a human being, I felt somewhat responsible for her. So I allowed her to communicate with me outside lesson times. When Bibo got wind of this, they terminated my contract with immediate effect, no discussion. Anyway, I'm not bitter. I'm sure I'd have felt way worse if she'd hurt herself because I ignored her. I hope my experience is useful to you jobseekers.

    Continue reading
    BIBO Global Opportunity2020-02-09
  7. "It's not for everyone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Tutor in Windhoek
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BIBO Global Opportunity part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule Great students

    Cons

    Low pay and Large Cancellation Penalties

    Continue reading
    BIBO Global Opportunity2020-01-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Is not that terrible if you are desesperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Tutor EAD 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at BIBO Global Opportunity for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, WFH, Good material provided by the company with easy guides for most of them.

    Cons

    Low pay with no chance of a pay raise, no matter for how long you end up working for them or how good your rating as a tutor is. Rude customers that can give a bad review for anything and will 99% of the times be considered valid complaints and your booking rate will drop due to that. Very low chance of creating a career in the company since they don't value their employees and treat them as disposables. In 4 years I saw only 3 openings for a promotion and you will be competing with every other tutor for it. No paid leave at all. Heavy penalties for cancellation.

    Continue reading
    BIBO Global Opportunity2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Evil, greedy, terrible joke of a company. Avoid and move on!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at BIBO Global Opportunity part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule. Most students are friendly.

    Cons

    Extremely low pay ($1.4). No benefits. No raises. Hefty deductions. They will find any and every possible means to take away money from your payslip. Teacher support will always side with the students. Not possible to refuse teaching specific students (e.g. abusive students). Teachers are not allowed to work for any other online English teaching company for the duration of the contract (1 year). Again, painfully low salary.

    Continue reading
    BIBO Global Opportunity2019-09-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Biiibo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Online English Teacher in Belgrade
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BIBO Global Opportunity part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working hours and meeting a lot of people

    Cons

    Low pay,rude students who come to classes drunk at rimes

    BIBO Global Opportunity2019-08-20
Viewing 1 - 10 of 77 Reviews