BJC HealthCare Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
BJC HealthCare President and CEO Richard J. Liekweg
Richard J. Liekweg
73 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I have no cons to speak to against BJC(in 10 reviews)

  • "Low pay need to be more competitive with salary(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (6)

    "Great employer for work/life balance!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BJC HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -Work/life balance - flexible with kids, appointments, bad weather -Ability to work from home - frequency depends on department & job -Tuition assistance -Pension plan -BILD classes - on-site development classes to enhance learning in various areas -Allow you to use work time for conference or professional development

    Cons

    -Career paths are not defined for every job family (they are working on this) -No formal mentoring program for individual contributors -External candidates beat our internal candidates a lot of times for positions -We have to hire management+ positions from external candidates - we lack a formalized bench strength program in ALL areas

    Continue reading
    BJC HealthCare2019-10-24

    BJC HealthCare Response

    November 14, 2019Social Media Consultant

    Thank you for being a valued member of the BJC HealthCare team for more than five years! We appreciate your feedback. Your advice to management is really insightful and we've shared it with senior HR leadership.

  2. "Great benefits and great coworkers!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BJC HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits that include pension, good salary, and great coworkers

    Cons

    Dealing with furlough due to Covid-19, but no complaints

    BJC HealthCare2020-05-27
  3. "Good overview of health care"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Patient Care Tech in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at BJC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, job satisfaction,helping others

    Cons

    Heavy patient load, long hours

    BJC HealthCare2020-05-31
  4. "Good"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Medical Resident 

    I worked at BJC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Good training, nice facilities, pleasant city

    Cons

    Benefits not great, long hours,

    BJC HealthCare2020-05-26
  5. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Coordinator in Saint Louis, MO

    I have been working at BJC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Good management, recognition for performance

    Cons

    Low paid time off in comparison to other companies

    BJC HealthCare2020-05-05
  6. "Created a drive for excellence"

    5.0
     

    I worked at BJC HealthCare

    Pros

    I remember the first day on the job and driving to the huge hospital feeling so proud to have been chosen I never lost that pride

    Cons

    Would like Nurse practitioner to be more involved in administration

    Continue reading
    BJC HealthCare2020-04-24
  7. "great place to work"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at BJC HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    BJC has a flexible work environment.

    Cons

    BJC could review call scheduling practices.

    BJC HealthCare2020-04-21
  8. "Just culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Respiratory Care Practitioner 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BJC HealthCare for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Teaching University Hospital excellence to goal.

    Cons

    Middle management and tall management structure. Lack of constructive cognitive autonomy.

    Continue reading
    BJC HealthCare2020-03-22
  9. "Compassion"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at BJC HealthCare

    Pros

    Teamwork is always a must

    Cons

    None that I’m aware of

    Continue reading
    BJC HealthCare2020-03-05
  10. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mental Health Therapist in Florissant, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BJC HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay and benefits are great. Team environment. Tons of advancement opportunities. Alot of freedom with how you conduct your department.

    Cons

    With such a big organization lots of eyes on you all the time.

    BJC HealthCare2020-03-03
Found 472 reviews