KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

BJC HealthCare

Engaged Employer

BJC HealthCare

Add a Review

BJC HealthCare Reviews

Updated Jun 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
BJC HealthCare President and CEO Richard J. Liekweg
Richard J. Liekweg
160 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits working for one of the top 10 hospitals in the US(in 65 reviews)

  • "Extremely flexible work life balance(in 62 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay, long hours, difficult parking(in 36 reviews)

  • "Hard to have work life balance on night shift(in 26 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Featured Divisions of BJC HealthCare

    See all divisions

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of BJC HealthCare and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. BJC Home Care | Division of BJC HealthCare
      5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      rn

      Feb 4, 2021 - Registered Nurse 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Diverse, teaching hospital, caring, compassionate,

      Cons

      Large facility, parking, campus big,

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      BJC HealthCare Response

      Social Media Consultant

      Thank you for being a valued member of our nursing team! We appreciate your review.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company!

      Jun 4, 2021 - Human Resources 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers, progressive, career opportunities, benefits including a pension plan

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. BJC Home Care | Division of BJC HealthCare
      3.0
      Current Employee

      Good and bad

      Jun 11, 2021 - IS Senior Systems Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People I work with are great. My team's management is great. I like what I do.

      Cons

      After the outsourcing in IT, the quality of the teams I am working with is pretty bad. There is also a language barrier. The Senior Leadership does not understand the needs of anyone but their management. I question whether they understand what the company needs. Security is given blank checks to do whatever they want with no repercussions when things go South. Others are fighting for scraps and it absolutely impacts patient care. Tech Mahindra also is treated differently by leadership. It will look bad after all if all of the bad things they do is widely known. So they get preferential treatment, often make impactful changes without letting the proper teams know and do not get burdened with root cause analysis after their changes cause major issues because leadership will not put priority 1 tickets to them. Again, it makes them look bad if they do. Overall, working with Tech Mahindra is not bad. The initial helpdesk is terrible and the turnover of their employees is brutal because their benefits are bad.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Decent Company

      Jun 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health Insurance, Paid time off

      Cons

      Work life balance, work weekends

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. BJC Home Care | Division of BJC HealthCare
      5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Jun 3, 2021 - Executive Assistant in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly, caring people; fair pay; good benefits

      Cons

      Can not think of a thing

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. BJC Home Care | Division of BJC HealthCare
      4.0
      Current Employee

      Overall great place to work

      Jun 2, 2021 - Marketing Communications Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quality insurance, very nice coworkers, everyone believes in the mission

      Cons

      Work-life balance is a con. Be prepared to work extra hours to get the job done.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Jun 3, 2021 - SNT 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive pay, float pool option, flexible for PNR employees.

      Cons

      The recruiters have been slacking- having to contact managers directly

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee

      solid job, didn't care for the actual work

      May 26, 2021 - Communication Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pay, benefits, fun location, cool supervisors and coworkers

      Cons

      the work itself could be draining, you're on the phones all day it could be slow or extremely busy back to back. patients can be really rude

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. BJC Home Care | Division of BJC HealthCare
      5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Good place to work

      Jun 3, 2021 - Clinical Nurse Educator in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great insurance and 401k matching

      Cons

      Poor communication among upper leadership

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. BJC Home Care | Division of BJC HealthCare
      3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      An okay job if you don't mind being bounced around from one position to another without proper compensation

      Mar 27, 2021 - Crew Member/Grill Cook 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They do offer you the hours you're looking for and the medical benefits are pretty good. Most of the staff I've come in contact with is pretty friendly. I get along with everyone in my department.

      Cons

      Since covid hit our department has continued to be understaffed. Everyone's workload has increased with no sign of change anytime soon. We'll literally be getting slammed during service and management is nowhere to be found or sometimes they'll even walk right past us with a line formed and do nothing to help. I know I'm personally not compensated appropriately for all the different roles I'm in and the extra work that I do. They will cross train you and use you to death with no incentives.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,284 Reviews

    Popular Careers with BJC HealthCare Job Seekers

    Performance Improvement Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Patient Access Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at BJC HealthCare? Share Your Experiences

    or