BKD Reviews | Glassdoor

BKD Reviews

Updated July 15, 2017
37 reviews

Filter

Filter


2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
BKD Partner & CEO Ted Dickman
Ted Dickman
9 Ratings

37 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • There is not much support of work life balance (in 15 reviews)

  • At times, long hours are necessary and schedules can be unpredictable (in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern

    I worked at BKD as an intern

    Pros

    They put you straight to work

    Cons

    they're not really transparent


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Unlike other CPA Firms"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tax Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Tax Consultant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BKD full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The firm is small enough where it's an intimate setting. You get a lot of support from the senior managers (Porchia and Jeanette).

    Cons

    Low growth potential. No support from Partners. Lots of turnover. Very little work life balance available.

    Advice to Management

    Be more competitive in the public accounting arena. BKD has a very good rating in other locations. The Dallas office needs to listen to their employees' needs and wants in order to remain competitive.

    BKD Response

    Jun 5, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We'd like the support to be more widespread. Thank you for your feedback - we'll put it to good use!

  3. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at BKD full-time

    Pros

    There are opportunities to move forward with the Company

    Cons

    Lack of value for personnel, benefits are not great

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your employees

    BKD Response

    May 30, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We'd love to turn "meh" into "love"! We'll keep working to show how much we care about our employees.


  4. Helpful (4)

    "Dissapointment in the End"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BKD full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Great pay
    -Access to many resources
    -Many benefits
    -Many opportunities for career advancement within firm
    -Strong new employee training program

    Cons

    -No support in balancing work life & personal life
    -Extremely male dominated culture
    -No ethnic diversity; 95% of firm consisted of Caucasian personnel
    -Received minimal feedback on performance, when I did, it was negative
    -Always felt like I was bothering upper level management whenever I had questions
    -A lot of gossip about other employees
    -In general, very few employees (at all levels) were kind

    Advice to Management

    While management was extremely professional to clients and outsiders, they weren't so professional with internal staff. Remember to be patient with your employees and respect each one of them.

    BKD Response

    May 2, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We're sorry you didn't feel supported and that many of your fellow employees were unkind. We'll send this feedback along so we can better create a work environment that is welcoming, nurturing and... More


  5. "Audit Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at BKD full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice people, didn't run into anyone that I had a hard time getting along with. Got feedback to me on a timely consistent basis, and provided good guidance and teaching. Provided Becker to associates studying for the CPA.

    Cons

    The managers I worked with seemed to be pulling longer weeks than what would normally be expected. The cause of this from what I understood from them is the lack of people staff in senior associate roles.
    I was told there wasn't enough work for me and was laid off along with a few other people. This was a firmwide layoff and is the second one in 4-5 years from what I understand from HR.
    They don't allow even one promotion if you don't have your CPA.
    My feeling was that the partners were overloading the managers with work to keep costs down.

    BKD Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We do have wonderful people on our team. We appreciate your feedback and we'll look into that assessment.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Grass in greener elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Audit Associate in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Former Employee - Audit Associate in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at BKD full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fast paced environment with plenty of opportunities for advancement if you seek them out and apply yourself. The firm has excellent resources available for your use to help advance your career. Those with experience were knowledgeable and seemed willing to teach if you were willing to learn.

    Cons

    Saw a lot of turnover during my tenure, partially due to the fact the firm pays below market value for positions lower than senior manager. Although not a big four, it sometimes feels like you are just a number, contradicting the recruiting pitch I received originally. Depending on your industry and office location, travel may be as high as 70% overnights (audit). For the amount of work you have, experience you obtain, and compensation you receive, I would recommend entry level candidates going Big 4 other than BKD. The feel of BKD is the longer you work there (or more experience you have), the greater benefits you will receive, which is why many partners/directors have come from different firms. This is reversed for lower level employees.

    Advice to Management

    Practice what you preach. There is a stigma of "cheapness" that seems to follow in every aspect of the firm, whether that be; salary, carpooling requirements, expense reporting, time off, etc. Saying one thing and doing another once someone has committed to the firm is unethical.

    BKD Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We want our team members to feel valued, and certainly more than just a number. Your feedback is appreciated as it helps us identify areas of growth so we can make BKD a better firm.


  7. "BKD HR"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people to work with throughout the organization

    Cons

    National Office HR is not realistic or understands the business to promote positive growth.

    Advice to Management

    Take a careful look to may sure people are really adding value to the organization.

    BKD Response

    Apr 17, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We certainly appreciate your feedback. From our engagement surveys to reviews, we try to garner a better understanding for internal improvement at BKD.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Admin staff are peons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Administrative in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BKD full-time

    Pros

    Good location downtown, most of the Partners/accountants are nice, there was usually free snacks (lol)

    Cons

    HR incompetent/doesn't care, poor managers aren't berated for HR complaints/being bullies, salary significantly less than identical job I took at a similar company, the attitude around the office to me is that no one except CPAs matter

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees' complaints. If the sole reason an employee is leaving a company is because their manager is a bully, maybe that manager should face some consequences. Change up your Marketing strategy - the same events year after year is pretty lame and boring.

    BKD Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    Your thoughts are valued. We appreciate the time you took to offer us this feedback so we can improve. We'll pass along your feedback and work to make BKD a great firm for everyone.


  9. "Poorly Structured"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Tax Intern
    Current Intern - Tax Intern
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at BKD as an intern (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, and good hours.

    Cons

    Work environment was awful, possibly hostile.

    Advice to Management

    Try not to be so unfriendly.


  10. "BKD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at BKD full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, Resources, Size, Client Base

    Cons

    People, Pressure, Clicks, Hours, Travel

    BKD Response

    Jan 30, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We appreciate any feedback we can get. Please let us know if there are any additional ways we can improve!


Showing 37 of 223 reviews
Reset Filters