BKD Reviews | Glassdoor

BKD Reviews

Updated August 18, 2017
203 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
BKD Partner & CEO Ted Dickman
Ted Dickman
79 Ratings

203 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKD full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Mix of industries, but ability to niche. Great partner group with knowledgeable upper management. Mandatory partner retirement is 62 so there is a lot of opportunity to advance quickly for motivated people.

    Benefits are good - paid parental leave has recently been instated.

    Some partners are really great at motivating and leading their teams, others need to be helped a little to remember to motivate and lead. I think these are just personality differences and everyone brings something unique to the table.

    Cons

    There are some morale issues that the office is working through, but the senior leadership is engaged and motivated to improve the culture (which isn't all bad to begin with).

    Yes, hours are long sometimes. Yes, time demands can be stressful and hours are tracked... But this is a public accounting firm so an experienced hire or recruit would know to expect these things. This is not a 40 hour work week type of industry.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the younger staff. They have some great ideas.

    BKD Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    All very true! Thank you for sharing your insightful feedback. BKD is always assessing itself to identify areas of growth to better support team members.


  2. "Bleed employees dry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Former Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at BKD full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Nice offices at good location

    Cons

    Overwork and underpay employees. Stodgy culture.

  3. "Some pros and cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Former Employee - Manager in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BKD full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Solid technical resources. There are some great people at BKD.

    Cons

    push to meet certain metrics at cost of morale, service, and work quality. Partners get rich while benefits for employees are less than industry standard. No bonus, no client referrals, no phone, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Examine local office leadership issues and make changes.

    BKD Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your feedback and take these concerns to heart as we continue to work on creating a better work environment for every BKDer.


  4. "Great company with great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Associate in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKD full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    People come first and you won't get overworked like other CPA firms.

    Cons

    More than 40 hours are expected during busy season

    BKD Response

    Jul 27, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    Thank you for the review! Who would we be without our Trusted Advisors? Busy season does demand quite a bit from our team, but we value the time and effort everyone puts in to provide Unmatched... More


  5. "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at BKD full-time

    Pros

    Good flexibility and good vacation availability

    Cons

    Low to medium pay and health benefits

    BKD Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We appreciate your feedback. We are always receptive of our team's thoughts as to how we can provide the best benefits to BKDers. We'll pass this along so we can continue to provide competitive... More


  6. "Yes to BKD!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKD full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great culture! Organization recognizes and allows time for pursuit of personal passions..family oriented..exceptional career development training programs! Local office feel with benefits of National firm resources!

    Cons

    Nothing negative to say at this time...

    BKD Response

    Jul 17, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    This is what we love to hear! Thanks for the compliments and if there's anything we can do to maintain our great work environment just let us know!


  7. "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKD full-time

    Pros

    Great team work and learning environment

    Cons

    During busy season the long hours are exhausting.

    BKD Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We agree, busy season is quite exhausting. Hopefully the team support and work perks let you know we appreciate your effort!

  8. "BKD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Work with young people your age

    Cons

    Long hours, little employee appreciation

    BKD Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    Life in the accounting world does often come paired with long work hours. However, we strive to make it as enjoyable as possible with great colleagues, office perks and solid benefits. Let us know... More


  9. "Great enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Colorado Springs, CO
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKD full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    knowledgeable CPA's that work with school and very flexible

    Cons

    Not a lot of work during summer for audit interns

    Advice to Management

    none they are great

    BKD Response

    Jul 11, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    Thanks for the feedback! We're happy to accommodate BKDers' schedules to fit their needs.


  10. "A Great mid-size firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at BKD full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work options, great people to work for and a professional environment throughout the firm.

    Cons

    Still in the growth phase for a mid-size firm, there are some issues that will need to be tweaked in the coming years to compete with other firms.

    BKD Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    Thank you for sharing your review! We are certainly in the growth phase, but with our great Trusted Advisors, we'll address any concerns so we can continue to provide Unmatched Client Service.


Showing 203 of 217 reviews
Reset Filters