BKD Reviews | Glassdoor

BKD Reviews

Updated June 20, 2017
193 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

193 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. "BKD HR"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great people to work with throughout the organization

    Cons

    National Office HR is not realistic or understands the business to promote positive growth.

    Advice to Management

    Take a careful look to may sure people are really adding value to the organization.

    BKD Response

    Apr 17, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We certainly appreciate your feedback. From our engagement surveys to reviews, we try to garner a better understanding for internal improvement at BKD.


  2. "Auditor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Dallas, TX
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BKD full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Learning and Development above standards. Opportunity to be involved in different projects in different industries. The people I work with are so very helpful. They want you to succeed because if you know what you're doing, that means no one else has to redo that work. So it's a win win.

    Cons

    BKD is not a company that will pay you. Their pay is well below market. It hurts me to say this but I'll be looking for a better paying job before the year runs out. As an example, according to Glassdoor, I'm being paid $16,000 less!
    Also, there's no 401K match. They'll give you 5% profit sharing at the end of the year though.

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees based on market rate and the value they're bringing to the table. Low ball offers will just translate to high turnover especially during busy season as there won't be anything to motivate employees, and why burn yourself out when you're not being paid what you're worth. Money is a very high motivator.
    Also, check your 401K match.
    Keep up the great work with trainings. Thanks for the snacks. I just wish they could offer healthier options in terms of the chips.

    BKD Response

    Apr 10, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. You make a good point and we want BKDers to know they're valued. We'll be passing this along and we encourage you to discuss this topic during ... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Admin staff are peons"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Indianapolis, IN
    Former Employee - Administrative in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BKD full-time

    Pros

    Good location downtown, most of the Partners/accountants are nice, there was usually free snacks (lol)

    Cons

    HR incompetent/doesn't care, poor managers aren't berated for HR complaints/being bullies, salary significantly less than identical job I took at a similar company, the attitude around the office to me is that no one except CPAs matter

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees' complaints. If the sole reason an employee is leaving a company is because their manager is a bully, maybe that manager should face some consequences. Change up your Marketing strategy - the same events year after year is pretty lame and boring.

    BKD Response

    Apr 3, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    Your thoughts are valued. We appreciate the time you took to offer us this feedback so we can improve. We'll pass along your feedback and work to make BKD a great firm for everyone.


  4. "A Reptuable Company that Invests in the Growth & Development of its Employees"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKD full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    A continuum of career tracks, a growing company, a wide range of benefits for mothers and fathers, a company that supports mothers who want a full-time career, a company that supports work-life balance, a company that supports women in the industry

    Cons

    Unpredictable weather elements walking from parking garage to offices, a high-level of expectations for professionalism at all times, an intense, deadline-driven, structured and quiet working environment, strict business dress code five days a week, sitting for long hours at a time

    BKD Response

    Feb 27, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    Thanks for your review! Your feedback is helpful in building a positive and productive workplace. We'll take your thoughts and use them to make BKD even better.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    BKD was a great place to work. It was a supportive work environment where learning was encouraged and supported. Work-life balance was emphasized and there was plenty of opportunities to meet people

    Cons

    promotion is based on longevity not merit

    BKD Response

    Jan 16, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    Thank you for sharing! We strive to make BKD a great firm for our people.


  6. "Senior Associate"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at BKD full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Management that is willing to listen. Great people to work with. Fun & frequent company events.

    Cons

    Public accounting work load. Stressful

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the employees.

    BKD Response

    Jan 16, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    Will do! Thank you for your feedback - it helps to hear for our team members as we continue to make BKD a great place to work!


  7. "Great overall, quirks vary by office"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Auditor in Tulsa, OK
    Former Employee - Staff Auditor in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BKD full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Smart people with integrity that actually care about each other

    Cons

    Sink or swim approach to development, poor communication of expectations. Managers expect you to know their expectations, even if they're too busy too bother telling you.

    Advice to Management

    Need to resolve conflicting messages between national and local offices.

    BKD Response

    Apr 24, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    That we can do! There's always room for improvement and we'll take this piece of feedback to heart!

  8. "Driven Workplace"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, MO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKD full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It's a supportive environment dedicated to helping you excel. The catch, and rightfully so, is that you work hard every day. There are no lazy or slacker days. There's also a lot of pressure to be continuously innovative, so there's rarely a "going through the motions" moment. If you like to be challenged and surrounded by driven individuals, it's a good place.

    Cons

    There aren't redundancies in work responsibilities which can make it difficult to take PTO.

    Advice to Management

    There are a lot of very cool, big projects pushed throughout the firm - SKY, Great Season, Leadership Conference etc., but they need more definition to continue to have a culture impact on new employees

    BKD Response

    Feb 10, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We appreciate hearing your thoughts! As we continue to grow, we'll be looking for ways in which team members can continue to support each other to create a good work life balance!


  9. "Business Development Executive"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in Fishers, IN
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in Fishers, IN
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at BKD full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They are a hands-off firm, in other words - they let you self-empower and run your own territory within certain parameters

    Cons

    Not a lot of support firm-wide

    Advice to Management

    Consider investing more in growth and internal resources for business development

    BKD Response

    Feb 10, 2017 – Social Media Lead

    We hear you loud and clear! That trust and empowerment works if you've got the support and resources to back it up - and that's something we're investing in to help BKDers make a difference. ... More


  10. "Awesome Place to Work At!"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Kansas City, MO
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at BKD full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great People and flexible work

    Cons

    You are required to work a lot of hours during busy season but they are extremely flexible when it comes to balancing your life and career.


Showing 193 of 206 reviews
Reset Filters